Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Office Chairs: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
Dec. 3, 2012
Best Office Chair Is the Steelcase Leap
by Kyle Vanhemert
Our AssessmentThis comparison of the Steelcase Leap, Herman Miller Embody, Herman Miller Mirra, Knoll Generation, Humanscale Freedom and Ikea Markus bases its recommendations on months of real-world testing. The reviewer aims to "identify a chair that made sense for the biggest group of people" and notes pros and cons for each, taking price into consideration. Still, recommendations focus on a small pool of high-end chairs, with just one lower-budget chair thrown into the mix.
Sept. 9, 2012
Five Best Office Chairs
by Alan Henry
Our readers pick their five favorite office chairs for this roundup, which looks at chairs from Herman Miller, Steelcase, Raynor and Ikea, and vote on their favorite. A reviewer provides commentary on the pros and cons of each chair. However, the reviews are limited to the five chairs that received the most reader nominations, leaving potentially lesser-known, lower-priced competitors off the list.
Dec. 6, 2005
Sit Happens
by Seth Stevenson
Our AssessmentThis reviewer compares six popular chairs, including the Aeron, Herman Miller Celle, Humanscale Liberty and Steelcase Leap. His reviews are honest and thorough, ranking each chair from "unsittable" to "overall winner." Of course, as he notes, his recommendations are based on his opinion only, and the article is rather dated (though all six models remain on the market).
As of June 2013
Desk Chairs
by Contributors to
Our is one of a customer's best resources for real-world reviews of office chairs. Reviews are often quite detailed and evenhanded. Expensive chairs may have fewer reviews than cheaper ones. Prospective buyers should read carefully, since reviewers sometimes wrongly fault a product for bad experiences with a seller or shipping. Readers should also beware of older reviews, which might discuss an older version of a product with flaws that have been addressed.
As of June 2013
Office Chair Reviews
by Contributors to
Our is another helpful owner-review product site, and it sometimes has more reviews for a particular product than Reviews are not quite as detailed, but a helpful feature tallies each listed pro and con so prospective buyers don't have to comb through every review quite as thoroughly. The site includes reviews from popular merchants such as and
6. Mother Nature Network
June 11, 2012
5 Ergonomic Desk Chairs That Are Good for Your Body and the Planet
by Matt Hickman
Our AssessmentThis roundup looks at five chairs from Herman Miller, Knoll, Humanscale, Steelcase and Haworth, focusing on ergonomics and green features. It does not compare the chairs, and the reviews do not appear to be based on any real-world testing. Perhaps because of that, reviewer Matt Hickman does not note any cons beyond personal design preferences.
April 19, 2011
Best Ergonomic Chair
by "Camilla B ."
Our AssessmentA furniture expert makes five picks for best ergonomic chair. The short reviews are informative, but they are not comparative and sometimes do not note many cons, if any. The expert chooses top picks; runners-up are based on user reviews from around the web.
Aug. 18, 2011
Best Computer Chair
by L. D. Ray
Our's product-guide expert lists her top five picks for best computer chair. The reviews are brief but informative. They do not compare the chairs to each other or to other available products. Picks are made by the product-guide expert, while runners-up are chosen by analyzing user reviews from around the web.
June 2, 2011
Best Office Chair
by Josh Tuliano
Our AssessmentA furniture expert makes five picks for best office chair. The fairly brief reviews are based upon an analysis of owner reviews. While reviews are informative, they do not compare products and there is no mention of hands-on product testing. The reviewer notes few cons.
Not dated
High End Office Chairs
by Abe Abbas
Our AssessmentThis roundup looks at five popular office chairs from Steelcase, Herman Miller and Humanscale but does not compare them. The reviewer's remarks are brief and fairly basic. No cons are noted, and it's unclear when the roundup was written.
As of June 2013
All Office Chairs
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentRetail site allows buyers to post reviews of office chairs. Reviewers rate each chair on a 1- to 5-star scale. Reviews are not quite as detailed as those on and, however.
As of June 2013
Office Chairs
by Contributors to
Our allows customers to post reviews for office chairs. Reviews are not as detailed as those on and Reviewers rate each chair on a scale of 1 to 5.
As of June 2013
Raynor Ergohuman Chair - Leather Chair with Headrest LE9ERG
by Contributors to
Our has several customer reviews for the office chairs it stocks. Reviewers rate each product on a 1- to 5-star scale. Chairs are mostly high-end, and reviews are shorter than those found at or

Back to top