Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

LCD Monitors: Ratings of Sources

Total of 18 Sources
1. PCMag.com
As of April 2013
Monitors
by John Delaney
Our AssessmentPCMag.com's reviews are well done and based on appropriate testing. The write-ups concentrate on entertainment performance and features, though other aspects of usage like text quality are also addressed. A number of accessories, including color calibration devices, are mixed in with the listings, cluttering things up. Several recently tested monitors score high enough to earn Editors' Choice awards.
2. CNET
Feb. 15, 2013
Best Monitors
by Eric Franklin
Our AssessmentCNET reviews lots of LCD monitors, with top choices winding up in this list. Test results are published with results for other monitors, though models chosen for comparison are not always appropriate. Ratings are provided, and top performers earn Editors' Choice awards. Reviews are easy to read, but they focus more on gaming and entertainment performance than on professional or office use, though text quality is usually addressed.
3. Government Computer News
As of April 2013
LCD Monitors
by Editors of Government Computer News
Our AssessmentGovernment Computer News tests a fair number of LCD monitors, but finding them on this site can be a chore; searching for reviews is often the most effective approach. On the plus side, testing is objective and includes text quality. Brightness uniformity is also a focus. The NEC MultiSync EA232WMi-BK earns a stellar review, and the ViewSonic VA2451m-TAA scores a Reviewer's Choice award.
4. TFT Central
As of April 2013
TFT Central Reviews
by Simon Baker
Our AssessmentTFT Central is a British website with excellent professional reviews of monitors. Testing and documentation are exceptional, but they could be a little too technical for some readers. All aspects of usage are evaluated, including office use, which few other reviewers adequately address. Balance and objectivity are very good. The site does not rank or rate monitors but the best monitors for gaming, professional use, general use and value are reasonably easy to identify, and each review typically references a couple of other models. However, not all of the monitors covered are available in the U.S.
5. MaximumPC.com
As of April 2013
Monitors
by Editors of Maximum PC
Our AssessmentMaximum PC monitor reviews are not the longest around, but they are testing based and otherwise well written and useful. Each monitor receives a rating of 1 to 10, along with a list of pros and cons. Some of the reviews are relatively harsh, which makes Maximum PC a good source for finding negatives that other reviewers may have missed or glossed over.
6. Bit-tech.net
As of April 2013
Monitors
by Editors of Bit-tech.net
Our AssessmentU.K. tech site Bit-tech.net provides excellent reviews, with one significant weakness: The site is oriented toward gamers (as are ratings), and text quality is largely ignored. Otherwise, LCD monitor reviews are testing based, and ratings are provided. The site doesn't have many recent reviews, however, and the latest LCD monitors tested earn good, but not great, ratings.
7. Macworld
As of April 2013
Monitors
by Editors of Macworld.com
Our AssessmentMacworld's reviews are comparable in testing to those found in other mainstream publications and websites, but the reviews themselves can be short. Given its Apple-centric coverage, it's no surprise that Mac compatibility is addressed, as is overall performance and image quality.
8. HotHardware.com
As of April 2013
Graphics/Sound
by Editors of HotHardware.com
Our AssessmentHotHardware.com's reviews are fairly good despite a few flaws. Testing is comprehensive, and subjective analysis includes gaming, movies and general usage. The major limitation is the relatively small number of monitors covered. In addition, the quality of the reviews is inconsistent, and LCD monitor reviews are mixed in with other types of hardware.
9. ConsumerReports.org
As of April 2013
Monitors
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org evaluates lots of monitors, ranging in size from 19 to 26 inches. Many receive Recommended status, and a few rise above to be named as Best Buys. While new monitors have been added, a number of discontinued but still-available monitors remain on the list. Discussion is very brief compared to most other reviewers.
10. PCPro.co.uk
As of April 2013
Monitor Reviews
by
