Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Hedge Trimmers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 9 Sources
1. PopularMechanics.com
Not Dated
Backyard Battle: Gas vs. Electric Lawn Tools
by Evan Rothman
Our AssessmentIn this magazine review, Evan Rothman asks two professional golf course groomers to test the cordless Stihl HSA 65 and the gas-powered Husqvarna 122HD45. They prefer the lightweight Stihl, but say the Husqvarna is better for big jobs.
2. Extreme How-To Blog
March 9, 2012
Stihl HSA 65 Cordless Hedge Trimmer Extended Use Review, a Cordless Trimmer for Commercial Use
by Hal Jones
Our AssessmentThis site is aimed at the dedicated DIY homeowner who isn't afraid to tackle weekend-long projects. Just one hedge trimmer receives a thorough -- and positive -- review; Hal Jones says the Stihl HSA 65 performed well, cutting through tough vegetation with ease.
3. ConsumerReports.org
May 2008
Hedge Trimmers: Safe, Powerful Electrics
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentIn this older report, editors of ConsumerReports.org discuss the various types of trimmers available on the market and what you should expect from each, along with basic trimmer safety. Although they don't offer a full ratings chart, they do single out one model as a particularly good performer.
4. Amazon.com
As of April 2014
Hedge Trimmers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com stocks a wide range of hedge trimmers, and several models receive hundreds of user comments. The best hedge trimmers here receive a rating of at least 4.6 stars overall out of 5, from 50 or more user reviews. This is an excellent site for learning about ease of use in real-world settings, as well as any long-term issues.
5. HomeDepot.com
As of April 2014
Hedge Trimmers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentDo-it-yourself retailer HomeDepot.com sells many power tools, including hedge trimmers. Shoppers are able to leave reviews for products and browse other people's feedback before purchasing an item. Standout models receive a score of 4.5 stars or better out of 5, after at least 35 user reviews. Like Amazon.com, HomeDepot.com offers a good reflection on the long-term, real-world use of hedge trimmers.
6. Lowes.com
As of April 2014
Hedge Trimmers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentHardware and home-improvement retailer Lowes.com offers customers the option to review products listed on the site. The most notable models receive a 4.5-star or better rating out of 5, after at least 15 user reviews. There are fewer reviews here than at other home and garden retailers, but reviews tend to be thorough and honest.
7. Sears.com
As of April 2014
All Hedge Trimmers
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com is a popular destination for many types of tools, including hedge trimmers. The website offers shoppers the option of sharing their experiences of products they own. Contributors can leave a comment along with a star rating; top-reviewed models receive a 4.5-star or better average rating out of 5 after at least 25 user reviews.
8. GreenIndustryPros.com
March 11, 2013
Lithium Ion Revolution
by Gregg Wartgow
Our AssessmentAn online magazine for landscape and lawn care professionals, GreenIndustryPros.com publishes articles on advances in gardening equipment, including the rise in availability of eco-friendly, battery-powered lawn and garden tools. Although they offer very useful commentary, the "reviews" in the product guides are submitted by the manufacturers.
9. CharlesAndHudson.com
As of April 2014
Stihl HSA 65 Cordless Hedge Trimmer Review
by Editors of CharlesAndHudson.com
Our AssessmentCharles & Hudson is a home-improvement website operated by Timothy Dahl, who has appeared on "This Old House" and worked with Wired Design and the DIY Network. The website's blog contains some power tool reviews, including two brief, but informative and balanced, reviews of cordless trimmers.
Sponsored Links

Back to top