Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Lipstick: Ratings of Sources

Total of 22 Sources
1. Beautypedia.com
As of April 2012
Lipstick Reviews
by Paula Begoun
Our AssessmentPaula Begoun extensively reviews thousands of beauty products at her subscription-based website. Using scientific research she examines the ingredients of various lipsticks and other beauty items and separates what works from what doesn't. She also points out products that could be harmful to your skin. All products receive an excellent, very good, average or poor rating. Those rated "excellent" are considered Paula's Picks and come highly recommended. Begoun emphasizes that there are plenty of affordable lipsticks at the drugstore that work just as well as or better than those at department stores. A smaller portion of free reviews can be read at her other website, CosmeticsCop.com, or by purchasing Begoun's book "Don't Go to the Cosmetics Counter Without Me."
2. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Long Live Your Lipstick!
by Editors of Good Housekeeping magazine
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping staffers test five brands of long-lasting lipsticks and compare them to a standard lipstick. Each brand is put through a typical day of wear that includes eating, blotting and kissing. The lipsticks are rated for comfort, ease of application and for how long they lasted. CoverGirl Outlast All-Day Lipcolor lasted the longest -- for eight hours. Revlon ColorStay Overtime Lipcolor and Max Factor Lipfinity lasted for seven hours each.
3. MakeupAlley.com
As of April 2012
Lips
by Contributors to MakeupAlley.com
Our AssessmentRegistered users post ratings and reviews of various beauty products at MakeupAlley.com. There are thousands of lip products listed under gloss, liner, treatment and lipstick categories. While most of them receive hundreds of reviews, a large portion of them is rated differently from one shade to the next, something that tends to be very subjective depending on skin tone and personal preference. That being said, MAC lipsticks get high ratings in virtually every shade with Viva Glam V, Russian Red, O and Myth being among the most popular. MAC, Revlon, Chanel and C.O. Bigelow lip glosses all rate highly as well.
4. TotalBeauty.com
As of April 2012
Lipstick Reviews
by Contributors to TotalBeauty.com
Our AssessmentMembers of TotalBeauty.com review beauty products and rate them on a scale of one to 10. TotalBeauty editors also rate products, but not nearly as many as readers do. For example, more than 100 readers give MAC lipstick a very high overall rating, but editors don't review it at all. Other top-rated lipsticks include Nars Lipstick and Clinique Almost Lipstick. YOYO Lip Gloss Minis and Chanel Glossimer take the lead for lip glosses.
5. ConsumerReports.org
July 2008
A Kiss for Lasting Lip Color
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org tests four long-lasting lip colors against claims of lasting up to 16 hours. Editors find that drugstore brands are just as effective as department store brands but claim that all can be drying on the lips.
6. Allure
Oct. 2011
Best of Beauty 2011: Lips
by Editors of Allure
Our AssessmentEditors of Allure magazine test thousands of beauty products for their annual beauty awards. More than 230 products make the winning list, including several lipsticks and lip products. Most lipsticks are chosen for their color, but products from Nars, Yves Saint Laurent, Maybelline and Cle de Peau Beaute all make the cut based on long-lasting formulas, texture and overall appearance.
7. InStyle
May 2011
Best Beauty Buys 2011: Lips
by Editors of InStyle magazine
Our AssessmentAfter months of testing, InStyle magazine lists the 150 top beauty products for its 16th annual beauty awards. Makeup, hair, skin care and nail products are chosen. Six lip products make the list, although most of them are chosen only for a specific shade. Chanel Glossimer and MAC Pro Longwear have both made the list in previous years.
8. Natural Health
Not Dated
Beauty Award Winners 2011
by Editors of Natural Health magazine
Our AssessmentEditors test hundreds of beauty products based on readers' picks and list their overall favorites for the seventh annual Natural Health Beauty Awards. 25 winning products are chosen, all of which have "natural elements." Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm is the only tinted lip product to make the list.
9. Self Magazine
May 2011
Healthy Beauty Awards 2011: Makeup
by Editors of Self magazine
Our AssessmentMore than 2,200 readers test 1,187 products for Self magazine's annual beauty awards; 85 products are chosen, one for each category. Six lip products make the list: a lip pencil from Nars, lip gloss from Make Up For Ever, lip balm from CoverGirl, lip tint from Burt's Bees, lip conditioner from Thermal Avene and lipstick from Clinique.
10. Shape magazine
Sept. 2011
Shape Beauty Awards 2011: Must-Have Makeup
by Carly Cardellino
Our AssessmentShape editors test the latest beauty products in conjunction with their annual beauty awards. A total of 56 products in five categories are chosen as winners. Lipstick, lip gloss and lip balm from Chanel, Bare Escentuals and CoverGirl are included in the list.
11. TruthInAging.com
Not Dated
Makeup: Lips
by Editors of TruthInAging.com
Our AssessmentEditors of TruthInAging.com scrutinize every ingredient of beauty products in order to determine whether they are safe to use. Those that pass the ingredient test are then tested to determine if they live up to their claims or cause any harm. Several products are "reviewed and recommended" in various categories and the website is regularly updated with new recommendations. The most recent lip products to be "recommended" include RMS Beauty Lip Shine, BITE Luminous Creme Lipstick and Kaplan MD Lip 20 Gloss.
