Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Compound Miter Saws: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. Woodworker's Journal
June 17, 2015
10" Sliding Compound Miter Saws Tested and Reviewed
by Chris Marshall
Our AssessmentChris Marshall subjects seven 10-inch sliding miter saws to a punishing test: 50 crosscuts and 50 compound cuts each through 10-inch wide, 1.75-inch-thick hard maple. He goes into detail about each saw's features and performance, including its ability to handle dust when hooked up to a shop vacuum or dust extractor.
2. Popular Woodworking
As of February 2016
Miter Saw
by Editors of Popular Woodworking
Our AssessmentPopular Woodworking's article archive includes two single-product reviews for sliding miter saws. Editors sum up each saw's strong and weak points in a few paragraphs. Although they don't go into a lot of detail about their testing methods, it's clear they have personally handled the saws. However, there's no direct comparison between models.
3. Popular Mechanics
Sep. 4, 2013
Compound Miter Saw Showdown: 8 Tools, Tested
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentRoy Berendsohn evaluates eight 10-inch compound miter saws from DeWalt, Hitachi, Craftsman, Makita, and other brands. Each saw gets a brief write-up summarizing its pros and cons, including weight, power, precision, and special features. Berendsohn also notes the maximum cut each saw can make through a .75-inch board at 90 degrees and at 45 degrees. However, he offers no other details about his testing methods.
Tool Test: 12-Inch Chop Saws
by Andy Beasley
Our AssessmentAndy Beasley subjects eight 12-inch compound miter saws, including single- and dual-bevel models from Bosch, DeWalt, Hitachi, Makita, and Ridgid, to eight hours of hands-on testing. He provides a detailed chart comparing the saws' cutting capacity, controls, fences, and scales and names his top picks for specific uses. Though this is an older review, four of the eight saws it covers are still available.
5. Popular Mechanics
Aug. 14, 2015
The Best Cordless Miter Saws, Tested
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentIn his latest review, Berendsohn evaluates four cordless miter saws, evaluating power, smoothness, battery life, features, and cost. He rates each model on a five-star scale and outlines its strongest and weakest points. However, he doesn't go into detail about how he tested the saws.
6. Wood Magazine
As of February 2016
Mitersaws
by Editors of and Contributors to Wood Magazine
Our AssessmentEditors review about two dozen miter saws here, evaluating performance, features, ease of use and value. Individual reviews are short and to the point, with a paragraph or so analyzing the saw's performance. A few owner opinions are included as well. However, since reviews here date back several years, several of the top-rated models are discontinued.
7. Amazon.com
As of February 2016
Miter Saws
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere are more than 100 compound miter saws for sale on Amazon.com, but only about two dozen models receive a significant amount of owner feedback. Models from Hitachi, DeWalt, and Makita all receive ratings of 4.5 stars or better from at least 100 users. Individual reviews vary in quality from detailed and knowledgeable to brief and trivial.
8. Lowes.com
As of February 2016
Miter Saws
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentOf the 30-plus compound miter saws at Lowes.com, only about a dozen receive 25 or more comments from owners. Among these, Hitachi models receive the highest ratings, with 5-star overall scores and more than 200 reviews each. Models from Bosch and DeWalt also earn high scores, but with significantly fewer reviews. Some saws include ratings that originated at the manufacturer's web site.
9. Sears.com
As of February 2016
Miter Saws
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentAlthough there are more than 150 compound miter saws for sale at Sears.com, only about 20 have received user feedback, and only a handful have a significant number of reviews -- primarily Craftsman models The Sears site highlights the most helpful positive and negative reviews and also says what percentage of reviewers would recommend each saw.
10. NorthernTool.com
As of February 2016
Miter Saws
by Contributors to NorthernTool.com
Our AssessmentNorthernTool.com has a small selection of compound miter saws, most with fewer than 15 owner reviews. We found only two models with ratings of at least 4.5 stars from 40 users or more: one from DeWalt and one from a brand called Ironton, which appears to be available only on this site. Reviewers here are a mix of professionals and DIYers, but reviews are generally brief.
11. HomeDepot.com
As of February 2016
Miter Saws
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com carries a mix of consumer and contractor-grade compound miter saws. We found about half a dozen models with ratings of 4.5 stars or better from at least 50 owners, including saws from DeWalt, Bosch, and Milwaukee. Reviews are generally brief, and some of them include a list summarizing pros and cons. As with Lowes.com, review totals sometimes include those originally posted at the manufacturer's site.
12. Popular Mechanics
Not Dated
The Next 7 Tools You Need to Be a Better Home Handyman
by Brett Martin
Our AssessmentBrett Martin names a miter saw as one of his seven must-have tools for any handyman, saying he uses his "more than all my [other] saws combined." Though he doesn't discuss specific models, Martin does explain the uses of a miter saw and notes the "increased cutting capacity" of a sliding miter saw.
13. Tools in Action
As of February 2016
Miter Saws
by Editors of Tools in Action
Our AssessmentThis site includes brief reviews and commentary on all manner of tools, including miter saws. Reviews are very brief, but most indicate that comments are based on at least some hands-on use. The editors and contributors range from construction professionals to woodworking novices.

Best 10-inch compound miter saw

DeWalt DW713
DeWalt DW713

Back to top