Sponsored Links
Page: 7 of 7
In this report

Lawn Mowers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 17 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Lawn Mowers & Tractors
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentThis comparison test of almost 80 models of lawn mowers includes self-propelled, push, gas, corded and cordless lawn mowers. Editors evaluate each mower's ability to cut, mulch, bag and side-discharge, as well as overall handling and usability. Other articles on this site discuss which type of mowers are the most economical and how to select the best lawn mower for your needs.
2. PopularMechanics.com
Not dated
The Best Walk-Behind Lawnmowers: Comparison Test
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentTo test the performance of 10 lawn mowers, Popular Mechanics visits church grounds, a house and golf course for their most recent review. The Toro Recycler 20333 -- almost exactly the same as the 20332 -- gets 4.5 stars for its "good cut quality and bagging."
3. PopularMechanics.com
Not dated
Best Lawnmowers of the Year: Comparison Test
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentTo really understand how well eight convertible mulching mowers can perform, Roy Berendsohn skips the neatly trimmed course and heads to rougher land on a Catskills farm in New York State. He runs mowers in wet and dry grass, gauges their convenience and drivability and measures their noise output. Two mowers tie for first-place: the Honda HRX217VKA and the Toro 20332 (which is analogous to the 20333).
4. GreenerChoices.org
May 2011
Lawn Mowers: Green Buying Guide 5/11
by Editors of GreenerChoices.org
Our AssessmentThis site links to comparison tests from ConsumerReports.org to recommend the greenest consumer products. The most ecological lawn mowers, they say, include low emissions and good mulching capabilities. They mention both electric and gas mowers here: Black & Decker SPCM1936, Black & Decker MM875, Toro Super Recycler 20092, Honda HRR216K7VXA, Toro Recycler 20333 and Lehr LM139SP.
5. J.D. Power & Associates
Aug. 30, 2012
2012 Walk-Behind Lawn Mower Satisfaction Report
by Editors of J. D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentIn their 2012 walk-behind lawn mower satisfaction report, editors say that durability and convenience are the two most important factors that contribute to overall satisfaction. Only six brands make their way to the index (down from 10 the year before). John Deere, Toro and Troy-Bilt are the leading brands.
6. J.D. Power & Associates
April 27, 2011
Although Ease of Use Is of Primary Importance in Satisfaction with Lawn Mowers, Fewer than One in 10 Owners Factor It into Their Purchase Decision
by Editors of J. D. Power and Associates
Our Assessment"Although lawn mower ease of use is the most important element contributing to overall satisfaction," say J.D. Power and Associates editors, "more than 90 percent of owners indicate ease of use is not their primary consideration when making their purchase decision." Customers say that how easy a mower is to use, how durable it is and how well it performs are a few of the most important factors in lawn mower satisfaction. Honda tops the list, followed by John Deere, Husqvarna and Snapper.
7. HomeDepot.com
As of June 2013
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com offers a wide variety of lawn mowers, including reel mowers, push lawn mowers and, their most popular type, self-propelled mowers. Hundreds of users provide feedback, many writing detailed lists of pros and cons. Honda, Husqvarna, Toro and Ariens are a few of the brands sold on the site. Reviews from manufacturer websites (including Toro.com) are included in the user comments.
Noise! It Would Take 17 Brill Reel Mowers to Make the Noise of the Quietest Gas Lawnmower
by Editors of PeoplePoweredMachines.com`
Our AssessmentEditors measure the noise level of 18 walk-behind lawn mowers and chart them in order from quietest to loudest. A Brill manual reel mower makes the least amount of noise -- at 55 decibels -- while a self-propelled Husqvarna is the loudest, measuring 82 decibels. The chart doesn't include any of the specific models in this report, but it's a good reference for how much noise to expect from each class of mowers.
9. Lowes.com
As of June 2013
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes.com has a small selection of reel, cordless electric and corded electric lawn mowers, but their biggest selection is gas push mowers. Owners can rate and review lawn mowers here, and Lowes.com summarizes a list of the most common pros and cons for each model.
10. Amazon.com
As of June 2013
Walk-Behind Mowers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com carries a full selection of walk-behind mowers from brands such as Earthwise, Husqvarna, Rotary, Simplicity and Snow Joe. Reviews on battery, corded, gasoline and manual lawn mowers can be found here. Some of the models have more than 100 reviews for a well-rounded critique, and a few have several hundred reviews.
11. MowersDirect.com
As of June 2013
Walk Behind Mowers
by Editors of and contributors to MowersDirect.com
Our AssessmentEditors give each mower a letter rating, listing the advantages and unique attributes of each model. Videos are also included for many models showing the equipment in use. Users can also comment on different models here and rate them on a five-star scale. The site lists more than 160 walk-behind mowers of all types by brands such as Husqvarna, Greenworks, Remington, Toro and Honda.
12. Walmart.com
As of June 2013
Lawn Mower Finder
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com carries brands such as Remington, Yard Machines, Fiskars and Murray in their lineup of push, self-propelled and riding lawn mowers. Most have fewer than 50 reviews, but a few popular models have several hundred comments.
13. AceHardware.com
As of June 2013
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to AceHardware.com
Our AssessmentIn addition to riding mowers, lawn mower accessories and replacement blades, AceHardware.com carries a small selection of walk-behind mowers. Most models have no more than two dozen reviews. Husqvarna, Poulan, Earthwise, Black & Decker, Scotts and Fiskars are among the many brands offered here.
14. Sears.com
As of June 2013
Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com includes a helpful guide to narrow down lawn mower options based on how many hills and obstacles are on your lawn, what type of power source you want, engine brand and CARB-certified. Only a handful of models have more than 50 user reviews. The top brands on this site are Craftsman, Black & Decker and Earthwise.
15. 10rate.com
Not dated
Best Push Mowers
by Steve Holdgren
Our AssessmentStemming from a company that creates white papers on electronics and appliances, testers at 10Rate.com use hands-on experience, owner reviews and model specifications to assemble top-10 lists on home, sports and garden products. For the list of the 10 best push mowers, reviewer Steve Holdgren considers power, cutting ability in all three modes, versatility and maneuverability in his evaluation of lawn mowers, but he doesn't talk about how he tests each model.
16. CleanAirGardening.com
Not dated
Reel Mower Buyer's Guide
by Editors of CleanAirGardening.com
Our AssessmentThis site walks consumers through deciding if a reel mower fits their lifestyle and property, and how to select the best reel mower for their needs. The difference between manual reel mowers and electric reel mowers is discussed. Only a few models are mentioned specifically, however.
17. BigBlogOfGardening.com
May 2, 2010
Fiskars Momentum Reel Mower Review
by Todd Heft
Our AssessmentTodd Heft talks about sustainable gardening practices and offers tips for home gardeners at his website, BigBlogOfGardening.com. He reviews a few green garden products, including the Fiskars StaySharp Max 6201. Overall he likes the Fiskars but notes that the cut quality isn't quite as comparable as a gas mower and that long grass doesn't get mulched well.
Sponsored Links

Back to top