Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4

Heart Rate Monitors: Ratings of Sources

Total of 16 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Heart-Rate Monitors
by Editors at ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentThe editors at ConsumerReports.org evaluate eight heart-rate monitors. Scores are based on accuracy and ease of use, and units are rated and ranked. However, results are available only to subscribers.
2. Amazon.com
As of March 2013
Heart Rate Monitors
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com lets users post reviews of heart-rate monitors they own. Some units attract hundreds of comments while others get only a handful. Many monitors score similarly, so it's easy to spot both the standouts and those that are more likely to disappoint.
3. About.com
As of March 2013
Heart Rate Monitors
by Wendy Bumgardner, Paige Waehner
Our AssessmentThese About.com guides to walking and exercise provide lots of information on heart-rate monitors, including individual product reviews, and lists of best units overall and in different price ranges. Testing isn't always explained, but many reviews indicate hands-on experience with the heart-rate monitor in question. However, in some cases recommended units don't appear to have been tested at all.
4. The New York Times
Aug. 18, 2009
Marathon Tech Review: Watches
by Danielle Belopotosky
Our AssessmentBelopotosky enlists the help of fellow marathon runners to test several heart-rate monitors. This review on NYTimes.com's Gadgetwise blog is more balanced than most, and Belopotosky lists the pros and cons of each unit.
5. Men's Journal
Feb. 15, 2011
Personal Trainers
by Editors of Men's Journal
Our AssessmentMen's Journal enlists the help of Michael Lovato, a professional triathlete, to test six heart-rate monitors and sport watches. Tester comments include pros and cons, and each monitor is rated on a 10-point scale. Many models include additional features like GPS modules, but none of the dedicated heart-rate monitors receives particularly good reviews.
6. BikeRadar.com
As of March 2013
Heart-Rate Monitors
by Editors of BikeRadar.com
Our AssessmentThe U.K.'s BikeRadar.com evaluates about 15 heart-rate monitors, some of which aren't available in the United States. Each unit is tested and scored, and write-ups can be quite detailed. Not surprisingly, the reviews are geared toward cyclists.
7. FitnessElectronicsBlog.com
As of March 2013
Fitness Electronics Reviews: Product Reviews
by Editors of FitnessElectronicsBlog.com
Our AssessmentSite editors "John," "Katie" and "James" review a good assortment of fitness electronics, but primarily Polar and Suunto heart-rate monitors. Testing is conducted but commentary isn't extensive, although it's sometimes supplemented with videos. Recommendations are made, but ratings and rankings aren't provided.
8. RunTheLine.com
As of March 2013
GPS Watch Reviews
by Ross Middleton
Our AssessmentThis triathlete reviews primarily GPS watches on his site, but also covers a few GPS-enabled and non-GPS heart-rate monitors. Middleton's evaluations are testing-based and provide good detail, and include recommendations and ratings.
9. Ultra168.com
As of March 2013
Gear Reviews -- Accessories
by Marcus Warner
Our AssessmentThis ultra-running athlete occasionally reviews heart-rate monitors like the Suunto Quest. Testing is extensive and discussion is detailed. We'd rate this source higher if more heart-rate monitors were covered.
10. Outside
As of March 2013
Heart Rate Monitor
by Editors of Outside
Our AssessmentIn various articles, Outside magazine editors recommend heart-rate monitors from Timex, Suunto, Polar and Garmin, sometimes recommending the same unit in more than one article. Testing isn't mentioned, but editors break down the monitors' features and benefits.
11. Bicycling Magazine
As of March 2013
Accessories: Electronics
by Editors of Bicycling Magazine
Our AssessmentBicycling Magazine offers a handful of heart-rate monitor reviews, although finding them can be a challenge because they're scattered over a few categories on this site. Reviews vary in length and quality. Top choices earn a G.o.t.D. (Gear of the Day) award, but many qualify.
12. HeartRateMonitorsUSA.com
As of March 2013
Heart Rate Monitors
by Contributors to HeartRateMonitorsUSA.com
Our AssessmentThis is an online retailer of fitness products, including heart-rate monitors. While the site lists top picks, those are based on sales popularity; its real value can be found in its user reviews. Although not all heart-rate monitors get tons of feedback, some better-selling models attract a number of comments and customers provide ratings.
13. HeartRateWatchCompany.com
As of March 2013
Heart Rate Monitor
by Rusty Squire and Contributors to HeartRateWatchCompany.com
Our AssessmentThis retailer of heart-rate monitors also posts user reviews, but most don't get very much feedback. However, most of the units listed are evaluated by site founder Squire, often including helpful video or audio clips. Lots of details are included and some testing is done, but it's not well documented. Negatives are sometimes noted but are usually overshadowed by positives, making impartiality a concern.
14. RunBlogger.com
Feb. 28, 2011
Sportline Duo 1060 Heart Rate Monitor Watch Review
by Pete Larson
Our AssessmentThis avid runner reviews the Sportline Duo 1060 on his personal blog. Larson tests the product for several months and thoroughly explains many aspects of the unit, saying the 1060 is a good choice for those who prefer simplicity.
15. Walmart.com
As of March 2013
Heart Rate Monitors
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com allows users to post personal reviews on products purchased, and some provide helpful information. A few heart-rate monitors get reasonable amounts of feedback, but most attract only a comment or two.
16. BestBuy.com
As of March 2013
Sport, Running & GPS Watches
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentCustomers can also post their opinions on products they've purchased at BestBuy.com. However, most heart-rate monitors don't receive much feedback here.

Heart Rate Monitors Runners Up:

Omron HR-100C *Est. $35

2 picks including: Amazon.com, ConsumerReports.org…

Timex Personal Trainer T5G971 *Est. $35

2 picks including: Amazon.com, Overstock.com…

Polar FT7 *Est. $75

2 picks including: About.com, Amazon.com…

Timex Ironman Road Trainer *Est. $80

2 picks including: About.com, Amazon.com…

Polar RS300X *Est. $100

2 picks including: Amazon.com, The New York Times…

Sportline Duo 1060 *Est. $85

1 pick including: About.com, Amazon.com…

Suunto Quest *Est. $250

1 pick including: Amazon.com, Suunto.com…

image
Omron HR-100CN Heart Rate Monitor
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $59.99 $34.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Timex Mid-Size T5G971 Personal Trainer Heart Rate Monitor Watch
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $69.95 $64.98   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
FT7-M Men's Heart Rate Monitor Watch
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $119.95   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Timex Ironman Road Trainer Mid
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
Average Customer Review:  
image
Sportline 1060 Unisex Duo Speed and Distance Heart Rate Monitor
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $119.99 $89.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top