Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Patio Heaters: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. HomeDepot.com
As of July 2013
Outdoor Heating
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com's outdoor heating section includes patio heaters, fire pits and outdoor fireplaces. However, only a few products receive a significant amount of user feedback.
2. Hayneedle.com
As of July 2013
Heating & Lighting
by Contributors to Hayneedle.com
Our AssessmentFormerly PatioHeaterStore.com, this home retail site sells more than 100 patio heaters, 130 fire pits and 30 fireplaces and "chimineas." As at other sites, fire pits receive more reviews than any other type of outdoor heater, with the most popular model earning more than 600 comments. For each product, the site provides a list of the most commonly cited pros and cons and the percentage of users who would recommend it.
3. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
Outdoor Heating
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com has thousands of listings for outdoor heating products, including "chimineas," fire pits and outdoor fireplaces, as well as traditional patio heaters. We found the most reviews here for fire pits, but there are also a couple of propane patio heaters, which receive high overall ratings from at least 35 users.
4. Buzzillions.com
As of July 2013
Outdoor Heater Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentBuzzillions.com collects owner-written reviews and ratings from a variety of retail sites across the web. Its reviews for patio heaters come largely from sites that no longer exist, such as PatioHeaterStore.com and Patio-Heater-Direct.com. Thus, these reviews cannot be found elsewhere online. However, even with multiple sites to draw from, there are very few products here that receive more than a handful of reviews. The site also offers some general buying advice.
5. Lowes.com
As of July 2013
Fire Pits & Outdoor Heating
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentLowes.com sells about 75 outdoor heaters, including electric and gas-powered patio heaters, wood-burning and gas-burning fire pits, outdoor fireplaces and "chimineas." Here, as at HomeDepot.com, fire pits are the top-rated products by customers.
6. Walmart.com
As of July 2013
Outdoor Heater
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentA search for "outdoor heater" in the Patio & Garden section at Walmart.com produces over 150 results. However, only about 35 products receive any reviews from customers, and only one has an overall positive rating. On the plus side, the reviews are well structured, including the length of time the owner has had the heater, how often it's used and whether he or she would recommend it to a friend.
7. Target.com
As of July 2013
Fire Pits & Patio Heaters
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com has about 100 listings in the "fire pits & patio heaters" category. The only three products we found with positive overall ratings from at least 25 users were fire pits. Target.com does not list manufacturer names for two of these three products, and the site displays the actual user reviews for only one of them.
8. Consumers Digest
September 2011
Bringing the Heat: Exceptional Values in Outdoor Fireplaces
by Brett S. Martin
Our AssessmentConsumers Digest, a competitor of ConsumerReports.org, last reviewed outdoor fireplaces in 2011. However, you need a site subscription to view the actual recommendations. The accompanying article provides general information about both types of outdoor fireplaces.
9. Which? magazine
Last updated September 2010
Barbecues and Patio Heaters
by Editors of Which? magazine
Our AssessmentWhich? is the U.K. equivalent to ConsumerReports.org. The site has no recent reviews of patio heaters but does provide some helpful general information about them, including a list of safety tips for using a patio heater.
10. The Washington Post
Oct. 30, 2008
Nip in the Air? Time to Take the Party Outside. Really
by April Fulton
Our AssessmentThis five-year-old article focuses on ways to create a comfortable outdoor living space, including heating. April Fulton points out some advantages and disadvantages to each type of heater but does not recommend or compare specific models.
11. Garden Action
Not Dated
A Review of Garden Patio Heaters
by Editors of Garden Action
Our AssessmentThis British garden site offers a buyer's guide to patio heaters, with information about power output, heat control, safety features and design. The article does include a few specific recommendations, but the product links are no longer active.
Sponsored Links

Back to top