Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Muffin Pans: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
March 2005
Muffin Tins
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentCook's Illustrated magazine editors bake blueberry and corn muffins to test three metal muffin pans. Included are one lightweight coated aluminum pan, a heavyweight coated aluminum pan and an air-cushioned pan (which sandwiches and air pocket between two metal layers). Editors conclude that specialty pans don't have an advantage over plain tins.
2. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
May 2009
Muffin Pans 101
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentIn this video, editors contradict their top picks from the earlier March 2005 review, declaring a different muffin pan their favorite. Nonetheless, this video includes some good pointers, such as advice on how to choose a pan with handles and to skip silicone.
3. Amazon.com
As of September 2010
Muffin Pans
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is a great place to find lots of user reviews of muffin pans. However, almost all muffin tins get rave reviews; almost none receives lower than a 4.5-out-of-5 cumulative rating. There are fewer reviews of silicone muffin pans and overall, the comments are more mixed than they are for metal pans. Complaints are varied; two owners of the Roshco Silicone 12-Cup Muffin Pan with Sled say the pan gave off a strong odor while baking. The Wilton Easy Flex Silicone 6-Cup Muffin Pan also gets a comment about a chemical odor and some say that because it's floppy, it's hard to place a full pan in the oven.
4. Choice magazine
May 2008
Test: Bendy Bakeware
by Editors of Choice magazine
Our AssessmentAustralia's Choice magazine tries out several brands of silicone bakeware, primarily muffin tins, but also some cake pans and sheets. Although not all of the brands are available in the U.S., the overall conclusions are revealing. Most pans baked well, but ease of use is an issue. Jamie Oliver's silicone muffin pan is highly rated, but editors aren't sure it's worth the expense, and this model is now discontinued.
5. Consumer magazine
Sept. 11, 2006
Silicone Bakeware
by Angela Papprill
Our AssessmentSilicone muffin tins, cake pans and baking sheets are evaluated by this New Zealand testing organization. Editors say that results were excellent; silicone is lightweight and easy to store. However, it can be too floppy and requires special handling. Six brands are tested.
6. ConsumerReports.org
January 2006
We Pan Silicone Bakeware
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentThe title pretty much says it all in this article in Consumer Reports. Editors test silicone bakeware from Kmart, KitchenAid and Smartware to similar results. Overall, editors say that baked goods prepared in silicone tasted fine, but silicone was a pain to use.
7. The New York Times
Jan. 10, 2007
Hot Stuff
by Marian Burros
Our AssessmentMarian Burros tests silicone bakeware, but is disappointed in the performance of loaf pans, cake tins, brownie pans and Bundt pans. She achieves success with a Springform-style silicone pan, which has a ceramic bottom, only on the second try. Burros says baking in silicone requires her to reduce cooking times. "Muffin tins, cupcake molds and specialty molds held up nicely," but sweet bread baked in a loaf pan failed to brown.
8. Cooking.com
As of September 2010
Muffin Pans
by Contributors to Cooking.com
Our AssessmentReviews at Cooking.com are generally short, but summaries capture the percentage of customers who would recommend the product and who consider it a good value. The drawback here is that while a lot of muffin tins are reviewed, all get excellent overall ratings, so it's impossible to tell which might be overall favorites. None of the silicone muffin pans receive reviews.
9. Viewpoints.com
As of September 2010
Muffin Pan Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com is a user-review website that is well-organized and easy to navigate. It clearly depicts average ratings, lists product pros and cons, and provides a graphic detailing the percentage of user recommendations for each product. Muffin pans do not have a high volume of reviews on this site, however; of the more than 20 muffin pans with reviews, 11 have perfect scores – but these 11 only have one or two reviews each.
10. About.com
Not Dated
Top 10 Kitchen Gifts
by Fiona Haynes
Our AssessmentFiona Haynes, About.com's guide to lowfat cooking, lists her top 10 picks for holiday gifts for cooks who lean toward low-fat cooking. Among her choices is the SiliconeZone Muffin Pan, which she likes because it is bendable, colorful, allows food to pop out easily and doesn't retain stains or odors. There is no information as to whether she tested this product or compared it in any way to any other muffin pans. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
11. Bestcovery.com
Jan. 29, 2010
Best Muffin Pan
by "Paul S"
Our AssessmentThis website offers both expert picks and user reviews, and visitors are encouraged to become members and apply to serve as experts for categories that interest them. Anonymous reviewer Paul S," who is identified only as an author and editor, recommends the Chicago Metallic Gourmetware Original Muffin Top Pan (whose name is now the Chicago Metallic The Original Muffin Top Pan) as his top pick among muffin pans, saying that it produces golden-brown, crusty and "properly chewy" muffin tops. There is no information about his testing methodology or whether he tested other muffin pans as well.

Muffin Pans Runners Up:

Baker's Secret Basics Nonstick 12-Cup Muffin Pan *Est. $10

1 pick including: Amazon.com, Cook's Illustrated Magazine…

image
Baker's Secret Basics Nonstick 12-Cup Muffin Pan
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $9.99 $4.01   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top