Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Luggage Rating Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. Fodors.com
May 22, 2014
Fodor's Approved: Best Checked Luggage for 2014
by Editors of Fodors.com
Our AssessmentThe travel editors of Fodor's tested a variety of checked luggage -- traveling, packing and even touring the subway to choose favorites. Each bag receives a brief summary review that includes tester comments, discussion of both pros and cons and an ultimate verdict. A couple of suitcases draw criticism for their weight and/or price.
2. OutdoorGearLab.com
Aug. 1, 2014
The Best Carry-On Luggage
by Amanda Fenn
Our AssessmentEleven carry-on size bags (20 to 22-inch) are thoroughly tested in real-world use, including each tester flying with each bag. They were then ranked and rated for features, storage, durability, weight and appearance. Price was also taken into account. The reviews include pros and cons and suggestions for best uses. Videos, photos and a discussion of the specific, real-world attributes of each bag. 
3. SmarterTravel.com
Nov. 30, 2013
10 Best Carry-On Bags for Every Traveler
by Dara Continenza
Our AssessmentThe editors of SmarterTraveler.com tested a variety of bags in various travel situations, ultimately narrowing their selections down to these top 10 carry-on bags. All of the bags are widely available and all cost less than $300. Each review is thorough and includes pros and cons and suggestions for lifestyle uses.
4. PeterGreenberg.com
Dec. 3, 2013
The Best Luggage for 2014
by Peter Greenberg
Our AssessmentPeter Greenberg is a journalist specializing in travel and runs the website PeterGreenberg.com to discuss all things travel-related. Every December, he rounds up the best luggage suggestions for the upcoming year. He does not test them, in fact, some of his suggestions are not yet on the market, but with the speed at which luggage is discontinued and updated, his site is a great way to make a determination on updated models of popular bags.
5. Amazon.com
As of October 2014
Luggage
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere are thousands of pieces of luggage for sale here from a wide variety of manufacturers. A few brands and models that have been around for a while get dozens, or even hundreds, of reviews, but many of the most popular models have been discontinued. They're still widely available, but it's only a matter of time until the supply peters out, and the updated versions don't have a lot of reviews yet.
6. EBags.com
As of October 2014
Luggage
by Contributors to eBags.com
Our AssessmentMany brands and styles of luggage are sold here, most getting fairly high ratings -- sometimes from hundreds of owners. Cases made by eBags itself receive the highest number of reviews; other popular brands include Rockland and Samsonite. Standout models have a 4.5-star-or-better rating after at least 100 user reviews.
7. Walmart.com
As of October 2014
Luggage
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart is a great resource for finding less expensive luggage and luggage sets -- and inexpensive doesn't necessarily mean cheap. Many less-pricey bags get excellent reviews for organizational features and durability. And people who don't travel frequently don't need to pony up for a more expensive bag -- an inexpensive suitcase will do just fine.
8. Macys.com
As of October 2014
Luggage
by Contributors to Macys.com
Our AssessmentMacys.com is another good source for luggage reviews. It carries hundreds of pieces, and has a nice selection of luggage sets, especially from designers like Kenneth Cole and Tommy Hilfiger. Macys.com also carries a lot of Delsey and Samsonite, and these pieces tend to get a decent number of reviews.
9. Zappos.com
As of October 2014
Luggage
by Contributors to Zappos.com
Our AssessmentThere aren't as many luggage choices at Zappos.com, but it carries many well-respected brands, such as Travelpro, Delsey and Tumi. This is a great resource for finding deals on bags that may have been recently replaced by a new model, but are still great pieces of luggage and have many high-end features at half the price of new.
10. Wayfair.com
As of October 2014
Travel & Bags
by Contributors to Wayfair.com
Our AssessmentWayfair.com carries a lot of luggage sets as well as an assortment of individual bags. Luggage gets fewer reviews here, probably because Wayfair.com may be thought of more as a home furnishing site, but it's still a useful source for feedback on luggage, especially sets.
11. Fodors.com
Oct. 31, 2013
Fodor's Approved: 10 Best Carry-On Bags for 2013
by Nicole Campoy
Our AssessmentNormally, a source like Fodor's, complete with hands on testing, would be quite a bit higher on this list. However, unlike Fodors 2014 test of checked bags (see above), this test seemed far too narrow -- one person, one bag. The bag were not fit to the travel circumstance of the tester as most experts suggest, rather, the tester was given the bag then used it for whatever they had planned for the weekend. Also, while there are a couple of well-known names, some of these bag makers are not very common and can only be ordered online. We try to recommend luggage that people can see and touch before they buy.
12. Gadling.com
March 23, 2013
Save Money And (Maybe) Time With The Right Luggage, Packed Efficiently
by Chris Owen
Our AssessmentChris Owen doesn't specifically recommend any luggage in this article, but it's an informative article about choosing the right luggage also includes tips for packing light.
Sponsored Links

Back to top