Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Handheld Vacuums: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
September 2012
Small Vacuum Ratings and Reliability
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org editors compare nine hand vacuums in this review. Tests are conducted on both carpet and hard floors. After evaluating ease of use, run time, recharge time, emissions, noise level, and ability to clean along edges and pick up pet hair, editors recommend three models -- one cordless and two corded models.
2. TheSweetHome.com
Feb. 14, 2013
The Best Portable Vacuum
by Seamus Bellamy
Our AssessmentThis detailed review describes a hands-on comparison test of five handheld vacuums. The author evaluates other reviews to choose which models to test, but these sources don't influence the final recommendations. Each hand vac is rigorously tested for battery life; recharging time; and performance on carpet, upholstery, and tile -- for cleaning flour, dust, rice and other messes. The Black & Decker Platinum BDH2000FL wins, thanks to its combination of "power, versatility and price."
3. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Handheld Vacuum Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentEditors at Good Housekeeping rate 35 handheld vacuum cleaners on a scale of A to F. The Dirt Devil Gator BD10165 Handheld Vacuum and Dirt Devil Gator BD10125 Handheld Vacuum each receive an A-minus. Editors say these hand vacs are excellent at removing both pet hair and debris from floors, have strong suction power at peak performance and offer a long battery life. However, customer service did take longer than expected to respond to inquiries.
4. Amazon.com
As of March 2014
Handheld Vacuums
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere are several hand vacuums that have earned hundreds of owner-written reviews at Amazon.com, and even a few with thousands of reviews. The Eureka Easy Clean 71B and Black & Decker CHV1510 DustBuster each maintain high average ratings, although the Eureka Easy Clean 71B has about 1,500 more reviews. Owners say the Black & Decker's clever design and easy attachments are convenient, while the Eureka earns points for durability and pet-hair pickup.
5. PopularMechanics.com
Feb. 9, 2010
Handheld Vacuum Face-Off: Abusive Lab Test
by Harry Sawyers
Our AssessmentEditors at Popular Mechanics test three cordless handheld vacuums, including the Black & Decker Flex FHV1200, Dyson DC31 and Makita BCL180W. Testers evaluate the performance of each model for popcorn and crushed chips, sawdust, screws and flat washers, as well as battery life. The Makita stood out in two of the tests, but the Dyson is better at picking up screws.
6. Which? magazine
Not Dated
Vacuum Cleaner Reviews: Handheld Vacuum Cleaners
by Editors of Which? magazine
Our AssessmentWhich? magazine is a consumer-advocacy magazine based in the U.K. Editors have compared seven models of handheld vacuums, two of which are actually stick vacuums. Editors provide individual reviews rather than comparison ratings. Each model has pros and cons, so it's difficult to ascertain a clear winner. Although some models aren't sold in the U.S., they may be comparable to models that are.
7. Walmart.com
As of March 2014
Hand Vac
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentMore than 15 handheld vacuums have been rated by consumers on five criteria: value, meets expectations, features, durability and appearance. The Bissell Pet Hair Eraser Corded Hand Vacuum and Eureka Easy Clean Hand Vac 71B (formerly named the Quick-Up) are the top-rated handheld vacuums with about 400 reviews each. Owners agree both work great at picking up pet hair. Black & Decker models also earn high ratings, including the Black & Decker Cordless CHV1410.
8. Allergy Buyers Club.com
As of March 2014
Handheld Vacuum Cleaners
by Editors of AllergyBuyersClub.com
Our AssessmentThis online retailer is geared toward allergy sufferers and includes allergy information and product reviews. Editors rate the products they sell on a five-star system and list what they like and dislike. The Dyson DC34 earns the highest rating among the four handheld vacuums sold here. Editors say it has the "strongest suction power we have experienced from a handheld vacuum." However, it earns just 2 stars for filtration efficiency.
9. BestBuy.com
As of March 2014
Hand Vac
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com sells about 45 hand vacuums and related products, but only a few models have accumulated a few dozen reviews or more. The Shark Bagless Cordless Hand Vac SV780, Black & Decker Pivoting Cordless Hand Vac PHV1810 and the Bissell Pet Hair Eraser Bagless Hand Vac 33A1 are the top-rated hand vacs, each earning an average rating of 4.4 stars out of 5 or better in 75 or more owner-written reviews.
10. Lowes.com
As of March 2014
Handheld and Stick Vacuums
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentMany hand vacs sold at Lowes.com have just one or two owner-written reviews, there are a few that have earned more than a dozen ratings from owners and maintain high average scores. The Black & Decker 18-Volt Handheld Vacuum Cleaner PHV1810 has a near-perfect average rating in about a dozen reviews, for instance, while the Bissell Handheld Vacuum Cleaner earns an average rating of 4.6 out of 5 in about 50 owner-written reviews.
11. Kohls.com
As of March 2014
Hand Vac
by Contributors to Kohls.com
Our AssessmentKohls.com sells less than a dozen hand vacs, although nearly every model earns at least a few owner-written reviews. The Shark 18-Volt Cordless Hand Vac SV780 is the top-rated hand vac, with a near-perfect average rating in more than 85 owner-written reviews. Consistent with feedback found on other retail sites, the Eureka Easy Clean Hand Vac 71B and the Bissell Pet Hair Eraser Hand Vac 33A1 also earn positive remarks from owners.
12. Target.com
As of March 2014
Vacuums
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentThere aren't nearly as many owner-written reviews at Target.com compared to other online retail sites. The few hand vacs that do receive reviews get mixed feedback overall. The Black & Decker 15.6V Cordless Hand Vacuum Cleaner and Dirt Devil 15.6V Gator Series Hand Vacuum each earn average ratings of 4 stars out of 5 or better in nearly 30 reviews or more.
13. Viewpoints.com
As of March 2014
The Best Handheld Vacuums: Handheld Vacuum Reviews and Ratings
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com allows consumers to post reviews of products they have purchased. They also provide useful breakdowns and averages for evaluating how well a specific hand vacuum stands up against the average for its peers. The Eureka Easy Clean Hand Vac 71B is powerful, and great for stairs and other quick cleaning jobs, owners say. The Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster CHV1400 and Shark Pet Perfect Cordless Hand Vac SV70 also earn high scores from owners.
14. Sears.com
As of March 2014
Handheld Vacuums
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com sells about 50 hand vacs and similar products, but most haven't received any owner feedback. There are a few, however, that maintain high average ratings in 20 or more owner-written reviews, including three Black & Decker models and the Dyson DC34 Handheld Vacuum, which earns slightly lower scores for a few complaints about short run times. The Black & Decker Pivot Vac earns the most positive feedback for its powerful suction and convenience.
Sponsored Links

Back to top