Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

See Also

Paper Shredders: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Paper Shredders
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org tests crosscut paper shredders by feeding them paper and credit cards and, where appropriate, CD and DVD discs. Each shredder earns a numerical score for overall performance, based on separate ratings for speed, effective capacity, convenience and the number of sheets of paper shredded at one time. Decibel ratings and notes on safety features aren't provided.
2. Wired
March 25, 2013
Shred, White and Blue: 5 Document Shredders Tested
by Billy Brown
Our AssessmentWired tests five paper shredders and rates them on a 10-point scale. Hands-on analysis covers speed, capacity, toughness and noise. Discussion here is somewhat brief, though Billy Brown does a good job of highlighting a shredder's strengths and weaknesses. Testing ranges from high-volume console shredders to small-volume handheld shredders. The Fellowes Powershred 79Ci and GeoEcoLife GMC205Pi earn the highest ratings.
3. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
Shredders
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com carries lots of paper shredders. While most get only a handful of reviews, a few shredders stand out for receiving high overall ratings following hundreds of user reviews. Several Fellowes shredders score particularly well here.
4. Staples.com
As of July 2013
Shredders
by Contributors to Staples.com
Our AssessmentMost owner reviews of paper shredders here cover the Staples brand, though other brands of shredders receive helpful reviews as well. The site makes it easy to filter models by factors like brand, rating, price range and type of use. Many paper shredders sold here receive hundreds of reviews.
5. PopularMechanics.com
Oct. 1, 2009
Fellowes Jam-Proof Paper Shredder Test Drive: Scam Watch
by Seth Porges
Our AssessmentPopular Mechanics puts to the test the claim that the Fellowes Intellishred PS-79Ci shredder is in fact jam-proof. After stuffing the model with cardboard, crumpled paper and CDs -- loading it way beyond the manufacturer's recommendations -- they determine that the manufacturer's claim is true -- the model never jammed. This shredder remains available, but has been since renamed the Fellowes Powershred 79Ci.
6. Walmart.com
As of July 2013
Paper Shredders
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentQuite a few paper shredders get useful owner ratings and reviews here. Most are budget models, but the pricier Fellowes PS-79Ci (now the Fellowes Powershred 79Ci) is among the top-rated. An unbranded Walmart paper shredder costing only $25 has a big fan club, maintaining an overall rating of 4.5 stars following nearly 700 reviews. Other shredders, however, get only a handful or fewer reviews or ratings.
7. Costco.com
As of July 2013
Shredders
by Contributors to Costco.com
Our AssessmentAmong the paper shredders priced here for home use, four GoEcoLife models get reasonably high ratings from users. Some Fellowes shredders, such as the PS-99Ci, also rate well. Reviews of GoEcoLife shredders are generally scarce on other sites, so this is a good site to check if you're looking for user reviews of that brand.
8. Fellowes.com
As of July 2013
Shredders
by Contributors to Fellowes.com
Our AssessmentFellowes.com separates owner reviews of paper shredders by specific categories: household, small or home office, commercial and government-approved. The site makes it easy to compare paper shredders by showing the overall user rating for each, the number of reviews on which the rating is based and each model's main features. Clicking on a model shows the users' detailed reviews, a summary of the ratings on four different factors and the percentage of users who'd recommend the paper shredder to a friend. Six Fellowes shredders priced for home use stand out here.
9. OfficeMax.com
As of July 2013
Shredders and Shredder Supplies
by Contributors to OfficeMax.com
Our AssessmentAlthough most paper shredders here get only a handful of reviews, OfficeMax.com gives a good overview on paper shredders. It discusses pros and cons for those rated, along with ratings for specific criteria like features, performance and value. Top choices here include the Fellowes Powershred 79Ci, which gets an overall rating of 4.8 stars out of 5 following more than 600 reviews, along with the Fellowes Powershred 99Ci, which earns 4.6 stars out of 5, with more than 170 reviews.
10. OfficeDepot.com
As of July 2013
Paper Shredders
by Contributors to OfficeDepot.com
Our AssessmentMost of the paper shredders listed at OfficeDepot.com garner only a few reviews, though a few Fellowes paper shredders do stand out. The site groups shredders by specific categories. Sorting models to find those with the highest ratings and number of reviews is easy enough.
11. Good Housekeeping
As of July 2013
Paper Shredder Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping editors test a fair number of paper shredders. Each shredder receives a letter grade. The Staples SPL-TXC122A and Ativa MD 1200 both earn a score of A-, the highest among reviewed shredders. Analysis here is limited to a brief paragraph, though hands-on testing is done and a list of pros and cons is quite helpful. According to reviews, the Staples SPL-TXC122A is the fastest paper shredder tested and the "the easiest to use."
12. The New York Times
March 31, 2010
Shredders: What to Buy
by Sam Grobart
Our AssessmentTechnology editor Sam Grobart advises readers against buying super-cheap paper shredders, saying, "Low budget shredders will excel only at jamming, overheating and destroying your sanity." He recommends two paper shredders for home and home-office use. We'd rank this article much higher if it documented testing or actual use. It's also growing a little old.
13. BestBuy.com
As of July 2013
Paper Shredders
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentMost of the paper shredders sold here earn mediocre or poor ratings from users, but the moderately priced Dynex DX-PS10CC earns some consideration as a good value. It receives fewer than 30 reviews, but that's many more than most of the shredders listed on this site. Users do say that the DX-PS10CC is noisy and that the receptacle could be bigger.
14. Good Housekeeping
February 2006
All- Star Shredders
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping editors test only four paper shredders in this older review, and only one of the two top picks is still readily available: the Fellowes Powershred DS-1. We'd rank this review higher if it were more current, since it's based on thorough testing -- including tests to make sure children's fingers can't be pulled into the shredder.
Sponsored Links

Back to top