Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Lawn Mowers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Apr. 17, 2015
The best and worst walk-behind mowers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentThis article presents the highlights -- and lowlights -- from this year's lawnmower tests by ConsumerReports.org. Based on tests at a test lawn in Florida, top performing self-propelled and push mowers are named, including electric and gas models. The article also specifically calls out a handful of mowers that clearly disappoint. The article, which names models, is free for all to read. Links to more detailed individual mower reviews, and to the site's full lineup of mower ratings, are provided, but those require a paid subscription.
2. TheSweetHome.com
Apr. 17, 2015
The Best Lawnmower
by Doug Mahoney
Our AssessmentThough TheSweetHome.com had not yet conducted its hands-on testing of lawnmowers at the time this report was prepared, Doug Mahoney presents the site's initial recommendations based on discussions with industry experts, professional landscapers and others, as well as his own research. A top pick is named, as are recommendations for those looking for simple mowers and cordless models.
3. TheSweetHome.com
Jan. 21, 2015
The Best Reel Mower for Your (Small) Lawn
by Ed Grabianowski
Our AssessmentWhether it's for the environment, the exercise or to fit your budget, if you want a people-powered reel-mower for your appropriately-sized lawn, this is an excellent resource. Recommendations are based on both research and personal testing. A top choice and solid runner up are named.
4. MowersDirect.com
As of May 2015
Walk Behind Mowers
by Jose Castellanos and contributors to MowersDirect.com
Our AssessmentMowersDirect.com is a large internet lawnmower retailer. Users can leave reviews and, while these vary greatly in depth and helpfulness, many are relatively comprehensive including feedback after extended use -- sometimes spanning several years. In addition, Jose Castellanos, the mowers product expert at MowersDirect.com, provides his own feedback on mowers including a letter grade (though we didn't spot any truly awful grades) and specific recommendations for top models. Videos are also included for many models showing the equipment in use.
5. Tool Box Buzz
Not Dated
Best Cordless Lawn Mower – Head to Head Comparison
by Todd Fratzel
Our AssessmentThough some of the models in this head-to-head hands-on showdown are discontinued (or on clearance), the two top finishers remain current and popular. Todd Fratzel compares the mowers based on cut quality, noise, run time, handling, ergonomics, build quality, value and more.
6. HomeDepot.com
As of May 2015
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com offers a wide variety of lawn mowers, including reel mowers, electric and gas push lawn mowers, self-propelled mowers and more. Individual models often draw considerable feedback, sometimes numbering in the hundreds or even thousands of reviews. Some reviews are drawn from manufacturer web sites, but many are from HomeDepot.com users and unique to this site.
7. Amazon.com
As of May 2015
Push Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com carries a full selection of walk-behind mowers from brands such as Earthwise, Husqvarna, Rotary, Simplicity and Sun Joe. Reviews on battery, corded, gasoline and manual lawn mowers can be found here; electric mowers are reviewed most often. Some of the models have more than 100 reviews for a well-rounded critique, and a few have several hundred reviews and even 1,000 or more. All reviews are unique to Amazon.com.
8. Lowes.com
As of May 2015
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes.com also has a selection of reel, cordless electric, corded electric and gas push lawn mowers. Owners can rate and review lawn mowers here, and Lowes.com summarizes a list of the most common pros and cons for each model. However, as is the case at HomeDepot.com, some reviews originate at manufacturer web sites.
9. Walmart.com
As of May 2015
Outdoor Power Equipment
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com carries a variety of well-known and lesser-known brands in its lineup of push, self-propelled and electric lawn mowers. Some garner just a handful of reviews, but a few models have several hundred comments.
10. Sears.com
As of May 2015
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com includes a helpful guide to narrow down lawn mower options based on how many hills and obstacles are on your lawn, what type of power source you want, mower brand and more. This is the best place to read reviews of Craftsman mowers, and some models get tons of feedback.
11. ConsumerReports.org
March 8, 2010
Review of Easun NaturCut Classic, Fiskars Momentum 317736, and Scotts 2000-20 reel mowers
by Ed Perratore
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org's Ed Perratore discusses results from testing three reel mowers. Though this article is older, and some model names have changed (the Fiskars Momentum is the same mower as the StaySharp Max 6201), the mowers covered remain available so the conclusions reached are still relevant, and the article is free for all to read.
12. J.D. Power & Associates
Aug. 30, 2012
2012 Walk-Behind Lawn Mower Satisfaction Report
by Editors of J.D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentIn their 2012 walk-behind lawn mower satisfaction report, editors say that durability and convenience are the two most important factors that contribute to overall satisfaction. Only six brands make their way to the index (down from 10 the year before). John Deere, Toro and Troy-Bilt are the leading brands. This report has not been updated since 2012, though the overall information may still prove helpful.
13. Family Handyman
Not Dated
Best Cordless Lawn Mower
by Editors of FamilyHandyman.com
Our AssessmentThe Family Handyman discusses cordless electric mowers, their various features and how to determine which is best suited to your needs. Seven specific models are recommended. Each is given a brief review but none are rated and it isn't clear if any others were tested.
14. 10rate.com
Not Dated
Best Push Mowers: Top 10 Rated Push/Walk-Behind Lawn Mowers 2015
by Steve Holdgren
Our AssessmentReviewers at 10Rate.com use hands-on experience, owner reviews and model specifications to assemble top-10 lists on home, sports and garden products. For the list of the 10 best push mowers, reviewer Steve Holdgren considers power, cutting ability in all three modes, versatility and maneuverability in his evaluation of lawn mowers, but he doesn't talk about how he tests each model. Despite the 2015 date, some models are discontinued.
15. TopTenReviews.com
Not Dated
2015 Best Electric Mower Comparisons and Reviews
by Editors of TopTenReviews.com
Our AssessmentTopTenReviews.com rates and reviews 10 electric mowers, giving each an overall rating. Each model is given a review with a breakdown of its features but it isn't clear whether they were tested. Reviews also vary in their detail, but all provide useful information. Reviews for gas lawn mowers are also available in a separate report, but that coverage seems more dated as many models were discontinued at the time of our visit.
Sponsored Links

Back to top