Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Lawn Tractors: Ratings of Sources

Total of 21 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Lawn Mowers & Tractors
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors at ConsumerReports.org test lawn tractors, wide-deck tractors, zero-turn mowers and rear-engine riders in their latest evaluation of riding mowers and lawn tractors. Each model is field-tested to see how well it cuts, bags and mulches. Comfort, usability and handling are included in each machine's overall score.
2. TodaysMower.com
Not Dated
The Best Lawn, Yard and Garden Tractors For 2014
by Paul Sikkema
Our AssessmentSite author Sikkema owns a large landscaping company and buys, fixes and sells used riding mowers and lawn tractors. His comprehensive guide to investing in a new lawn tractor includes estimates on how long it will take to mow your yard and detailed comparisons of many models. He also discusses many tractors' pros and cons, but doesn't say whether he tests each one.
3. TodaysMower.com
Not dated
The Best Residential and Prosumer Zero-Turns For 2014
by Paul Sikkema
Our AssessmentSite author Sikkema owns a large landscaping company and buys, fixes and sells used riding mowers and lawn tractors. His comprehensive guide to investing in a new lawn tractor includes estimates on how long it will take to mow your yard and detailed comparisons of many models. He also discusses many tractors' pros and cons, but doesn't say whether he tests each one.
4. Mother Earth News
April/May 2013
Best Zero-Turn Mowers
by Bryan Welch
Our AssessmentMother Earth News rates 27 zero-turn lawn mowers on a one-to-five scale in several categories: comfort, ease of use, handling and vibration. It also notes noise level and fuel consumption. The list is skewed toward more expensive, commercial-grade mowers, but models were tested by 14 suburban and rural reviewers with "significant lawns."
5. PopularMechanics.com
Not dated
Tool Test: 4 Riding Lawnmowers Under $2000
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentPopular Mechanics testers evaluate four lawn tractors costing less than $2,000 to see whether one is both affordable and respectable. They compare the John Deere D110, Craftsman YT3000, Cub Cadet LTX 1045 and Husqvarna YTH21K46.
6. PopularMechanics.com
Not dated
Tool Test: We Take 6 Zero-Turn Mowers for a Spin
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentPopular Mechanics testers evaluate and rank six zero-turn mowers on a one- to five-star scale, noting "likes" and "dislikes" for each model. They evaluate the Ariens Zoom 42, Cub Cadet RZT S, John Deere Z235, Husqvarna RZ4623, Snapper 200Z and Toro TimeCutter SS4235.
7. Lowes.com
As of April 2014
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowe's lists full specs for the riding lawn mowers and zero-turn tractors it sells on its website, and consumers can rate and review the different models. Brands include John Deere, Swisher, Husqvarna and Troy-Bilt brands. Lowes.com includes some reviews from manufacturer websites like Deere.com.
8. HomeDepot.com
As of April 2014
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com posts owner reviews and ratings on lawn tractors and zero-turn mowers from brands such as John Deere, Cub Cadet, Swisher and Ariens. The site includes a convenient selection guide based on the size of your property. Reviewers range from beginners purchasing their first lawn tractor to seasoned pros who spend many hours mowing.
9. MowersDirect.com
As of April 2014
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Editors and contributors to MowersDirect.com
Our AssessmentMowersDirect.com sells walk-behind mowers, riding mowers and other lawn-care products. The site carries nearly 200 different lawn tractors, zero-turn mowers and garden tractors, and each product listing provides specs, details on features and a rating. In addition to a review from house expert Jose Castellanos, this site includes feedback from consumers.
10. Husqvarna.com
As of April 2014
Products for Homeowners
by Contributors to Husqvarna.com
Our AssessmentHusqvarna allows prospective owners to easily compare its mowers side by side, and consumers can rank each one on a five-star scale overall and for power, durability, ergonomics, performance and value. Reviews often note specific pros and cons too.
11. Deere.com
As of April 2014
Riding Mowers
by Contributors to Deere.com
Our AssessmentYou can't easily compare products side by side at Deere.com, but you can see the average consumer score for each model after clicking on the page. Along with comments, Deere.com posts include length of ownership, usage frequency and level of expertise.
