Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

ISPs: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
May 2013
Internet Service Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentThese rankings are based on about 62,000 responses to ConsumerReports.org's 2012 annual telecom survey. ISPs are ranked according to how users rate their value, reliability, connection speed and customer support. The report discusses users' general satisfaction as well as trends in the use of different types of Internet and phone services. A chart rates bundled telecom services including Internet, phone and TV. Dial-up Internet services are not included.
2. J.D. Power & Associates
Oct. 15, 2012
2012 U.S. Residential Internet Service Provider Satisfaction Study
by Editors of J.D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentAfter surveying 20,750 customers nationwide, J.D. Power and Associates editors report on user satisfaction with high-speed Internet service. Different companies win in each surveyed region: AT&T ranks highest in the East and Bright House Network in the South, while Wow! takes the North Central area and Cox Communications wins in the West.
3. PCMag.com
April 30, 2012
Readers' Choice Awards 2012: ISPs, Routers, and Network Attached Storage (NAS) for the Home
by Ben Gottesman
Our AssessmentThis 2012 survey tracks how satisfied customers are with their broadband ISP service. Verizon FiOS remains at the top of the list, but Wow! improves its rating from 2011 and wins a Readers' Choice Award. Cox Communications gets an honorable mention for its third-place finish.
4. PCMag.com
Aug. 31, 2011
The Fastest ISPs in the U.S. 2011
by Eric Griffith
Our AssessmentPCMag.com uses 58,300 reader tests to compile its annual rankings of ISP speeds, weighting download speeds more heavily than upload. Cox, Comcast and Charter Communications lead the pack. Verizon's FiOS speeds are lumped in with its DSL results, giving Verizon an artificially low score that PCMag.com still calls excellent.
5. Netflix.com
March 2013
The ISP Speed Index From Netflix
by Editors of Netflix Blog
Our AssessmentStreaming video site Netflix displays the fastest ISPs around the world, according to data collected from site users. In the U.S., Google Fiber comes out on top with a significantly faster average speed than its closest rivals Cablevision Optimum Online and Cox.
6. TopTenReviews.com
Not dated
Internet Service Provider Review
by Editors of TopTenReviews.com
Our AssessmentThe editors of TopTenReviews.com rate companies, not specific Internet services. Twenty ISPs are ranked based on feature set (virus and spyware protection, email accounts, etc.); service area, with a larger area rating higher; various connection speeds to choose from; and customer service and support. Based on these criteria, the top three ISPs are Comcast, Time Warner and AT&T.
7. BroadbandReports.com
As of April 2013
Charts - the Good, the Bad and the Ugly
by Contributors to BroadbandReports.com
Our AssessmentContributors rate their ISPs using six criteria, including reliability, tech support and value. Reviews are current and detailed, and are easily sorted by state and zip code. This chart is updated weekly based on current reviews, and awards are given based on the rolling six-month average score each ISP gets from users. There are thousands of reviews here, as well as industry news and informative articles. Quite a few ISPs win awards, but because lineups change frequently, there are no consistent picks.
8. Cheap-ISP-Reviews.com
Not dated
Cheap ISP Reviews
by Editors of Cheap-ISP-Reviews.com
Our AssessmentThese comparative ratings are based on cost alone; standard and accelerated dial-up ISPs are shown in one comparison chart, broadband ISPs in another. The charts show features included in each plan and whether a special price is available to new subscribers. However, it's not clear when this data was compiled.
9. Epinions.com
As of April 2013
ISP
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentThere's a lot of owner feedback at Epinions.com, and some of the larger services get hundreds of reviews. All comments are averaged to produce an overall rating for the service. The problem is that some posts date from five and six years ago, and more recent reviews aren't given more weight. Because of this inconsistency, we rate this source lower than others.
10. Consumerist.com
April 26, 2010
Congratulations Comcast; You're the Worst Company in America!
by Chris Morran
Our AssessmentThis semi-humorous article announces the results of a contest to choose the worst company in America. Readers nominate companies and later vote for their top pick. With about 10,000 votes, Comcast beats out Ticketmaster; Bank of America is another finalist. Many complain about Comcast's customer service while others aren't happy about its purchase of NBC Universal.
Sponsored Links

Back to top