Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Headlamps: Ratings of Sources

Total of 17 Sources
1. OutdoorGearLab.com
Jan. 14, 2014
The Best Headlamp Review
by R.J. Spurrier
Our AssessmentOutdoor Gear Lab offers an in-depth comparison of 37 headlamps, performing both lab and field tests to assess battery life, beam distance, brightness, comfort and several other considerations. The tests are extremely detailed and unbiased. Handy graphs offer pros, cons, prices and specs for those who want to make a quick decision.
2. TheWirecutter.com
Feb. 2, 2014
The Best Headlamp
by Clifford Agocs
Our AssessmentThe Wirecutter christens a "top headlamp" after four-hour tests of 25 headlamps, and backcountry tests of the top contenders. The review is thorough, unbiased and comparative, but it discards headlamps that cost more than $50 as well as those with "inferior specs."
3. Amazon.com
As of February 2014
Headlamps
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is one of the best resources for real-world reviews of headlamps. Reviews are often quite detailed and even-handed. Prospective buyers should read carefully, since reviewers sometimes wrongly fault a product for bad experiences with a seller or shipping. Readers should also beware of older reviews, which might discuss an older version of a product with flaws that have been addressed.
4. REI.com
As of February 2014
LED Headlamps
by Contributors to REI.com
Our AssessmentREI, one of the nation's largest outfitters, has a wide range of owner reviews of headlamps. Most reviews are not quite as detailed as those on Amazon, but a helpful feature tallies each listed pro and con so prospective buyers don't have to comb through reviews. Reviewers also specify a "best use" for each model.
5. Outdoor Life
Oct. 14, 2013
Gear Review: Best Headlamps for $40 or Less
by Alex Robinson
Our AssessmentOutdoor Life compares five inexpensive headlamps, providing short reviews and specs for each. However, it's hard to determine whether testing was systematic or thorough. The publication also focuses on hunting, so it assumes users want to use headlamps for that purpose.
6. Backpacker.com
Not dated
Headlamps
by Editors of Backpacker.com
Our AssessmentBackpacker has a range of reviews on individual headlamps as well as yearly best-gear roundups. Reviews are unbiased and feature pros and cons, ratings and individual feedback after real-world testing. They are rarely comparative, however.
7. Bestcovery.com
Oct. 10, 2013
Best Headlamp
by "Cindy J."
Our AssessmentBestcovery.com makes five picks for the "best headlamp" category. The short reviews are informative, but they are not comparative and do not note many cons, if any, for each model. The product guide "expert" chooses top picks, and runners up are based on user reviews from around the web.
8. OnTheSnow.com
Aug. 10, 2012
6 Best Headlamps
by Josh Cooley
Our AssessmentOnTheSnow.com is a ski-focused website, and its roundup of six headlamps is geared to those who want them for more extreme adventures, such as climbing and mountain biking. Cooley indicates that the models were tested, but doesn't say how. The reviews are thorough but not comparative, and don't offer many cons.
Gear of the Year 2013
by Steve Casimiro
Our AssessmentSteve Casimiro of National Geographic Traveler provides a roundup of several types of outdoor gear, including the Black Diamond ReVolt headlamp. His picks are based on real-world tests and manufacturers' improvements to previous models. However, it's unclear if other headlamps were tested or considered for inclusion.
10. TrailRunnerNation.com
Jan. 23, 2012
Out of the Dark -- Headlamp Review
by James Wilie
Our AssessmentThis website, focused on trail-running, features several gear reviews, including this comparison of the Black Diamond Storm, Rayovac K2 and Petzl MYO RXP. It discusses weight, brightness, comfort and other factors based on real-world testing. The review is thorough and unbiased, noting pros and cons for each headlamp.
11. Outside Online
Feb. 3, 2012
Gear Shed: What's the Best Headlamp for Running?
by Doug Gantenbein
Our AssessmentIn this question-and-answer article, Gantenbein recommends the Black Diamond Sprinter over two other models. The reviews seem unbiased but are brief and, of course, running-specific. While Gantenbein has personally used the Sprinter, it's unclear whether he has tested the other two headlamps.
12. Trek Together
April 3, 2012
The Best All-Around Headlamps
by "Danny"
Our AssessmentThis trekker reviews the Black Diamond Spot and Petzl Tikka Plus after extensive real-world use. The article directly compares the two lamps on several factors, including ease of use and comfort. The review is in-depth but purposefully excludes smaller and larger lamps as lacking features or too heavy and cumbersome.
13. WildernessRunning.com
Aug. 14, 2012
Rechargeable Headlamp Comparison: Black Diamond Sprinter vs. Petzl Tikka XP Core
by "Stacy"
Our AssessmentWilderness Running Company features several gear reviews, including this comparison of the Black Diamond Sprinter and Petzl Tikka XP Core. The review is thorough and based on extensive real-world testing. It covers comfort, battery life and brightness, offering pros and cons for both headlamps.
14. FeedtheHabit.com
Not dated
Headlamps
by Editors of FeedTheHabit.com
Our AssessmentSeveral headlamps are among the gear reviews at FeedTheHabit.com, a Utah-based backcountry website. Comparative and thorough, the reviews are based on real-world testing. However, it's unclear how particular models were picked for review.
15. About.com
Not dated
2013 Reader's Choice Awards: Finalists for Best Headlamp for Hiking
by Lisa Maloney
Our AssessmentAbout.com solicited readers' opinions, for its annual Reader's Choice Awards, to determine the best headlamp for hiking. But there is no accompanying review for each model, and there is no description of how the five models in the readers' poll were chosen.
16. About.com
Not dated
The Best Headlamps for Hikers
by Lisa Maloney
Our AssessmentAbout.com hiking guide Lisa Maloney offers this hiking-focused roundup of five headlamps, each with a short review and specs. Though Maloney has first-hand experience with a couple of the models, that doesn't seem to be the case for all of them, and there doesn't seem to be any systematic testing behind the picks.
17. HeadlampZone.com
Not dated
Best Headlamp
by Editors of HeadlampZone.com
Our AssessmentHeadlampZone.com is a specialty headlamp retailer. It offers a list of which headlamps are best for what activities, but recommendations are limited to models the retailer carries. There is also no editorial content for the recommended lamps.
Sponsored Links

Back to top