Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Luggage Rating Sources

Total of 20 Sources
1. Outside Magazine
May 20, 2013
The Best Luggage of 2013
by Bob Parks
Our AssessmentTesters with Outside magazine worked over more than a dozen "adventure bags," settling on seven favorites as the best of 2013. Each bag receives a mostly positive summary review, and separate scores for durability and performance.
2. Outside Magazine
March 13, 2012
2012 Outside Travel Awards: Best Luggage
by Stephanie Pearson and Kate Siber
Our AssessmentIn this roundup of the best buys in the travel business, Ted Alan Stedman names his top two picks for luggage. The high-end Tumi Ducati Evoluzione International Carry-On is his all-time favorite. His runner-up choice is the Patagonia MLC (short for "maximum legal carry-on"), a convertible carry-on that fits into the smallest airline luggage bins.
3. Outside Magazine
June 1, 2012
The 7 Best Travel Bags of Summer 2012
by Ted Alan Stedman
Our AssessmentAgain, Stedman selects his top picks for travel bags in 2012. None of the models duplicate his picks in the other 2012 article from Outside. Each model receives a brief summary review based on hands-on testing and individual scores for durability and performance.
4. OutdoorGearLab.com
March 29, 2013
The Best Travel Duffel Bags
by Ian Nicholson
Our AssessmentTesters abused these duffel bags, primarily in outdoor or adventure travel settings. They're transparent about their scoring methods, assigning weighted ratings for everything from ease of transport to durability and weather resistance. Although all of these models were "favorites" to begin with, three stand out with perfect 5-star ratings from the editors.
5. Backpacker Magazine
March 2012
Adventure Travel Luggage
by Editors of Backpacker magazine
Our AssessmentThe editors of Backpacker magazine put this luggage through thousands of miles of testing, both indoors and outside. Tester comments play only a limited role in the cursory, mostly positive review each bag receives. We'd rank this source higher if it gave comparative ratings.
6. OneBag.com
Updated Sept. 18, 2013
Choosing a Bag
by Doug Dyment
Our AssessmentTravel expert Doug Dyment runs this site devoted to "the art and science of traveling light." He discusses factors to consider in choosing a bag when that one bag is all you plan to carry, and recommends specific luggage for leisure travel and business travel, as well as dual-purpose luggage that serves both needs well. A long article addresses why Dyment believes wheeled bags are a bad idea.
7. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Luggage Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentTesters at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute evaluate 24 carry-on suitcases for durability, comfort and performance. The bags were dropped from a height of 3 feet, wrenched by the handles and scratched with sharp wire. Testers also pulled wheeled bags through doors and over curbs to test their rolling performance and poured water on them to test their weatherproofing.
8. Wired
As of March 2012
Luggage
by Editors of Wired
Our AssessmentWired, a site better known for its technology coverage, also reviews other products, including luggage, on occasion. Although the pieces of luggage in this list were reviewed at different times, each receives a comparative rating. We've selected those with a rating of at least 8 -- "Excellent, with room to kvetch" -- as the best.
9. Fodors.com
Feb. 26, 2013
Fodor's Approved: Best Checked Luggage
by Nicole Campoy
Our AssessmentThe travel editors of Fodor's tested a variety of checked luggage -- traveling, packing and even touring the subway to choose favorites. Each bag receives a brief summary review that includes tester comments, discussion of both pros and cons and an ultimate verdict. A couple of suitcases draw criticism for their weight, although they're still good enough to make the list of top picks.
10. Fodors.com
Sept. 24, 2012
Fodor's Approved: Best Carry-On Bags
by Carrie Seim
Our AssessmentUndisclosed testers -- presumably Fodor's travel editors -- tested "bins full of bags" to determine the best carry-ons. Each receives a brief review that's peppered with test comments; both positive and negative points are discussed.
11. EBags.com
As of September 2013
Luggage Best of the Best
by Contributors to eBags.com
Our AssessmentMany brands and styles of luggage are sold here, most getting fairly high ratings -- sometimes from hundreds of owners. Cases made by eBags itself receive the highest number of reviews; other popular brands include Baggalini and Samsonite. Standout models have a 4.5-star-or-better rating after at least 100 user reviews.
