Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Movie Streaming: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
1. Tom's Hardware Guide
As of February 2014
Streaming
by Editors of Tom's Guide
Our AssessmentTom's Guide offers substantial coverage of streaming movies and streaming TV, including hardware and service reviews. One article names its top 10 online streaming video services. Another is a direct comparison between Netflix and Amazon Prime Instant.
2. PCMag.com
As of February 2014
Internet
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com reviews movie streaming services, although finding them can sometimes be a chore on this site. Services are rated, and the best ones earn an Editors' Choice award. Currently, that honor is given to Netflix. While the unlimited streaming plan is called a bargain, others are said to have less value.
3. AllThingsD.com
Jan. 21, 2013
Netflix, Redbox and More: What You Need to Know
by Lauren Goode
Our AssessmentLauren Goode tests four subscription movie streaming services: Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon Prime Instant and Redbox, although the latter was still not publicly available at the time of the review. Comparisons are made in areas such as pricing, titles, video quality and mobile support. Netflix comes out on top.
4. Geek.com
Sept. 26, 2013
Netflix vs. Hulu Plus: Who Best Fits Your Video Streaming Needs?
by Russell Holly
Our AssessmentThis head-to-head comparison pits Netflix against Hulu Plus in the usual areas, including content, quality, platform support and pricing. Hulu Plus has quite a bit going for it, but if you need to choose one service, Russell Holly says that Netflix is "absolutely the way to go."
5. DigitalTrends.com
Mar. 9, 2013
Netflix Instant vs. Hulu Plus vs. Amazon Instant Video
by Mike Flacy
Our AssessmentThis review features a three-way comparison between Netflix, Hulu Plus and Amazon Prime Instant. Pricing, device support, mobile support, audio/video quality, number of titles, newness of titles and original content are among the attributes discussed, and services that excel in those areas are named. However, the article avoids naming a best overall pick and instead suggests subscribing to all three if your budget affords it.
6. CNET
As of February 2014
Software & Apps
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentCNET reviews several of the major movie streaming services in reports that also focus on the experience of using specific platforms or operating systems. The individual reviews are helpful as they also address the services in general, but finding them can be a chore; your best bet is to search.
7. ConsumerReports.org
March 2012
Streaming Media Players & Services
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org surveys its membership to report on satisfaction with on-demand and subscription movie and TV streaming services. In addition, ratings are provided for selection, convenience, price satisfaction and picture quality based on readers' responses.
8. ShellyPalmer.com
Apr. 28, 2013
The Best Streaming Services
by Shelly Palmer
Our AssessmentShelly Palmer covers technology topics for a New York City TV station. Netflix is said to "still be king when it comes to streaming movies," but he names other streaming services that could be better choices for some viewers.
9. HDGuru.com
Sept. 2, 2013
Blu-ray vs. HDTV Streaming Services: A Quality Comparison Review
by Chris Heinonen
Our AssessmentThree movie streaming services are benchmarked against watching an HD movie on a Blu-ray Disc. None of the services could deliver the same picture quality, although Vudu fares the best if the HDX version is used. Chris Heinonen also notes that the quality of the streaming hardware plays a role in the quality of the image onscreen.
10. TopTenReviews.com
Not dated
2014 Best Internet Television Service Comparisons & Reviews
by Kent Dunn
Our AssessmentTopTenReviews.com names only nine services in its list of top 10 "Internet television" sites, but the list seems relatively up to date, including newcomers like M-Go. Kent Dunn's focus is on the streaming TV lineup of each service. Write-ups are a bit more extensive for the top-rated services than the rest, although comments indicate that the services were actually tested.
11. QuitCable.com
As of February 2014
Content Services
by Editors of QuitCable.com
Our AssessmentAlthough the authors of this site are not identified and no explicit recommendations are made, this is a good place to check out some of the many movie and TV streaming services available. Pluses and minuses are listed, as well as the key characteristics of the service. Some services that get little coverage elsewhere are included.
12. TheTechReviewer.com
As of February 2014
Entertainment
by Colt Agar
Our AssessmentColt Agar reviews a handful of streaming movie and TV streaming sites. Reviews are a little inconsistent; some analyze different aspects of a service while others are simple "liked and disliked" write-ups.
13. CNET
Feb. 6, 2014
Chromecast vs. Apple TV vs. Roku 3: Which Media Streamer Should You Buy?
by Matthew Moskovciak
Our AssessmentFor those interested in streaming movies or streaming TV but who lack a smart TV or other streaming hardware, CNET provides the pros and cons of the three most popular set-top movie streaming boxes. All are good and all have advantages, but at least for now, the Roku 3 is named the best choice for most users.
14. TomsGuide.com
Jan. 28, 2014
Roku vs. Apple TV vs. Chromecast: Which Device Wins?
by John R. Quain
Our AssessmentTom's Guide makes the same comparison among movie streaming hardware boxes and comes to almost the same conclusion: Apple TV makes sense "if your home is festooned end-to-end with Apple iPhone, iPad and MacBook Pro users," John R. Quain says. For everyone else, the clear nod goes to the Roku 3.
Sponsored Links

Back to top