Sponsored Links
Page: 7 of 7

Hot Tubs: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. SpaSearch.org
Not Dated
2015 Certified Brands
by Editors of Spasearch
Our AssessmentBilling itself as "your independent hot tub sourcebook" with "the only independent awards program in the hot tub industry," Spasearch magazine isn't owned or sponsored by any hot tub manufacturer. Endorsements are based on independent customer surveys, as analyzed by a team of third-party auditors. For 2015, 12 manufacturers are singled out as certified manufactures with the highest satisfaction ratings. Each gets a one-paragraph write-up along with contact information.
2. About.com
March 27, 2013
Best Hot Tub Spa 2013: About.com Readers' Choice Awards
by Lisa Hallett Taylor
Our AssessmentAbout.com nominates three hot tub manufacturers as finalists for its 2013 Readers' Choice award based on user nominations and names a top maker. Nomination criteria include the company's history, range of products, customer feedback, styling and features. Bullfrog Spas, Coast Spas and Hot Spring Portable Spas, all manufacturers of above-ground acrylic hot tubs, make the cut. Lisa Hallett Taylor writes a one-page review for each that highlights the brand's best features and lists available models.
3. Better Business Bureau
Apr. 29, 2014
Buying a Hot Tub or Spa
by Rachel Willard
Our AssessmentThe Better Business Bureau serving eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont offers a detailed buying guide to hot tubs. It covers such issues as materials, choosing a dealer, financing, selecting a site, water treatment methods and safety tips. Although the article doesn't recommend specific brands or models, it's a useful resource for starting the buying process.
4. TopTenReviews.com
Not Dated
Hot Tubs Reviews and Comparisons
by Editors of TopTenReviews.com
Our AssessmentTopTenReviews.com has write-ups of ten hot tub models in this list of the best hot tubs of 2015. There is some good information here, though most of it can be also gleaned from manufacturer literature. Testing, if any, is not well explained.
5. HomeDepot.com
As of March 2015
Hot Tubs & Spas
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com sells more than 100 hot tubs as well as nearly 20 portable models. Some receive only a little feedback, but others get dozens of reviews. Though none of the brands here get much coverage from expert reviewers, clear patterns of satisfaction make it easy to see which models are most likely to please owners.
6. Amazon.com
As of March 2015
Hot Tubs
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentSeveral hot tubs are available at Amazon.com, either directly or through third parties. Inflatable models are the most common type here and a few receive quite a bit of user feedback. A few above-ground hot tubs, including several Lifesmart models, receive enough feedback to be helpful.
7. Wayfair.com
As of March 2015
Hot Tubs
by Contributors to Wayfair.com
Our AssessmentLike Amazon.com, Wayfair.com is an online retailer of hot tubs -- few of which are reviewed by any expert source. That said, some prefabricated above-ground spas and inflatable hot tubs get dozens of reviews, and well over a hundred in a handful of cases. Review quality is on a par with Amazon.com as well, which means that while some are brief, others go into nice detail.
8. Walmart.com
As of March 2015
Hot Tubs & Saunas
by Contributors to Wayfair.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com offers many of the same brands and models of inflatable and preformed hot tubs as other online and big box retailers. Review patterns are similar as well -- though some spas receive hundreds of reviews.
9. Poolandspa.com
Oct. 15, 2014
Best Of Class Hot Tub & Spa Innovations
by Editors of PoolAndSpa.com
Our AssessmentThis retailer sells parts, chemicals and accessories for hot tubs, but also issues annual Best Of Class Awards in both the hot tub and pools category. Awards are based on inspections of the company's products, phone interviews and a consumer survey based on more than 15,000 responses accumulated since 2013.
10. Pool & Spa Outdoor
Not Dated
Hot Tubs & Spas
by Editors of Pool & Spa Outdoor
Our AssessmentThe online-only version of Pool & Spa Outdoor is a lifestyle magazine for pool, spa and backyard enthusiasts. Although there are no actual reviews here, the site provides some good general articles on choosing a hot tub, as well as installation and maintenance issues. It includes numerous photos of fancy and less-fancy spas so readers can get an idea of what's available.
11. What'sTheBest.com
As of March 2015
What's the Best Hot Tub?
by Editors of What's the Best
Our AssessmentThis site is run by What's the Best, a series of online guides for consumers contemplating major purchases. There's some good advice here, but most tips are short and very general. Owners can also rate their own hot tubs, but no brand or model receives more than a handful of reviews. A forum section covers issues such as repairs, special needs and maintenance.
12. Better Homes & Gardens
Not Dated
Planning for a Spa
by Editors of Better Homes and Gardens
Our AssessmentThis article discusses several factors to consider when choosing a hot tub. It compares indoor and outdoor installation as well as portable and in-ground models, and gives estimated costs for each. Although this is a good starting point for hot tub buyers, the article doesn't recommend particular brands or discuss the shopping process.
Sponsored Links

Back to top