12. Garden Dad
Not Dated
Best Garden Products
by Frank Lowery
Our AssessmentLawn and garden aficionado Lowery includes detailed reviews on his site, including several for riding lawn mowers and zero-turn mowers. He rates each on a one- to five-star scale, taking into account criteria such as engine power, cutting height, deck size and maneuverability. His reviews include pros and cons, but it's not clear whether he personally tested each model. He also picks three "best of" models in each category.
13. GearPatrol.com
May 8, 2013
Blade Runners: 5 Great Riding Mowers for Under $2K
by Scott Packard
Our AssessmentThis roundup praises five riding lawn mowers under $2000, christening them "best" in several categories: best entry-level, best big cropper, most compact, best high mobility conventional, best "green machine" and best for starting your own yard maintenance business. The reviews note pros and cons, but it's not clear whether any testing was done.
14. 10rate.com
Not Dated
Best Riding Lawnmowers
by Jon Bannister
Our Assessment10Rate ranks riding lawn mowers based on factors including ease of use, comfort, turning radius, cutting path, motor power, quality of ride, speed and deck height. It offers useful "quick specs" and more thorough reviews, also designating favorite picks for quality, value and budget. Reviews note pros and cons and are comparative, but it's not clear if testing was performed.
15. TractorReview.com
As of April 2014
Tractor Review
by Contributors to Tractor-Review.com
Our AssessmentTractor-Review.com combines a detailed description of lawn tractors with consumer reviews that include specific rankings of performance, reliability, safety and overall satisfaction. The site also includes helpful brand overviews.
16. Tools in Action
June 18, 2013
John Deere Z235 Zero Turn Mower
by Dan Maxey
Our AssessmentRun by several bloggers with experience in the construction industry, Tools in Action includes a wide range of thorough reviews of riding lawn mowers, including the John Deere Z235 Zero Turn Mower. The reviews are based on firsthand experience, including pros and cons. Most are accompanied by video and several pictures.
17. Sears.com
As of April 2013
Riding Mowers & Tractors
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com publishes owner ratings and reviews of the lawn tractors, garden tractors, zero-turn mowers and rear-engine riding mowers sold here. They offer mowers by Craftsman, Stanley and Recharge Mower, and several models accumulate enough reviews to make ratings credible.
18. SheKnows.com
April 18, 2012
Top 5 Riding Mowers
by Kori Ellis
Our AssessmentEllis picks five lawn tractors for inclusion on this best-of roundup, which includes mowers at a variety of price points. But it's unclear how the picks were made or whether any testing was done. The short reviews, while informative, are also uniformly positive.
19. Bestcovery.com
Aug. 1, 2013
Best Lawn Mower
by "Dale Y."
Our AssessmentBestcovery makes five picks in several lawn-mower categories, including best zero-turn and lawn tractor. The short reviews are informative, but often are not comparative and do not note many cons, if any, for each model. The product guide "expert" chooses top picks, and runners up are based on user reviews from around the web.
20. YouTube.com
As of April 2014
Lawn Tractor Reviews
by Contributors to YouTube
Our AssessmentVideo product reviews are especially informative for products with lots of controls such as lawn tractors. Experts and consumers frequently post demonstrations of particular models, including the Ariens 42 inch 17.5 HP 6-speed and Craftsman 420 cc 30-inch 6-speed Rear Engine. The reviews vary widely in their level of scrutiny. Still, they can be a helpful way to visualize a particular model if prospective buyers can't see it in a store.
21. Tool-Rank.com
Not Dated
Mowers
by Editors of Tool-Rank.com
Our AssessmentTool-Rank.com includes news and reviews of lawn and garden products, including the Ariens 42 inch 17.5 HP 6-speed. It is run by a carpenter who works at "some of the top resorts" in California who tests many of the products featured on the website, though it's unclear whether he tested the Ariens.

Lawn Tractors Runners Up:

John Deere D110 Est. $1700

4 picks including: HomeDepot.com, PopularMechanics.com…

Toro TimeCutter SS5000 Est. $3300

2 picks including: HomeDepot.com, ConsumerReports.org…

John Deere Z235 Est. $2500

2 picks including: HomeDepot.com, PopularMechanics.com…

Cub Cadet LTX 1045 Est. $1600

2 picks including: HomeDepot.com, PopularMechanics.com…

Craftsman 420 cc 30-inch 6-speed Rear Engine Est. $1000

1 pick including: Sears.com, YouTube.com…

Sponsored Links

Back to top