Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Paper Shredders: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. PC World
Feb. 20, 2014
Destroy them all: We brutally review 5 professional document shredders
by Christopher Null
Our AssessmentChristopher Null of PC World evaluates five medium-duty paper shredders, suitable for small offices where shredding is "more or less a daily chore." After feeding each shredder paper, credit cards, and CDs, Null evaluates its features, capacity, and noise level, as well as how likely it is to jam. He doesn't actually give the machines ratings, but his detailed comments about performance are extremely useful.
2. Wired
March 25, 2013
Shred, White and Blue: 5 Document Shredders Tested
by Billy Brown
Our AssessmentWired tests five paper shredders, ranging from high-volume console shredders to small-volume handheld shredders. Tester Billy Brown highlights each shredder's strong and weak points, including speed, capacity, toughness and noise. Discussion here is somewhat brief, but Brown does a good job of highlighting a shredder's strengths and weaknesses. Each shredder receives an overall rating on a 10-point scale.
3. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Paper Shredders
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentExperts at ConsumerReports.org test 15 crosscut paper shredders. They evaluate how many sheets each model can shred per minute, the total volume each one can shred before stopping, and how convenient each model was to use. They then combine these ratings to give each shredder an overall score that can be compared to similar models.
4. PCMag.com
Apr. 13, 2015
The Best Shredders for Tax Time and Beyond
by Tony Hoffman
Our AssessmentTony Hoffman of PCMag.com offers general tips on buying a paper shredder, followed by ratings of five different shredders and links to detailed reviews. Hoffman times each model's actual shredding speed and capacity and compares them to the manufacturer's claims, as well as evaluating features and noise level. He also notes how the different models stack up against each other in performance.
5. Good Housekeeping
As of September 2015
Paper Shredder Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping has reviews on its website for 30 paper shredders (including one that's reviewed twice). However, the conflicting dates on the main category page and the individual review pages make it difficult to figure out when and how each model was tested. In general, reviews appear to evaluate each shredder's capacity, speed, ease of use, and noise level, as well as the helpfulness of customer service. Two of the three top picks are discontinued.
6. Walmart.com
As of September 2015
Paper Shredders
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart offers nearly 300 paper shredders on its website, with a focus on budget-priced models. We found several shredders with strong positive feedback from users, including a handful with 300 reviews or more. For each model, the site provides an overall star rating, a breakdown of reviews by rating, and the percentage of reviewers who say they would recommend it.
7. Amazon.com
As of September 2015
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com carries lots of paper shredders, but most of them don't receive a large volume of reviews from users. However, a few shredders stand out with high overall ratings from 500 owners or more. Amazon shows a breakdown of ratings for each product, along with an overall star rating that factors in the age and helpfulness of reviews. However, it doesn't provide an overview of each shredder's pros and cons.
8. Staples.com
As of September 2015
by Contributors to Staples.com
Our AssessmentStaples sells more than 200 paper shredder models. Most of the ones with a lot of user feedback are from the Staples house brand, but a few other products have reasonable number of reviews with a high overall rating. The site makes it easy to sort and filter reviews by factors like brand, rating, price range and type of use.
9. OfficeDepot.com
As of September 2015
by Contributors to OfficeDepot.com
Our AssessmentThe OfficeMax and Office Depot chains have now merged, so all the paper shredder reviews from both chains are now on this site. Home paper shredders get the most reviews here, with several receiving high overall scores from 100 users or more. A nice feature of this site is that it sums up the most commonly cited pros and cons for each shredder, which saves time with models that have lots of reviews.
10. Costco.com
As of September 2015
by Contributors to Costco.com
Our AssessmentCostco offers a very limited selection of paper shredders, and most of those receive only a handful of reviews. However, we found a few shredders here with high overall ratings from 100 users or more. The site lets you sort reviews by date, rating, helpfulness, and length.
Sponsored Links

Back to top