Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4

Online Brokers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 21 Sources
1. SmartMoney.com
May 16, 2012
Best and Worst Brokers of 2012
by J. Alex Tarquinio
Our AssessmentThis is the most detailed review we found, and the thorough research methods lend it a high degree of credibility. The review names the best and worst online broker in each of six categories, and it includes a chart that ranks each broker included in the survey and shows category ratings for each. The top five are, in order, Fidelity, Scottrade, TD Ameritrade, E*Trade and Charles Schwab. Commissions and fees reported here are for an investor who has at least $50,000 in a brokerage account and trades up to five times per month.
2. Barron's
March 9 , 2013
Back Online!
by Theresa W. Carey
Our AssessmentThe annual Barron's ranking of online brokers is a much-relied-upon source of information for investors of all types. For the 2013 rankings, Barron's rates 24 online brokers and summarizes the results in a table. Interactive Brokers, TradeMonster and Place Trade each have 4.5 out of 5 stars.
3. J.D. Power & Associates
June 17, 2013
2013 U.S. Self-Directed Investor Satisfaction Study
by Editors of J.D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentMore than 3,600 investors who make all of their investment decisions without an investment adviser responded to J.D. Power and Associates' 2013 self-directed investor satisfaction survey. They rate firms' performance in six areas, including interaction, account information and trading charges and fees. Scottrade comes in first, with 810 out of 1,000 points (and 5 out of 5 stars), but Charles Schwab and Vanguard follow close behind.
4. ConsumerReports.org
Feb . 2012
Where to Put Your Money
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org ranks the performance of nine discount/online and four full-service brokerage firms based on a 2010-2011 survey of over 7,300 ConsumerReports.org subscribers. Respondents rate brokers on customer service, website usability, financial advice and phone service.
5. Kiplinger.com
Nov. 2012
Best Online Brokers, 2012
by Nellie S. Huang
Our AssessmentKiplinger.com assesses 10 online brokerages based on fees and commissions, range of investment options, research and tools that are accessible to all clients, and banking services. For 2012, E*Trade wins first place overall, with Fidelity a close second. There is no chart showing the overall rankings; rather, you scroll through a series of slides arranged in descending order (best to worst overall), with each slide showing a particular broker's ratings in certain areas.
6. TopTenReviews.com
Not Dated
2013 Best Online Trading Service Comparisons and Reviews
by Editors of TopTenReviews.com
Our AssessmentTopTenReviews.com offers detailed reviews of 18 brokers, and it summarizes both ratings and data about the firms in a comparison chart that contains overall ratings (on a 10-point scale) as well as rankings based on category, like fees/commissions. Ratings are based on other reviews, as well as hands-on research and testing. OptionsXpress, OptionsHouse and TradeKing are the top three picks.
7. Reviews.com
As of July 2013
Online Stock Trading
by Ed Carlson
Our AssessmentThe reviews of online brokers on this site are impressive. Each firm is given a fairly lengthy write-up with pros and cons ("the good" and "the bad"), along with a detailed chart highlighting the features -- pricing, mobile options, etc. -- each company offers. Online brokers are compared; E*Trade and TD Ameritrade get 5 out of 5 stars. Most of the 11 brokers get 4 stars.
8. Investors.com
Feb. 5, 2013
Top 5 Online Brokers Ranked for Every Investor Type
by Victor Reklaitis
Our AssessmentInvestor's Business Daily's website, Investors.com, identifies the best online brokers based on a survey of 10,250 Investor.com readers. Twelve categories are weighed, including low commissions and fees, customer service, research tools, investment research, tax-preparation tools, mobile platform/trading and more.
9. MarketConsensus.com
Feb. 2, 2013
Top 5 Best Online Trading Sites for Individual Investors
by Editors of MarketConsensus.com
Our AssessmentMarketConsensus.com editors choose five online brokers after weighing various categories (popularity, discounter vs. full-service, stock/fixed income/options trading capabilities, user experience, cost, online research tools, etc.). Fees and commissions weigh heavily in the review.
10. Kiplinger.com
Dec. 2012
Hits and Misses of 2012
by Editors of Kiplinger.com
Our AssessmentIn this long list of hits and misses, Kiplinger.com editors endorse TD Ameritrade for housing an IRA, citing its "wide range of investment choices and no annual fee or minimum to open an account." Editors name TradeStation a miss in this category because of fees, but the report is very thin (just a few lines) and only has credibility because of Kiplinger.com's sterling reputation as a personal finance publisher.
Online Discount Brokers
by Joe Lan
Our AssessmentScottrade comes out on top of the American Association of Individual Investors' member survey. Not surprisingly, those surveyed marked commissions as the primary factor in choosing a broker, with services named second and convenience third.
