Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4

Home Theater Receivers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. CNET
Updated Sept. 23, 2013
Best AV Receivers
by Matthew Moskovciak
Our AssessmentCNET reviews a handful of mainstream home theater receivers, with the best ones making it to this list. Links lead to individual reports that are testing based and well-detailed. Also helpful is a chart that tracks each receiver reviewed, including a side-by-side comparison of features and capabilities.
2. What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision
As of September 2013
Home Cinema Amplifiers
by Editors of What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision
Our AssessmentBritain's What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision magazine reviews home theater receivers in brief but competent reports. Not all receivers are available in the U.S., and even those that are differ in some technical details, though performance should be similar. The majority of the receivers reviewed are high-end, $1,000-plus units, but the magazine also reviews some more reasonably priced models.
3. Sound & Vision Magazine
As of September 2013
AV Receiver Reviews
by Editors of Sound & Vision
Our AssessmentHome Theater magazine has merged with Sound & Vision magazine, carrying on under the banner of the latter site and publication. Though the majority of the attention goes towards high-end units costing $1,500 or more, some mainstream and even budget home theater receivers earn Top Pick status. Reviews are hands-on and in depth.
4. HomeTheaterReview.com
As of September 2013
AV Receiver Reviews
by Editors of HomeTheaterReview.com
Our AssessmentHomeTheaterReview.com reviews a decent number of home theater receivers, though many models listed here are from 2012 or older. Analysis here is a mixed bag, though most reviews seem to be based on hands-on testing and are competent enough. Star ratings make it easy to see which receivers are most highly regarded, though 4-star ratings are common.
5. TrustedReviews.com
As of September 2013
Surround Sound System Reviews
by Editors of TrustedReviews.com
Our AssessmentTrustedReviews.com shares the same negatives as other British review sites -- not all receivers featured are available in the U.S., and some details vary on the ones that are. Additionally, this site covers only a few home theater receivers, clumping them into a broader surround-sound systems category. The testing and reporting are more than competent, however.
6. About.com
Not Dated
Best Home Theater Receivers - Priced at 399.00 or Less
by Robert Silva
Our AssessmentRobert Silva, About.com's home theater guide, recommends 10 low-cost home theater receivers in this listing. Home theater receivers listed here cost under $400. Testing in most cases is not well described, though one older model gets a more in-depth treatment.
7. About.com
Not Dated
Home Theater Receivers - 400 to 1,299 Dollars
by Robert Silva
Our AssessmentAbout.com also recommends 17 mid-priced home theater receivers in a separate listing, but many cost more than $1,000, and the list is littered with discontinued models. For the most part, pros and cons are the same as in the report above, though at least one 2013 receiver, the Sony STR-DN1040, gets more in-depth coverage, including well-documented hands-on testing.
8. Expert Reviews (U.K.)
As of September 2013
Home Cinema Reviews
by Editors of ExpertReviews.co.uk
Our AssessmentExpert Reviews is based in Britain, but much of the gear it reviews is also available in versions sold in the United States. Reports are testing based, and opinions are clearly stated. Ratings are provided and show enough variation that it is easy to spot the winners from the runners up. One drawback is that while receivers are covered on occasion, most of the site's home cinema reviews are of home-theater-in-a-box solutions.
9. Amazon.com
As of September 2013
Component Receivers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com lets customers report on their post-sale experiences with home theater receivers. On the positive side, reports that appear here are often decently detailed. One negative is that the site includes many discontinued models, so navigation can be a bit difficult. Most new receivers have yet to receive a lot of feedback.
10. AVSForum.com
As of September 2013
Receivers, Amps, and Processors
by Contributors to AVSForum.com
Our AssessmentThis forum is a great resource for learning the ins and outs of a particular home theater receiver or to get user opinions about which receivers are best. Most, if not all, of the newest receivers have threads dedicated to them in which owners chime in with their experiences and impressions of the units. One of the forum's main functions is user-to-user help, so you'll also see lots of posts about problems and solutions.
11. Audioholics.com
As of September 2013
Featured AV Receiver Reviews
by Editors of Audioholics.com
Our AssessmentReviews here are a bit of a mixed bag. In the very best, the editors subject home theater receivers to a battery of bench and listening tests in detailed single-product reviews. But other reviews -- usually designated as First Looks or Previews -- are not testing based, though the writers do a good job of putting features and expected performance into context based on their own expertise.
12. NewEgg.com
As of September 2013
Receivers
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentSince this site caters to a technology-oriented customer base, most user reviewers here have a higher than average level of technical expertise. However, most receivers get less feedback than elsewhere -- though there are exceptions -- and the reviews tend to be on the short side. Receivers from Onkyo and Pioneer get high overall ratings, albeit from only a handful of users.
Sponsored Links

Back to top