Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Large SUVs: Ratings of Sources

Total of 23 Sources
1. Edmunds.com
Not Dated
2012 SUV Buying Guide
by Editors of Edmunds.com
Our AssessmentEdmunds.com chooses its favorite vehicles within a variety of categories each year and assembles a recommended list. Editors arrange their list of chosen SUVs by price, and only two large SUVs make the list, both in the "SUVs Over $55,000" category: the 2012 Infiniti QX56 and the 2012 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class.
2. ConsumerReports.org
As of Jan. 2012
Recommended SUVs
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org tests most new cars comprehensively, and they are best known for their objective testing methods and survey-based reliability and ownership-satisfaction data. Currently, five large SUVs are given the coveted Recommended rating, indicating they have performed well in a battery of tests and have sufficient reliability records. Reviews and ratings are available online, but a subscription is required to access them.
3. Truck Trend
March 2011
Truck Trend's Best in Class 2011: Full-Size SUV
by Editors of Truck Trend
Our AssessmentThe editors of Truck Trend annually compile a list of the trucks they consider to be best-in-class, spanning 11 size and type categories. Truck Trend's reviews generally are concerned with particular characteristics of trucks and SUVs, especially off-road capability, towing rating and load-carrying capacity, among others. The Chevrolet Tahoe and sister GMC Yukon (they're essentially the same vehicle) are named best-in-class for the full-size SUV category.
4. Inside Line
As of Feb. 2012
Untitled
by Editors of Inside Line
Our AssessmentInside Line is the testing and blog outfit of automotive information website Edmunds.com. Inside Line is an excellent source for individual model reviews, automotive news and long-term testing in a unique blog format.
5. Automobile Magazine
April 7, 2011
Comparison: 2011 Infiniti QX56 vs. 2011 Lexus LX570
by Donny Nordlicht
Our AssessmentAutomobile Magazine pitted the 2011 Infiniti QX56 and the 2011 Lexus LX570 against each other since they are the only two large SUVs that have received significant redesigns recently. Tester Donny Nordlicht concludes that the Infiniti QX56 "handily beats" the Lexus because of its better handling, more powerful engine and lower price.
6. ConsumerGuide.com
As of Feb. 2012
2012 Best Buy and Recommended Awards
by Editors of ConsumerGuide.com
Our AssessmentConsumerGuide.com's editors give models that score the highest across a variety of testing criteria a Best Buy rating, while runners-up get a Recommended rating. Road-test reviews are brief, and while they could benefit from more detail, the reviews provide a succinct summary of the pros and cons relevant to most buyers.
7. ConsumerGuide.com
Not Dated
The Consumer Guide to 2012 Large SUVs
by Editors of ConsumerGuide.com
Our AssessmentThis buyer's guide for large SUVs from the editors of ConsumerGuide.com gives a good summary of large SUVs and how they fit into today's car market, a brief description of the underlying technology, and overall pros and cons. The guide links to full model road tests.
8. ConsumerGuide.com
Not Dated
The Consumer Guide to 2011 Premium Large SUVs
by Ed Piotrowski
Our AssessmentLike the similar guide for large SUVs, ConsumerGuide.com editors outline what defines a luxury SUV and things to consider when shopping for one. This guide also has summaries of available models and links to more detailed road-test results for each.
9. AutoPacific.com
Not Dated
2011 Vehicle Satisfaction Award
by Editors of AutoPacific
Our AssessmentAutoPacific's industry benchmark Vehicle Satisfaction Awards measure which cars and light trucks score highest in overall satisfaction among owners. Researchers rate 48 categories of the ownership experience to choose the highest-ranking vehicles. Among large SUVs, the Cadillac Escalade and GMC Yukon win in their respective market niches.
10. Kiplinger.com
Jan. 2012
2012 Best in Class: Truck-Based SUVs
by Mark Solheim and Jessica L. Anderson
Our AssessmentKiplinger.com specializes in personal finance information, and its car evaluations reflect that. In choosing models for its Best in Class designation, it focuses on things like resale value, cost of ownership and depreciation. The editors choose the Chevrolet Suburban as the Best in Class Truck-based SUV for its decent resale value and its fuel efficiency compared to other large SUVs with similar power output.
11. U.S. News & World Report
As of Feb. 2012
U.S. News Rankings: SUVs
by Editors of U.S. News and World Report
Our AssessmentU.S. News and World Report ratings are based on the testing of third parties. Editors boil down their research in a one-page report that culminates in a numerical rating. Top-scoring large SUVs are the Chevrolet Suburban and Cadillac Escalade.
12. U.S. News & World Report
Jan. 11, 2012
Best Cars for the Money Awards 2012
by Jamie Page Deaton
Our AssessmentU.S. News and World Report looks at 14 vehicle classes and chooses Best Cars for the Money winners based on five-year total costs of ownership, upfront costs and overall U.S. News rankings based on numerical ratings compiled from third-party reviews. The Chevrolet Suburban is considered the Best Affordable Large SUV for the Money, while the Cadillac Escalade is named the Best Luxury Large SUV for the Money.
13. Vincentric
March 1, 2011
2011 Vincentric Best Value in America Awards
by Editors of Vincentric.com
Our AssessmentThe models that independent automotive-analysis firm Vincentric names Best Values in America exhibit superior cost of ownership in categories such as depreciation, fuel economy, maintenance, insurance and initial cost as compiled in a detailed nationwide survey.
