Page: 7 of 7
In this report

Luggage Rating Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. OutdoorGearLab.com
April 23, 2015
The Best Carry-On Luggage 
by Cam McKenzie Ring and Amanda Fenn
Our AssessmentThirteen carry-on size bags (20 to 22-inch) are thoroughly tested in real-world use, including each tester flying with each bag. They were then ranked and rated for features, storage, durability, weight and appearance. Price was also taken into account. The reviews include pros and cons and suggestions for best uses. Videos, photos and a discussion of the specific, real-world attributes of each bag. Duffel bags are reviewed elsewhere on this site.
2. Fodors.com
May 22, 2014
Fodor's Approved: Best Checked Luggage for 2014
by Editors of Fodors.com
Our AssessmentThe travel editors of Fodor's test a variety of checked luggage -- traveling, packing and even touring the subway to choose favorites. Each bag receives a brief summary review that includes tester comments, discussion of both pros and cons and an ultimate verdict. A couple of suitcases draw criticism for their weight and/or price. Luggage intended to be checked is also reviewed elsewhere on this site.
3. SmarterTravel.com
Nov. 30, 2013
10 Best Carry-On Bags for Every Traveler
by Dara Continenza
Our AssessmentThe editors of SmarterTraveler.com test a variety of bags in various travel situations, ultimately narrowing their selections down to these top 10 carry-on bags. All of the bags are widely available and all cost less than $300. Each review is thorough and includes pros and cons and suggestions for lifestyle uses. Elsewhere on the site, Dara Continenza also discusses carry-on tips and makes bag suggestions.
4. TheWirecutter.com
March 23, 2015
The Best Carry-on Luggage
by Brent Rose
Our AssessmentBrent Rose tests a variety of carry-on bags, as well as researching and consulting with experts and frequent travelers, to name the top choices in carry-on luggage. He ultimately names the Travelpro Platinum Magna 22-inch rolling suitcase as the best. Runners up are also named. Only two-wheeled suitcases are included in this roundup.
5. Travel and Leisure
April 1, 2014
Best Carry-On Luggage
by Katrina Brown Hunt
Our AssessmentThis roundup of the best carry-on luggage does not seem to include any hands on testing, but the author consults with frequent travelers to make these choices. Many of them are on other experts' "best of" lists as well.
6. Amazon.com
As of October 2015
Luggage
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere are thousands of pieces of luggage for sale here from a wide variety of manufacturers. A few brands and models that have been around for a while get hundred or even thousands, of reviews. This is a particularly good resource for how the luggage holds up over real-world travel situations, including how bags that are sold as carry-ons fit in various overhead bins.
7. EBags.com
As of October 2015
Luggage
by Contributors to eBags.com
Our AssessmentMany brands and styles of luggage are sold here, most getting fairly high ratings -- sometimes from hundreds of owners. Cases made by eBags itself receive the highest number of reviews; other popular brands include Rockland and Samsonite. Standout models have a 4.5-star-or-better rating after at least 100 user reviews.
8. Walmart.com
As of October 2015
Luggage
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart is a great resource for finding less expensive luggage and luggage sets -- and inexpensive doesn't necessarily mean cheap. Many less-pricey bags get excellent reviews for organizational features and durability. And people who don't travel frequently don't need to pony up for a more expensive bag -- an inexpensive suitcase will do just fine.
9. Macys.com
As of October 2015
Luggage
by Contributors to Macys.com
Our AssessmentMacys.com is another good source for luggage reviews. It carries hundreds of pieces, and has a nice selection of luggage sets, especially from designers like Kenneth Cole and Tommy Hilfiger. Macys.com also carries a lot of Delsey and Samsonite, and these pieces tend to get a decent number of reviews.
10. LuggagePros.com
As of October 2015
Luggage
by Contributors to LuggagePros.com
Our AssessmentThis online-only store specializes in luggage, with many brands and styles. However, there are fewer reviews here than at other sites and you have to click through to see the total numbers of reviews.
11. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Luggage Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org does not test or recommended specific pieces or sets of luggage here. Rather, they rate brands based upon a survey of 3,485 suitcase owners. Brands are ranked in order of customer satisfaction; including ease of carrying, wheelability, ease of packing, durability, appearance and weight. However, it's not clear what size or specific model of suitcase within that brand the feedback was giving on. Elsewhere on this site, editors review the SkyRoll garment bag. That review is free to the public.
12. Zappos.com
As of October 2015
Luggage
by Contributors to Zappos.com
Our AssessmentThere aren't as many luggage choices at Zappos.com, but it carries many well-respected brands, such as Travelpro, Delsey and Tumi. This is a great resource for finding deals on bags that may have been recently replaced by a new model, but are still great pieces of luggage and have many high-end features at half the price of new.
13. Wayfair.com
As of October 2015
Travel & Bags
by Contributors to Wayfair.com
Our AssessmentWayfair.com carries a lot of luggage sets as well as an assortment of individual bags. Luggage gets fewer reviews here than elsewhere, but it's still a useful source for feedback on luggage, especially sets.

Back to top