Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Lawn Mowers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Lawn Mowers & Tractors
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org. field tests around 115 different lawn mowers, including push mowers, self-propelled mowers and robotic lawn mowers. Each are rated and ranked against similar models based upon how well they bag and mulch. Comfort, usability and handling are included in each mower's overall score.
2. ConsumerReports.org
March. 18, 2016
The best and worst walk-behind mowers
by Ed Perratore
Our AssessmentThis free-to-the-public article presents the highlights -- and lowlights -- from this year's lawnmower tests by ConsumerReports.org. Based on tests at a test lawn in Florida, top performing self-propelled and push mowers are named, including electric and gas models. The article also specifically calls out a handful of mowers that clearly disappoint.
3. TheSweetHome.com
Apr. 16, 2016
The Best Lawnmower
by Doug Mahoney
Our AssessmentTheSweethome.com does not conducted hands-on testing of lawnmowers, but Doug Mahoney conducts 50 hours of in-depth research, including speaking with experts in the field. A top pick is named, as are recommendations for those looking for simple mowers and cordless models. This report is regularly updated.
4. Popular Mechanics
Oct. 7, 2015
Best Lawnmowers of the Year: Comparison Test
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentRoy Berendsohn and his team of testers put eight of the top-rated mowers to the test, naming their favorites in order of best to worst -- although the "worst" aren't too bad. Each review is brief, but thorough, and includes pros, cons and -- a rarity in lawnmower reviews -- a noise rating for each.
5. Popular Mechanics
June 30, 2015
Best Lawnmowers of the Year: Comparison Test
by Beau Grimmett, Dave Noonan, and Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentIn this test from earlier in 2015, Roy Berendsohn and his helpers test five walk-behind mowers, but there's no crossover in models from the above test. Again, reviews are thorough enough to hit all the highs and lows of each mower.
6. TheSweetHome.com
Jan. 21, 2015
The Best Reel Mower for Your (Small) Lawn
by Ed Grabianowski
Our AssessmentWhether it's for the environment, the exercise or to fit your budget, if you want a people-powered reel-mower for your appropriately-sized lawn, this is an excellent resource. Recommendations are based on both research and personal testing. A top choice and solid runner up are named.
7. HomeDepot.com
As of May 2016
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com offers a wide variety of lawn mowers, including reel mowers, electric and gas push lawn mowers, self-propelled mowers and more. Individual models often draw considerable feedback, sometimes numbering in the hundreds or even thousands of reviews. Some reviews are drawn from manufacturer web sites, but many are from HomeDepot.com users and unique to this site.
8. Lowes.com
As of May 2016
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes.com also has a wide selection of reel, cordless electric, corded electric and gas push lawn mowers. Owners can rate and review lawn mowers here, and Lowes.com summarizes a list of the most common pros and cons for each model. However, as is the case at HomeDepot.com, some reviews originate at manufacturer web sites.
9. MowersDirect.com
As of May 2016
Walk Behind Mowers
by Jose Castellanos and contributors to MowersDirect.com
Our AssessmentMowersDirect.com is a large internet lawnmower retailer. Users can leave reviews and, while these vary greatly in depth and helpfulness, many are relatively comprehensive including feedback after extended use -- sometimes spanning several years. In addition, Jose Castellanos, the mowers product expert at MowersDirect.com, provides his own feedback on mowers including a letter grade (though we didn't spot any truly awful grades) and specific recommendations for top models. Videos are also included for many models showing the equipment in use.
10. Amazon.com
As of May 2016
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com carries a full selection of walk-behind mowers from brands such as Earthwise, Husqvarna, Rotary, Simplicity and Sun Joe. Reviews on battery, corded, gasoline and manual lawn mowers can be found here; electric mowers are reviewed most often. Some of the models have more than 100 reviews for a well-rounded critique, and a few have several hundred reviews and even 1,000 or more. All reviews are unique to Amazon.com.
11. Walmart.com
As of May 2016
Outdoor Power Equipment
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com carries a variety of well-known and lesser-known brands in its lineup of push, self-propelled and electric lawn mowers. Some garner just a handful of reviews, but a few models have several hundred comments.
12. Sears.com
As of May 2016
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com includes a helpful guide to narrow down lawn mower options based on how many hills and obstacles are on your lawn, what type of power source you want, mower brand and more. This is the best place to read reviews of Craftsman mowers, and some models get tons of feedback.
13. ConsumerReports.org
March 8, 2010
Review of Easun NaturCut Classic, Fiskars Momentum 317736, and Scotts 2000-20 reel mowers
by Ed Perratore
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org's Ed Perratore discusses results from testing three reel mowers. Though this article is older, and some model names have changed (the Fiskars Momentum is the same mower as the StaySharp Max), the mowers covered remain available so the conclusions reached are still relevant, and the article is free for all to read.

Back to top