12. Technical Analysis of Stocks & Commodities Magazine
2012
2012 Readers' Choice Awards
by Editors of Technical Analysis of Stocks & Commodities
Our AssessmentSubscribers to this magazine are frequent traders who want electronic access to the best real-time data, technical analysis tools and trade execution tools. As in previous years, Interactive Brokers is voted best stock brokerage, best futures brokerage and best Forex (foreign-currency trading) brokerage. TradeStation is first runner-up in all of those categories and wins in others, like stock-trading systems. The Readers' Choice Awards are presented based on subscribers' votes, but it's unclear how many voters there are.
13. NerdWallet.com
April 11, 2013
Best Roth IRA Account Providers of 2013
by Joanna Pratt
Our AssessmentAfter studying more than 70 Roth IRA account providers, Joanna Pratt of NerdWallet.com names four brokerage firms, "each meeting the needs best of a different group of retirement investors." TD Ameritrade is named best for the involved investor; OptionsXpress for the sophisticated investor; E*Trade for day traders; and ShareBuilder for new investors. Details are given on each provider, including the number of no-transaction-fee (NTF) funds, expense ratios, minimums to start and cost per trade.
14. BrokerageReview.com
May 30, 2013
2013 Best Brokerage Firms: Top Rated Discount Online Stock Broker Companies
by Editors of Brokerage-Review.com
Our AssessmentBrokerage-Review.com reviews and provides detailed information on services and fees offered by individual trading companies; it also names best brokerage firms, best brokerages for beginners and best IRA accounts. The ad-driven site claims that it "strive[s] to bring the most comprehensive information about brokerage firms in the United States and Canada." OptionsHouse is named the best online broker in 2013 (it also won the distinction in 2012) primarily because of its low fees and zero account-balance minimums, while TD Ameritrade is called "excellent" for IRAs. The review gives pros and cons of each service.
15. Stockbrokers.com
Feb. 19, 2013
Online Broker Review 2013
by Blain Reinkensmeyer
Our AssessmentStockBrokers.com editors review 17 online brokers and weigh commissions and fees (15 percent), ease of use (15 percent), platforms and tools (15 percent), research (15 percent), customer service (15 percent), offering of investments (15 percent), education (5 percent) and mobile trading (5 percent). In addition, winners and runner-ups are named for individual categories. Lightspeed is named the best for active trading, with Interactive Brokers coming in second. Interactive Brokers also ranks first for commissions and fees, while TD Ameritrade is best overall. Blain Reinkensmeyer owns this site as well as StockTradingToGo.com, so there's some overlap in content.
16. Wall Street Letter
Not Dated
WSL Institutional Trading Awards 2013
by Editors of Wall Street Letter
Our AssessmentWall Street Letter gives its second annual Institutional Trading Awards to "brokerage firms, exchanges and financial technology companies for achievements and innovation over the last year." Interactive Brokers is picked as the best broker for options (for the second year in a row); in 2012 it won an award for the best use of technology by a broker.
17. MoneyUnder30.com
Not Dated
Compare the Best Brokerage Firms for Investing Online
by Editors of MoneyUnder30.com
Our AssessmentEditors of MoneyUnder30.com give short but informative write-ups of five online brokers, giving a star rating for each along with a "best for" tag. (For example: TD Ameritrade gets the highest rating, 4.5 out of 5 stars, and is named best for "new investors who are eager to learn and become more advanced.") The website is transparent about taking commissions, and it's unclear what criteria are used or if the products are tested.
18. DoughRoller
Dec. 20, 2012
List of Online Discount Brokers to House Your IRA
by Rob Berger
Our AssessmentDoughRoller's publisher -- personal finance expert and attorney Rob Berger -- recommendsScottrade, OptionsHouse and OptionsXpress as Editor's Choice picks, and provides longer reviews on each service. The services aren't tested, but Berger gives his strongest endorsement to Scottrade, noting that he's personally opening up an account with the company because of its no-fee options. DoughRoller is a financial blog founded in 2007, with nearly two million visitors each year.
19. ObliviousInvestor.com
April 11, 2012
Where Should I Open an IRA?
by Mike Piper
Our AssessmentBlogger Mike Piper, a CPA, recommends Vanguard for IRAs because "the company is owned by the funds it runs rather than by outside shareholders." In addition to cutting costs, the investing model also has fewer conflicts of interest, Piper says. He also provides details on other companies and their feature and fee structures.
20. Keynote.com
As of June 2013
Performance Index: Brokerage
by Editors of Keynote.com
Our AssessmentKeynote.com editors rank online brokers weekly, based on response time for placing a stock order and the success rate of order completion. An archive lists results as far back as 2007. As of June 2013, Fidelity and Charles Schwab generally led in the overall categories. There is more variation in the success rate category, where TD Ameritrade, Merrill Edge, ShareBuilder and others occasionally occupy the top spot.
21. CashMoneyLife.com
Not Dated
Where to Open a Roth IRA Account
by Ryan Guina
Our AssessmentThis ad-driven website recommends four leading online brokers for IRAs, but mostly summarizes their fees and features without making critical comments. It's also unclear whether any of the services have been tested. TD Ameritrade is named first among recommended Roth IRAs, though it's unclear what, if any, rating system is used.
Sponsored Links

Back to top