Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

See Also

Leaf Blowers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Leaf Blowers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors test nearly 60 leaf blowers -- including electric-handheld, gas-handheld, gas-wheeled and gas-backpack models -- on their ability to sweep leaves, remove embedded leaf particles from the lawn, and vacuum up and mulch dry leaves. Handling, noise at 50 feet and noise at ear level are also part of each blower's final score. Ultimately, nearly 30 models earn recommendations, and around a dozen are also good enough values to earn Best Buy status. The section also includes a buyer's guide and some user comments.
2. TheSweetHome.com
May 27, 2015
The Best Leaf Blowers
by Doug Mahoney
Our AssessmentTheSweetHome.com surveys the leaf blower marketplace, looks at likely good performers, then narrows down recommendations based on its own testing. A top model is named, as are good alternate choices including gas, electric, battery and backpack models. Testing is well documented, and discussion is lengthy, including why certain models fall short compared to other choices.
3. Popular Mechanics
Not Dated
Backpack Leaf Blower Comparison Test
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentEditors of Popular Mechanics conduct a thorough, two-phase test of seven backpack blowers. Testing is hands on, and while likes and dislikes are noted, details are limited. The article also includes a list of desirable features for a backpack blower and features a discussion about two-stroke versus four-stroke engines.
4. Amazon.com
As of September 2015
Leaf Blowers & Vacuums
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells hundreds gas, battery-powered and corded electric leaf blowers from dozens of manufacturers, with several receiving hundreds of reviews. Reviews tend to be longer than found at other user-review sites, and some are updated to reflect the owner's experience after months and sometimes a year or more of usage. One caveat is that some reviews are of products that the owner received for free in exchange for posting feedback.
5. HomeDepot.com
As of September 2015
Leaf Blowers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com offers over 100 leaf blowers, including commercial-grade units and large walk-behind models as well as handheld and backpack styles for consumers. Reviews, while brief, include sub-ratings for features, quality, ease of use and value. While many reviews from the site's own users are found, some were originally posted on manufacturer websites.
6. Lowes.com
As of September 2015
Leaf Blowers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentThere are fewer leaf blowers listed at Lowes.com than at HomeDepot.com, but at more than 40 models, there's still plenty of selection among corded and cordless electric, and hand-held and backpack gas blowers. Many blowers get ample feedback, sometimes into the hundreds, but some of that includes reviews originally written and posted at manufacturer web sites and the same reviews can also be read at other retailers -- including HomeDepot.com.
7. LeafBlowersDirect.com
As of September 2015
Leaf Blowers
by Marissa Munoz
Our AssessmentOn this retail and review site, product expert Marissa Munoz provides evaluations and recommendations, naming good, better and best choices among the various types, although there's no mention of how or whether she personally tests each model. Owners can post ratings and reviews, too. Most blowers get only a handful of reviews, but some get over 100. Reviews are exclusively from LeafBlowersDirect.com's own customers, many of which have been verified as actually owning the leaf blower in question. The site also includes buying guides for different types of blowers and information to help consumers understand the benefits of various leaf-blower features.
8. ProToolReviews.com
As of September 2015
by Editors of ProToolReviews.com
Our AssessmentProToolReviews.com looks at a variety of tools for homeowners and landscaping professionals in single product reviews and occasional product round ups, including leaf blowers. Reviews vary in depth and detail, but are largely based on hands-on testing. Ratings are sometimes offered, other times not, and no "best" leaf blower is named, but opinions about individual models are generally clear.
9. Popular Mechanics
Not Dated
Which Leaf Blower Is the Best? We Test 8 to Find Out
by Roy Berendsohn and Scott Jones
Our AssessmentEditors of Popular Mechanics test eight models, although few details are given regarding the testing methodology. Still, likes and dislikes are clearly spelled out, and ratings are provided. One caveat is that this article appears to be a little older, and some of the tested models are no longer available.
10. Sears.com
As of September 2015
All Blowers
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentBoth electric and gas leaf blowers are available at Sears.com. Most don't get a ton of feedback, but others draw much more -- up to nearly 325 reviews in the case of one Craftsman model. While other brands are offered, Sears.com is an especially good destination to check out for those considering a Craftsman leaf blower.
11. Walmart.com
As of September 2015
Leaf Blowers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com might not be the first place many think of for leaf blowers, but the site lists a good assortment of homeowner-grade blowers, including many electric and cordless models. Reviews aren't long, but owners can rate their blowers and say whether or not they would recommend it to a friend. Many models only get a handful of ratings, but others get dozens and even hundreds.
12. This Old House
Not Dated
TOH Tested: Leaf Blowers
by Sal Vaglica
Our AssessmentThis Old House magazine evaluates 10 blowers -- rating each on performance, balance and comfort -- although the article is vague regarding how the models are tested. Sal Vaglica also discusses the pros and cons of different blower types. Specs for each tested model are listed. Though this article appears to be older, many of the blowers -- or very similar models -- remain available.
Sponsored Links

Back to top