Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Lawn Tractors: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Lawn Mowers & Tractors
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors at ConsumerReports.org test lawn tractors, wide deck tractors, zero-turn mowers and rear-engine riders in their latest evaluation of riding mowers and lawn tractors. Each model is field-tested to see how well it cuts, bags and mulches. Comfort, usability and handling are included in each machine's overall score.
2. TodaysMower.com
As of May 2013
Buying a New Tractor Archive
by Paul Sikkema
Our AssessmentSite author Sikkema owns a large landscaping company, and buys, fixes and sells used riding mowers and lawn tractors. His comprehensive guide to investing in a new lawn tractor includes estimates on how long it will take to mow your yard and detailed comparisons of many models. He also discusses many tractors' pros and cons, but doesn't say whether he tests each one. He frequently tells readers, "It's not which mower I think is the best, it's which mower is best for you."
3. PopularMechanics.com
Not dated
Tool Test: 4 Riding Lawnmowers Under $2000
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentPopular Mechanics testers evaluate four lawn tractors costing less than $2,000 to see if one of them is both affordable and respectable. They compare the John Deere D110, Craftsman YT3000, Cub Cadet LTX 1045 and Husqvarna YTH21K46.
4. Lowes.com
As of May 2013
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowe's lists full specs for the riding lawn mowers and zero-turn tractors it sells on its website, and consumers can rate and review the different models. Mowers range in price from $1,000 to $5,000 and include John Deere, Swisher, Husqvarna and Troy-Bilt brands. Lowes.com includes some reviews from manufacturer websites like Deere.com.
5. HomeDepot.com
As of May 2013
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com posts owner reviews and ratings on lawn tractors and zero-turn mowers from brands such as John Deere, Cub Cadet, Swisher and Ariens. The site includes a convenient selection guide based on the size of your property. Reviewers range from beginners purchasing their first lawn tractor to seasoned pros that spend many hours mowing.
6. MowersDirect.com
As of May 2013
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Editors and contributors to MowersDirect.com
Our AssessmentMowersDirect.com sells walk-behind mowers, riding mowers and other lawn care products. The site carries nearly 200 different lawn tractors, zero-turn mowers and garden tractors, and each product listing provides specs, details on features and a rating. In addition to a review from house expert Jose Castellanos, this site includes feedback from consumers.
7. Deere.com
As of May 2013
Riding Mowers
by Contributors to Deere.com
Our AssessmentYou can't easily compare products side by side at Deere.com, but you can see the average consumer score for each model after clicking on the page. Along with comments, Deere.com posts include length of ownership, usage frequency and level of expertise.
8. Sears.com
As of May 2013
Riding Mowers & Tractors
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com publishes owner ratings and reviews of the lawn tractors, garden tractors, zero-turn mowers and rear-end riding mowers sold here. They offer mowers by Craftsman, Stanley and Recharge Mower, and several models accumulate enough reviews to make ratings quite credible.
9. The Telegraph (U.K.)
April 20, 2007
Best Ride-On Mowers (To Help the Llama)
by Jean Vernon
Our AssessmentThis excellent but dated review compares five lawn tractors, all of which meet stringent European Union requirements for emissions based on tests using a 4-acre lawn. In addition to pros and cons for each lawn tractor, the write-up rates each one for performance, convenience and value. It's the first review we've found that also evaluates each machine for its green credentials. Only one lawn tractor, the John Deere X304, is available in the U.S.
10. Amazon.com
As of May 2013
Riding Lawn Mowers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com lists more than 100 different lawn tractors, riding mowers and zero-turn mowers, but only a few get more than a handful of consumer reviews. About two-dozen brands are represented, including Husqvarna, Poulan, Simplicity, Snapper and Swisher.
11. Capper's
January-February 2011
Capper's Guide to Little Tractors: Miniature Machines Available in a Wide Range of Capability and Price
by Oscar H. Will, III
Our AssessmentWill discusses the differences between lawn tractors, garden tractors and subcompact tractors. Although he doesn't recommend specific models, he explains how to pick the best type of tractor for your needs.
Sponsored Links

Back to top