12. Health Magazine
Not Dated
Health Beauty Awards 2011: Get Ready to Get Gorgeous
by Editors of Health magazine
Our AssessmentA panel of professionals (a dermatologist, hair stylist and makeup artist) chooses 26 winners for Health's 2011 annual beauty awards. Several products are chosen in the categories of skincare, makeup, body care and hair care. Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm is the only lip product to make the list. It isn't clear how many products were tested.
2011 Beauty Awards: Winners
by Editors of CEW.org
Our AssessmentEvery year Cosmetic Executive Women, an organization of beauty professionals, chooses winning beauty products for their innovation and promise. For 2011, 26 products are chosen, two for each category. Both L'Oréal Paris Infallible Le Rouge and Fresh Sugar Plum Tinted Lip Treatment SPF 15 win in the lip product category.
14. RealBeauty.com
Not Dated
Real Beauty's Ultimate Lipstick Challenge
by Editors of RealBeauty.com
Our AssessmentRealBeauty.com editors test 137 lipstick shades to find nude, pink, berry, brown and red shades that work for every skin tone. The five most universal shades are listed, along with pictures of the lip color on eight women with different skin tones. Lipsticks aren't rated or compared and non-winning shades aren't mentioned.
15. TotalBeauty.com
Not Dated
3 Lipsticks that Work on Every Woman
by Editors of TotalBeauty.com
Our AssessmentEditors of TotalBeauty.com compare three universal lips shades (light pink, coral and wine red) on four women with different skin tones. Shades appear bold on some women and neutral on others but they play up various features on each of them. Editors also offer suggestions for toning shades down. The lipsticks tested include Prestige Lipstick in Passion, Maybelline Color Sensational in Coral Lustre and Two Faced Lip of Luxury in Drop Dead Red.
16. About.com
As of April 2012
Best Lip Gloss
by Julyne Derrick
Our AssessmentJulyne Derrick, About.com's guide to beauty, lists 17 lip glosses that she calls the "most popular on the market." Most of the glosses listed here earn praise for their long-lasting formulas. Purple Labs "Huge Lips, Skinny Hips" is one of Derrick's personal favorites because it "tastes great and stays on for hours." Products listed are not rated or compared to others. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
17. About.com
Not Dated
Your Lipstick Bucket List
by Faith Lawless
Our AssessmentFaith Lawless, About.com's makeup guide, recommends six luxury lipstick brands worth trying at least once. Most of the brands listed have designer details like mirrored cases and spiral-shaped lipstick. Lawless says that Guerlain Rouge G de Guerlain Lipcolor is one of her favorites, but it appears that she has tested most, if not all, of them. None of the lipsticks, however, are ranked or compared. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
18. Prevention Magazine
Nov. 2008
Chapped Lips Solution
by Bobbi Brown
Our AssessmentGuest columnist and beauty mogul Bobbi Brown recommends exfoliating lips both night and morning by rubbing in a circular motion with a damp washcloth to keep them looking their best. She suggests using creamy lipsticks or glosses to soothe and disguise chapped lips. Recommended products include Avon Glazewear Liquid Lip Color, Sally Hansen Natural Beauty Inspired by Carmindy Color Comfort Lip Color and Bobbi Brown Creamy Lip Color. Brown also suggests protecting lips with a lip balm that has SPF 15 or higher, such as Nivea A Kiss of Protection Sun Protection Lip Care SPF 30.
19. About.com
Not dated
Top 10 Red Lipstick Splurges and Steals
by Faith Lawless
Our AssessmentFaith Lawless, About.com's guide to makeup, lists five lipstick "splurges" and five "steals," all in a shade of red. It's not clear how products are chosen and they aren't ranked or compared to each other. We would also like to see recommendations as to which skin tones can wear the shades recommended. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
20. Amazon.com
As of April 2012
Lip Makeup
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere aren't a lot of reviews posted for lip products at Amazon.com, even though more than 2,000 products are listed for sale. Still, a handful of them get more than a 50 reviews and serve as a good basis for user opinion, especially when combined with those posted at beauty review sites such as TotalBeauty.com and MakeupAlley.com.
21. YouTube.com
Feb. 24, 2011
Review: Maybelline Colour Sensational Lipstick
by "PBunnieP"
Our AssessmentIn this lengthy YouTube video review, "PBunnieP" discusses Maybelline Color Sensational lipstick in great detail. She likes the smooth texture of the lipstick and says that the colors look identical on the lips to the shade in the tube. She wishes that there were a greater variety of pale shades and she says that the smell isn't great because the lipstick isn't fragranced.
22. Allure
Oct. 2007
A Green Slate
by Jolene Edgar
Our AssessmentAllure magazine discusses the emerging trend of natural and organic cosmetics. The author, Jolene Edgar, defines the difference between "natural," "organic" and "certified organic" but points out that "natural" is not always better. Allure editors also test several organic products in a blind test, but lipstick was not reviewed.
Sponsored Links

Back to top