12. REI.com
As of September 2013
Luggage
by Contributors to REI.com
Our AssessmentThis retailer makes it easy to browse luggage listings, showing not only the overall rating for each bag, but the number of owner-written reviews on which it's based. When you click on a bag to read reviews, the main pros and cons are nicely summarized at the top. Both carry-on and checked baggage are represented; we gleaned those models that receive a rating of at least 4.5 stars after 15 or more user reviews.
13. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
The Best Lightweight Check-in Luggage
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentExperts at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute test 11 bags that are too large to carry on board, but light enough to make it easier to meet new airline weight limits. Tests cover maneuverability, capacity, durability and weight. Recommended are the five bags that pass a handle-strength test; the bags that fail aren't specified. Only one of the top picks, the Briggs & Riley Transcend 24-inch Upright, earns perfect scores for water resistance, durability and fabric abrasion, but its expandable handle sometimes sticks.
14. Fodors.com
June 25, 2008
Carry-on Bag Buyer's Guide: Avoid the New Airline Luggage Fees
by Doug Stallings
Our AssessmentThis travel site recommends four carry-ons (a backpack, a rolling duffel and two wheeled suitcases) but notes that if you only plan to take one or two trips a year, a discount-store carry-on is fine. Though no testing is documented, this is an authoritative source. The review includes useful tips on how to choose a bag to maximize the chances of being able to carry it on.
15. CBSNews.com
Nov. 8, 2010
Best Wheeled-Luggage for Your Budget
by Editors of CBS News
Our AssessmentCBS News Travel Editor Peter Greenberg discusses the most important features to look for in a wheeled bag: a good warranty, sturdy wheels and a convenient shape. It's not clear whether Greenberg has used all these bags personally, nor does he mention any models that didn't make the cut; however, the luggage in question is handled and discussed in the video.
16. San Francisco Chronicle
May 4, 2008
Rating Carry-on Luggage
by John Flinn
Our AssessmentTravel Editor John Flinn does not recommend buying rolling luggage, instead favoring carry-on bags that can convert into backpacks because they're lighter, hold more, are easier to pack and provide better freedom of movement. He recommends several bags based on his personal experience, including the Patagonia MLC, the Rick Steves Convertible Carry-on and the eBags Weekender Convertible.
17. Wired
Oct. 23, 2007
Test: Freeway-Legal Scooters, Top HD Tuners, Tricked-Out Travel Mugs
by Jen Trolio
Our AssessmentThough this older review's title doesn't mention luggage, it includes three rolling suitcases. Each bag is rated on a 10-point scale, with a brief summary of its pros and cons. Only two of the three get Jen Trolio's recommendation. A few stray comments imply that hands-on testing was conducted, although comments are very brief and no details are given about any testing or use.
18. Amazon.com
As of September 2013
Luggage
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentYou'll find thousands of pieces of luggage for sale here from many brands. We've chosen models that received at least a 4.5-star rating after 45 or more user reviews. Luggage sets draw less commentary, perhaps because of their higher price, so we've accepted models with a 4.7-star or better rating after at least 20 reviews or a 4.4-star or better rating after at least 50 reviews.
19. The Early Show
Feb. 11, 2009
With These Bags, You Can Carry On
by Ellen Crean
Our AssessmentIn this segment from CBS News' "The Early Show," Real Simple magazine editor Kris Connell names the best carry-on bags from a test of more than 100. Connell names a winner and runner up in each of four categories: pullmans, duffels, totes and backpacks. However, more than half of the recommended bags are no longer available.
20. Real Simple
Not Dated
The Best Rolling Luggage
by Madaline Sparks
Our AssessmentThis article is described as a "road test" of rolling luggage, but there is no description of the testing methods used. Nine cases are recommended as being best for specific uses, such as short trips or business travel. Descriptions are brief, however, and there's no mention of the cases that didn't make the cut.
Sponsored Links

Back to top