14. Motor Trend
April 2008
Comparison: 2008 Chevrolet Tahoe vs. 2008 Ford Expedition vs. 2008 Nissan Armada vs. 2008 Toyota Sequoia
by Ron Kiino
Our AssessmentWhile dated, there is a lack of more recent comparison tests between large SUVs because largely these models haven't changed. This article compares four large, four-wheel-drive SUVs priced around or under $50,000. The Chevrolet Tahoe comes in last, in part due to its then four-speed transmission and relatively low power output. Chevrolet addressed these aspects in the 2009 model year, but considering the other drawbacks the reviewers cite, that wouldn't have changed the ultimate winner of this comparison. The Toyota Sequoia wins here for impressive fuel economy for its weight, smooth powertrain and the most comfortable ride.
15. Inside Line
April 16, 2008
Comparison Test: 2008 Chevrolet Tahoe Hybrid vs. 2008 Mercedes-Benz GL320 CDI -- Hybrid vs. Diesel in Sumo-Size SUVs
by Erin Riches
Our AssessmentInside Line compares two high fuel-economy, full-size SUVs: the Chevy Tahoe Hybrid and a diesel-powered Mercedes GL320 CDI. Note that this is an older review, and that the Mercedes GL-class now has an updated BlueTec diesel engine that is legal in all 50 states. The Chevrolet Tahoe hasn't received significant changes since this review. The Mercedes comes out on top here for better handling, fuel economy and comfort.
16. TheTruthAboutCars.com
April 9, 2008
2008 Chevrolet Tahoe LTZ 4x4 Review
by William C. Montgomery
Our AssessmentThis review is dated, but its conclusions are still valid. TheTruthAboutCars.com gives highly opinionated and quite insightful reviews on vehicles. This review is part of a comparison between the 2008 Chevrolet Tahoe, Toyota Sequoia and Ford Expedition. Although writer William Montgomery calls the Tahoe a "happy, jumbo-sized appliance," he says it is the best choice among the three full-size SUVs in this test. Keep in mind that in 2009 the Chevrolet Tahoe received an upgraded transmission and a new optional engine. Presumably this would only reinforce the reviewer's findings.
17. Motor Trend
Dec. 2011
2012 Motor Trend SUV of the Year Contenders
by Editors of Motor Trend
Our AssessmentEvery year, the editors of Motor Trend magazine gather a group of contenders to compete for their SUV of the Year award. For 2012, none of the 10 contenders for the awards were large SUVs, a departure from their list of contenders in previous years. Editors note that nearly all modern SUVs are car-like in their construction (unlike most large SUVs, as covered in this report).
18. Autoblog.com
Not Dated
Autoblog.com
by Editors of Autoblog.com
Our AssessmentAutoblog.com is primarily a source for automotive news, but it also provides in-depth road test reviews of many models, including some large SUVs.
19. AutoWeek
Not Dated
AutoWeek.com Car Reviews
by Editors of AutoWeek.com
Our AssessmentAutoWeek.com is an automotive website that covers automotive news and provides first-hand reviews. Its reviews tend to take the form of Review Notes, which are often write-ups from various editors on one page. Overall the reviews can be a bit desultory, but they still offer insightful information on how a given model performs.
20. Kelley Blue Book
As of Feb. 2012
2012 Best Resale Value Awards
by Editors of Kelley Blue Book
Our AssessmentKelley Blue Book is an acknowledged source of used-car pricing, and they provide individual model reviews. These reviews provide some good information but tend to not be too critical of model shortcomings. Kelly Blue Book also has a variety of top picks in various categories every year, and the Audi Q7 is the only large SUV that makes its top 10 list for best resale value.
21. Autos.ca
As of Feb. 2012
Test Drives
by Editors of Autos.ca
Our AssessmentAutos.ca is a Canadian website that tests many new cars, paying particular attention to everyday practicality and inclement weather abilities. The site is well-organized and provides succinct but informative reviews. Canadian market versions of large SUVs are nearly identical to the models sold in the U.S.
22. Cars.com
Sept. 21, 2009
Full-Size SUVs and Cargo Room
by Mike Hanley
Our AssessmentThis article from the Cars.com SUV buying guides provides an insightful comparison of cargo capacities for popular large SUVs and alternatives. Whereas many consumers may assume that bigger on the outside means bigger on the inside, Mike Hanley explains why this isn't always true, comparing interior and exterior dimensions of midsize car-based SUVs and minivans to the typical large SUV.
23. Car and Driver
January 2011
Acura MDX vs. Audi Q7 3.0T, BMW X5 xDrive35i, Land Rover LR4 HSE, Lexus GX460
by
Our AssessmentThis Car and Driver comparison tests only includes one SUV considered to be large, rather than midsize: the Audi Q7. Having said that, the Q7 is tested against four of the best luxury SUVs around, including the Acura MDX and the BMW X5. The Audi Q7 is considered to be the best of the lot here for its unflappable all-wheel-drive setup, eager supercharged engine and overall refinement.

Large SUVs Runners Up:

2012 Chevrolet Suburban (Base MSRP: $41,995 to $57,890)

5 picks including: About.com, ConsumerGuide.com…

2012 Chevrolet Tahoe (Base MSRP: $38,530 to $55,850)

4 picks including: ConsumerGuide.com, FuelEconomy.gov…

2012 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class (Base MSRP: $61,570 to $85,300)

3 picks including: ConsumerGuide.com, FuelEconomy.gov…

2012 GMC Yukon Base MSRP: $39,860 to $57,780

3 picks including: ConsumerGuide.com, FuelEconomy.gov…

2012 Ford Expedition Base MSRP: $36,530 to $52,330

2 picks including: ConsumerGuide.com, FuelEconomy.gov…

Sponsored Links

Back to top