Our AssessmentBritain's PC Pro has lots of reviews of LCD monitors; however, many of the ones that are highly rated are not sold in the U.S. Reviews are relatively short and not comparative, although models are put in context with their competitors. Ratings are given on a scale of 1 to 6. Top-rated monitors score a Recommended award, with the very best making it to the PC Pro A List.
11. Anandtech.com
As of April 2013
Untitled
by Editors of AnandTech.com
Our AssessmentAnandTech.com reviews a good number of monitors, though its very detailed reviews might be most appreciated by those with a highly technical bent. Testing and discussion are both exhaustive. However, while opinions are offered, monitors are neither rated nor ranked, and editor recommendations are sometimes unclear.
12. XBitLabs.com
As of April 2013
LCD Monitor Reviews
by Oleg Artamonov
Our AssessmentX-bitLabs.com was once a top source for LCD Monitor reviews, but it has not posted a new report in more than a year. That's a shame, as the site's monitor reviews are extremely detailed, including comprehensive test data and tons of technical information, though they also can be a challenge to read for those without a high level of technical knowledge. Several of the reviewed monitors remain available. A relatively recent roundup of Dell monitors picks several winners.
13. PCMonitors.org
As of April 2013
Monitor Reviews
by Adam Simmons
Our AssessmentPCMonitors.info's extensive reviews of LCD monitors can be a bit daunting in their technical detail, but if you can wade through the statistics and graphics that accompany each piece, you'll have a good idea of the specific strengths and weaknesses of each display. This U.K. site also helpfully highlights the standout specifications of each model. Each monitor is given a numeric rating, and the editors are not afraid to hand out low scores.
14. NewEgg.com
As of April 2013
LCD Monitors
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentNewegg.com lets customers post opinions about monitors they have purchased. The Asus VH236H has the most reviews and the highest overall rating among the many monitors with hundreds of reviews. The Asus VH236H and Asus VH232H are also given Customer Choice awards.
15. Amazon.com
As of April 2013
Monitors
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is a good source for customer reviews of many products -- but not necessarily of LCD monitors. Some LCD monitors receive plenty of reviews, though ratings scores are similar. We found no consistency among user complaints with any monitor.
16. TrustedReviews.com
As of April 2013
Monitor Reviews
by Editors of TrustedReviews.com
Our AssessmentReviews here are generally well done, but there are some drawbacks. Comparisons are infrequent, and too little attention is paid to text quality. Monitors are rated on a scale of 1 to 10 with subcategory ratings for design and features, image quality and value. Those monitors that score an overall rating of 8 or better earn Recommended status, and most here qualify. However, those few with the best reviews or identified as best in their class generally are not available in the U.S.
17. TopTenReviews.com
As of April 2013
2013 Best Computer Monitor Comparisons and Reviews
by Editors of TopTenReviews.com
Our AssessmentReviews on this site are somewhat cursory, but they do compare current models with each other and are very clear on the points that propel their favorites to the top. However, it is not clear if any hands-on testing is done or if evaluations are based on features, specifications and expected performance. Interactive comparisons and specifications tables do make it easier to see by-the-numbers differences among competing LCD monitors.
18. Tweaknews.net
As of April 2013
Computer Monitor & Display Reviews
by Nathan Glentworth
Our AssessmentTweakNews.net primarily reviews Samsung LCD monitors, which limits this site's usefulness. Reviewer Nathan Glentworth also doesn't provide enough substantive information, though he says at the end of several reviews that he may "go out and purchase one" for himself. Still, if you have settled on a Samsung LCD monitor, this site is worth checking, as it contains a lot of product images and specification info.

LCD Monitors Runners Up:

Dell UltraSharp U3011 *Est. $1,085

7 picks including: Anandtech.com, CNET…

HP DreamColor LP2480zx *Est. $2,250

2 picks including: CNET, TrustedReviews.com…

image
Dell UltraSharp U3011 30" Monitor
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $1,299.99   
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top