Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4

Home Theater Systems: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Home Theater Systems
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org rates more than 100 home theater systems, including those with and without a Blu-ray Disc player, but not all are current models. Testing is conducted, and ratings are clear and easy to understand, but discussion is brief.
2. Home Theater Magazine
As of January 2013
Home Theater in a Box Reviews
by Editors of Home Theater Magazine
Our AssessmentHome Theater Magazine evaluates a quartet of current all-in-one systems ranging from entry-level options to one costing more than $3,000. Although none earn the site's Top Pick award, most are at least competent performers -- and some are notably better -- with attributes that make them worth considering.
3. About.com
As of January 2013
Best Home Theater-In-A-Box Systems
by Robert Silva
Our AssessmentSilva's reviews on home theater systems vary in quality. Some aren't much more than product information fortified by his take on how the HTIB systems should perform. Other evaluations are fully fleshed out, right down to full details of the test setups used. The list includes lots of current models, but also some discontinued ones.
4. Big Picture Big Sound.com
As of January 2013
Home Theater: Reviews: Home Theater in a Box (HTIB)
by Editors of BigPictureBigSound.com
Our AssessmentAlthough the reviews here aren't quite as long as at some other sites, and only one current HTIB system is covered, discussion is more than sufficient and testing is reasonable and well explained. Editors don't name a best home theater system, but do provide a star rating.
5. Amazon.com
As of January 2013
Home Theater in a Box
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com allows customers to report on post-sale experiences with their HTIB systems and offers a box comparing the most helpful positive and negative reviews. Although the number of comments each home theater system receives is posted on the main landing page, the site lists many discontinued HTIBs -- as well as speaker systems without a receiver, Blu-ray Disc or DVD player -- making it a chore to sort through all the options.
6. BestBuy.com
As of January 2013
All Home Theater Systems
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentSome home theater systems get ample owner feedback here while others receive just a handful of reviews. Comments tend to be brief, but users can rate their HTIBs on multiple criteria and say whether they would recommend it to a friend.
7. Audioholics.com
As of January 2013
Featured Home Theater in-a-Box Reviews
by Editors of Audioholics.com
Our AssessmentAudioholics.com covers a number of HTIB systems in detailed "first looks" and "previews" that are based on manufacturer specifications and the reviewer's opinion of what those mean for the listener. Most reviews look at moderately priced systems. Among current HTIB options, the Onkyo HT-S5500 and HT-S9400THX earn "gotta have it!" ratings.
8. TrustedReviews.com
As of January 2013
Surround Sound System Reviews
by Editors of TrustedReviews.com
Our AssessmentThis U.K. site provides detailed, testing-based reviews of dozens of home theater systems. However, very few of them are available in the U.S.
9. AVSForum.com
As of January 2013
Home Theater in a Box
by Contributors to AVSForum.com
Our AssessmentThis may not be the busiest sub-forum at AVSForum.com, but it's a good place to learn more about all-in-one home theater systems. Many popular products get their own threads, where owners exchange information and prospective buyers can get the details on a particular HTIB.
10. Walmart.com
As of January 2013
Home Theater Systems
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com offers a large selection of home theater systems, including mainstream and budget choices. Most HTIBs don't get a ton of user feedback, but a few get enough owner reviews to make this site worth a look if you want additional opinions about a system you're considering.
11. NewEgg.com
As of January 2013
Home Theater in a Box
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentBecause this site caters to a technology-oriented customer base, most users who post reviews here have a higher level of technical expertise than average. However, most HTIB systems get less feedback here than at other sites. While evaluations tend to do a good job of calling out a system's highlights and lowlights, they skew toward shorter write-ups.
Sponsored Links

Back to top