Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Lawn Tractors: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Lawn Mowers & Tractors
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentThis is the unabridged review of riding mowers done by ConsumerReports.org. It includes the models just tested as well as those tested in previous seasons, many of which remain current. Lawn tractors, wide-deck tractors, zero-turn mowers and rear-engine riders are rated and ranked against similar models. Each model is field-tested to see how well it cuts, bags and mulches. Comfort, usability and handling are included in each machine's overall score.
2. ConsumerReports.org
Apr. 23, 2015
Pick the best riding mower for your property
by Ed Perratore
Our AssessmentThis article, which is free even for non-subscribers, provides the top-line results from ConsumerReports.org's latest round of lawn tractor testing. Top tractors, top riding mowers with wider decks, and the best zero-turn mowers are named. Links are provided to full reviews, but those do require a subscription.
3. TodaysMower.com
Mar. 15, 2015
The Best Lawn, Yard and Garden Tractors For 2015
by Paul Sikkema
Our AssessmentSite author Paul Sikkema owns a large landscaping company and buys, fixes and sells used riding mowers and lawn tractors. His comprehensive guide to investing in a new lawn tractor includes estimates on how long it will take to mow your yard and detailed comparisons of many models. He also discusses many tractors' pros and cons, but doesn't say whether he tests each one.
4. TodaysMower.com
Not Dated
The Best Residential and Prosumer Zero-Turns For 2015
by Paul Sikkema
Our AssessmentHere, Sikkema offers his take on the top zero-turn mowers. Some reviews are recent, others are older despite the 2015 date. Of note, Sikkema gives special kudos to certain zero-turn mowers from Cub Cadet and Toro because they use a steering wheel rather than a lap bar system for steering -- overcoming some of the biggest drawbacks of typical zero-turn mowers.
5. Popular Mechanics
Mar. 31, 2015
The 5 Best New Lawnmowers
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentPopular Mechanics tests "the best new machines on the market" on the same lawn for an entire mowing season and shares its impressions in a gallery of capsule reviews. Despite the article's title, only three riding mowers are tested, but also included is a tractor they want to test next as well as a self-propelled push mower "For the small of lawn or stout of heart."
6. Lowes.com
As of May 2015
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes.com lets customers leave reviews of products they buy. They provide ratings, list high and low points and add whether or not they would recommend their riding mower to a friend. While many of the reviews are written by Lowes.com users, some are also sourced from the manufacturer's web site and are the same as can be read there -- and on other sites across the Internet.
7. HomeDepot.com
As of May 2015
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com also lets visitors post reviews of lawn tractors they own. The site shares many of the same positives and negatives as Lowes.com -- including the fact that the rating scores and feedback sometimes reflect both reviews left by their own customers as well as those that originally posted on the manufacturer's web site. With that caveat in mind, HomeDepot.com remains useful as a good percentage of reviews are still unique to the site.
8. MowersDirect.com
As of May 2015
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Jose Castellanos and Contributors to MowersDirect.com
Our AssessmentMowersDirect.com sells walk-behind mowers, riding mowers and other lawn-care products. The site carries roughly 500 different lawn tractors and zero-turn mowers and garden tractors, and each product listing provides specs, details on features and a rating. Though there are typically fewer user reviews for specific models than seen at HomeDepot.com or Lowes.com, all look to be unique to the site. In addition, some models receive a review and rating from house expert Jose Castellanos.
9. Sears.com
As of May 2015
Riding Mowers & Tractors
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com publishes owner ratings and reviews of the lawn tractors, garden tractors, zero-turn mowers and rear-engine riding mowers sold here. Most models receive little feedback, but others attract dozens and sometimes over 100 reviews. Though there are better places to find reviews of other brands, Sears.com is a must-check resource for reviews of Craftsman riding mowers and lawn tractors.
10. Deere.com
As of May 2015
Riding Mowers
by Contributors to Deere.com
Our AssessmentJohn Deere tractors are mainly sold through dealers that don't conduct business online, so Deere.com is helpful in learning about user satisfaction with the company's riding mowers. You can't easily compare products side by side here, but you can see the average consumer score for each model after clicking on the page. Along with comments, Deere.com posts include length of ownership, usage frequency and level of expertise. There's enough negative feedback to ensure that comments aren't being censored, so credibility is on a par with better retail sites that post user reviews.
11. Tractor.com
As of May 2015
Lawn & Garden Tractor Reviews
by Geof Fowler
Our AssessmentTractor.com is a news and review site for all things tractor related, including some lawn and garden tractors. Reviews are hands-on, but tend to reflect ergonomics and features rather than cutting performance, and most seem to be relatively positive. Still, if a riding mower you are considering is among those that reviewer Geof Fowler has taken out for a spin, this site is worth a visit to get his knowledgeable first-hand impressions.
12. Amazon.com
As of May 2015
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is a great resource for most products, but it's not a prime destination for those looking for riding mowers and lawn tractors. That said, there are a few lawn tractors with at least a little feedback in the Riding Lawn Mowers category, along with a lot of tractor accessories and some push mowers that come along for the ride somehow. Still, it might be worth a look here to see if a lawn tractor you are considering has some feedback. On the plus side, the reviews that are posted here tend to be longer and more detailed then what we typically see elsewhere.
13. 10rate.com
Not Dated
Best Riding Lawnmowers
by Jon Bannister
Our Assessment10Rate ranks riding lawn mowers based on factors including ease of use, comfort, turning radius, cutting path, motor power, quality of ride, speed and deck height. It offers useful "quick specs" and more thorough reviews, also designating favorite picks for quality, value and budget. Reviews note pros and cons and are comparative, but it's not clear if testing was performed.
Sponsored Links

Back to top