Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Home Gyms: Ratings of Sources

Total of 9 Sources
1. Amazon.com
As of June 2013
Home Gyms
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com has a wide selection of home gyms and an equally solid collection of user reviews. Of course, there aren't as many reviews for home gyms that cost thousands of dollars as you'll find for less expensive items. As usual, user comments are useful although long-winded. Standout models have a 4.5-star or better rating after at least 25 user reviews.
2. Walmart.com
As of June 2013
Home Gyms
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com sells fewer home gyms than other online retailers, but several popular models receive a sufficient amount of feedback.
3. Sears.com
As of June 2013
Home Gyms & Stations
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentAlthough Amazon.com and Buzzillions.com attract more reviews overall, Sears.com is another good source for insightful user reviews of home gyms.
4. Bodybuilding.com
Dec. 2, 2010
Home Gym Equipment Reviews
by Matt Weik
Our AssessmentBodybuilding.com hosts thousands of articles by professionals in the fitness field. Here, the author, a bodybuilder and personal trainer, selects his five favorite home gyms. He's given each at least a cursory hands-on trial. His comments are brief and mostly positive, but he does occasionally point out a negative or at least neutral aspect for balance.
5. Wayfair.com
As of June 2013
Home Gyms
by Contributors to Wayfair.com
Our AssessmentThe user reviews on this retail site are usually short and to the point; occasionally, reviewers leave ratings with no comments at all. The reviews appear to be original unlike some retail sites that source their reviews from Amazon.com or the manufacturer's website. Noteworthy models have a 4-star or better average rating after at least eight or nine user reviews.
6. DicksSportingGoods.com
As of June 2013
Home Gyms
by Contributors to DicksSportingGoods.com
Our AssessmentDick's Sporting Goods sells more than 60 home gyms and home gym accessories including the Bowflex Blaze home gym. Customer reviews only come from Dick's shoppers, and reviewers must leave a rating (with an optional comment).
7. About.com
April 18, 2011
Top 7 Home Gyms and Multi Gyms
by Paul Rogers
Our AssessmentPaul Rogers, the weight-training guide at About.com, recommends seven home gyms in this brief article. Each receives a short overview, although the article links to longer single-product reviews from TheHomeGymCritic.com. Rogers is frank about the fact he hasn't reviewed the gyms hands-on, but selected them based on their features and his experience instead. We feel the review is worth taking into account considering his qualifications and honesty.
8. Viewpoints.com
As of June 2013
Home Gym Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentThis survey site collects consumer opinions regardless of where they purchased the product in question. Quite a wide range of home workout equipment is featured here, with most models gaining 10 or fewer reviews. Just two home gyms, the Bowflex Ultimate 2 and the Total Gym 2000, receive a rating of 80 or better (out of 100) after 10 or more user reviews.
9. Epinions.com
As of June 2013
Home Gyms
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentOf the 500 home gyms listed on Epinions.com, very few are actually reviewed. Of those that are, only three models receive a 4-star or better rating after at least 19 user reviews. A fourth model, the Body Solid EXM-1500S Multi-Station Gym, is worth consideration for its 4.5-star average score after more than half a dozen user reviews. (Every reviewer gave it at least 4 stars.)
Sponsored Links

Back to top