Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4

Laptop Bags: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. OutdoorGearLab.com
Oct. 10, 2011
Laptop & Messenger Bags
by Max Neale
Our AssessmentIn two related reviews, OutdoorGearLab.com tests eight messenger bags and six backpacks. Eight testers carry each bag in turn for a week and rate its looks, comfort, construction and features. Each bag receives a star rating and an overall score from 1 to 100. There are detailed reviews for each bag (with videos for some) and a helpful grid sums up the results. Top-ranked bags are named as Editors' Choice, Top Pick or Best Buy.
2. TheWirecutter.com
Nov. 9, 2012
Favorite Bags
by Editors of TheWirecutter.com
Our AssessmentFive editors at TheWirecutter.com test around 60 computer bags (selected from a list of hundreds) and list the ones that they say they'd recommend to friends. Unlike most of TheWirecutter.com's reviews, which name a single best product in a category, the reviews of laptop cases delve into the pros and cons of each particular case. Editors discuss durability, features, styling and the most appropriate uses for each bag.
3. Macworld
As of March 2014
Laptop Bags
by Editors of Macworld
Our AssessmentMacworld and its sister site TechHive.com have reviewed about 20 laptop cases over the past 18 months. Reviews are fairly detailed, covering capacity, durability and features, and some of them include video. However, the grading curve here isn't very steep: more than half the bags reviewed earn ratings of at least 4 mice out of a possible 5.
4. Laptop Magazine
Nov. 5, 2013
Best Laptop and Tablet Bags for the Holidays
by Mark Kakkuri
Our AssessmentMark Kakkuri of Laptop Magazine offers his picks for laptop and tablet bags that combine "usefulness and good looks." The winners are presented in a slideshow, with a photo and a one-paragraph write-up for each bag. Selected models include backpacks, messenger bags, briefcases and sleeves. However, Kakkuri doesn't describe his testing methods or explain why he chose these particular bags over others.
5. CNET
Aug. 28, 2012
Best 5 Laptop Cases
by Dan Ackerman and Scott Stein
Our AssessmentTwo senior editors at CNET present their top picks for transporting your laptop. Their original five choices have been narrowed down to four, including three backpacks and one messenger bag. The write-ups here are brief, but links take you to the full reviews, which examine design, features and construction in detail. However, most of these reviews are several years old, and one of the recommended products has been discontinued.
6. CultOfMac.com
As of March 2014
Laptop Case Reviews
by Editors of CultOfMac.com
Our AssessmentIt's not easy to find reviews of laptop cases on CultOfMac.com. The easiest way to track them down is to search for "bag review" or "case review," and even then you'll get lots of hits for bags that aren't for laptops. However, the few reviews we managed to find are thoughtful and hands-on, covering pros and cons in detail. Only one bag earns a perfect 3-star rating here: the Rickshaw Bagworks Commuter 2.1.
7. PCMag.com
As of March 2014
Cases & Carrying Gear
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com collects all its reviews of carrying cases and bags here. It's easy to narrow down the category by price, brand and rating, but not, unfortunately, by type. Each hands-on review includes a rating from 1 to 5 stars and a summary of pros and cons covering design, features and performance. Of the 20-plus bags and cases reviewed in the past 18 months, only three have received the Editors' Choice award.
8. CNET
As of March 2014
Cases & Bags
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentCNET has published fewer than a dozen new reviews of laptop cases or sleeves in the past two years. However, in that time, three bags have received ratings of 4 stars out of 5 or better: one backpack, one messenger bag and one sleeve. Reviews present an up-close look at each bag, including design and features, and include a handy summary of pros and cons.
9. DigitalTrends.com
May 20, 2013
Pack Attack: 25 Awesome Laptop Bags That Add Style and Function
by Brandon Widder
Our AssessmentThis roundup presents 25 "stylish, fashionable, and practical laptop bags" in a range of styles and prices. There's a photo of each bag and a few sentences focusing mostly on design and features. Author Brandon Widder doesn't say anything about his testing methods or his criteria for choosing these 25 bags out of the hundreds on the market. Based on the write-ups, however, they appear to have been selected mostly for their looks.
10. Computer Shopper
July 29, 2013
2013 Guide: 12 Best Laptop Bags for College Students
by Gloria Sin
Our AssessmentThis slideshow presents 12 laptop backpacks, carrying bags and sleeves that are ideal for college students. However, the choices appear to be based on features rather than on hands-on testing. There's a photo and a brief description for each bag that covers its main selling points. Bags aren't rated, so there's no way to identify the best of the best from this list, but it's a good survey of styles.
11. Amazon.com
As of March 2014
Laptop Bags & Cases
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentA huge number of bags receive hundreds of reviews from users at Amazon.com, including many with overall ratings of 4.5 stars out of 5. Many of the top-rated bags here aren't covered in other sources (possibly because the manufacturers don't provide samples to reviewers), so this is a good place to look for brands you may commonly find in stores but not in reviewers' lineups. Quality of reviews varies, as with all user-review sites.
12. EBags.com
As of March 2014
Laptop Bags
by Contributors to eBags.com
Our AssessmentLike Amazon.com, eBags.com has a huge number of user-written reviews for laptop cases. We found dozens of bags that have received hundreds of reviews with ratings averaging 4.5 stars or better. We found highly rated bags from designer brands like Kenneth Cole, student-oriented brands like Jansport, and eBags.com's own house brand. However, most of the top-rated bags are not covered in professional sources.

Laptop Bags Runners Up:

Timbuk2 Custom Classic Messenger Bag Est. $70 and up

2 picks including: Amazon.com, DigitalTrends.com…

Mission Workshop R6 Arkiv Field Backpack Est. $210 and up

2 picks including: Macworld, GearDiary.com…

image
Timbuk2 Classic Messenger Bag 2013,Black/Black/Black,M
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $99.00 $73.55   
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top