Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Pellet and Wood Stoves: Ratings of Sources

Total of 16 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
February 2013
Pellet & Wood Stoves
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentSite editors provide a thorough buyer's guide, explaining the pros and cons of both wood- and pellet-burning stoves and inserts. They also test and rate six wood and pellet stoves, and list one more model that's quite similar to those tested. Most of the stoves receive at least a half-dozen user reviews, too. Full details of the ratings and access to the user reviews are available to subscribers.
2. Hearth and Home Magazine
As of December 2013
2013 Vesta Award Winners
by Editors of Hearth & Home
Our AssessmentEach year this industry association gives awards for the best hearth-related products, including the best fireplace, wood stove and pellet stove. There's no discussion of how the winners are chosen, but this is definitely a reputable source. It's worth considering the 2012 winners, too, although there was no pellet stove winner for that year.
3. Alliance for Green Heat
Oct. 4, 2011
Reliable Pellet Stoves
by Editors of Alliance for Green Heat
Our AssessmentThe editors of Alliance for Green Heat share four picks for reliable pellet stoves, based on service records from Scott Williamson, an independent pellet stove tech who also owns PelletStoveService.com. An editor's note is followed by a detailed review of each stove, penned by Williamson.
4. Alliance for Green Heat
Nov. 20, 2013
Woodstock Soapstone, Travis and Wittus Win the Wood Stove Decathlon
by Melissa Bollman
Our AssessmentCompetitors in the Wood Stove Decathlon are tested in a manner meant to simulate the typical consumer's use -- for example, loading the stoves with more wood than typically used in EPA tests -- and judged on criteria including efficiency, cleanliness, consumer appeal and affordability. Winners are named both overall and in individual categories. However, not all stoves entered in the decathlon are currently available for commercial purchase.
5. eFireplaceStore.com
As of December 2013
Wood Burning Stoves
by Contributors to eFireplaceStore.com
Our AssessmentShoppers at eFireplaceStore.com rate and review the wood stoves they buy. This is one of the richest sources of stove reviews available online, with some models receiving dozens of user comments. Standouts average a score of at least 4.5 stars out of 5 after feedback from 25 or more owners. The US Stove 2000 almost makes the cut, earning 4.5 stars out of 5 after about a dozen user reviews.
6. Northerntool.com
As of December 2013
Heaters, Stoves + Fireplaces
by Contributors to NorthernTool.com
Our AssessmentNorthernTool.com sells a wide variety of stoves, including wood, pellet, corn and multi-fuel models. Customers review their stoves and note whether or not they'd recommend them. Standout wood stoves are rated 4.5 stars out of 5 or better after at least 20 user posts. Pellet stoves receive far fewer reviews, with standouts earning 4 stars out of 5 or better after comments from at least five owners.
7. AceHardware.com
As of December 2013
Wood, Coal & Pellet Stoves
by Contributors to AceHardware.com
Our AssessmentAceHardware.com offers a decent selection of wood and pellet stove brands, but draws just a few user reviews. Overall, the only two standouts are the Cast Iron Boxwood Stove BX26E, which gets 4.3 stars out of 5 after 18 user posts, and the Castle Stoves Serenity Pellet Stove (12327), which receives a perfect 5-star score from three owners.
8. Wise Heat
As of December 2013
Wood Stoves
by Contributors to WiseHeat.com
Our AssessmentContributors to WiseHeat.com, which focuses on alternative home heating systems, give their opinions on wood stoves. There's a separate page for pellet stoves, and the site collects reviews for corn- and oil-burning stoves, as well. Standout models are rated 4.5 stars out of 5 or better after at least 10 user reviews.
9. Amazon.com
As of December 2013
Wood Stoves
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is almost always a rich source of user reviews, and it does sell quite a few wood and pellet stoves. However, only a few models of wood stoves collect a significant quantity of owner feedback. In this case, standout models get at least 4.5 stars out of 5 after at least three posts from trustworthy reviewers. Pellet stoves are listed separately and none are particularly noteworthy.
10. HomeDepot.com
As of December 2013
Freestanding Stoves
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com sells several brands of wood and pellet stoves, including Englander, US Stove and Pleasant Hearth. Wood stoves are more popular than pellet stoves here, although one pellet stove -- the Englander 25-PDVCH -- meets our criteria for a top pick: a rating of 4 stars out of 5 or better after at least 20 user reviews. We also include the wood-burning US Stove Model 2500, which gets 4.7 stars out of 5 from a dozen owners.
11. Lowes.com
As of December 2013
Wood Fireplaces & Stoves
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes.com sells a few brands of wood and pellet stoves, including Summers Heat, US Stove and Pleasant Hearth. Most models collect at least a few comments from owners, but only two -- one wood stove and one pellet stove -- get 4 stars out of 5 or better after at least 20 user reviews.
12. HVAC-For-Beginners.com
As of December 2013
Stoves, the Basics…
by Richard Reed
Our AssessmentRichard Reed, a former HVAC repairman, gives basic information about wood, pellet and gas stoves. Although he doesn't review specific stoves, he does offer brief, well-informed opinions about several brands.
13. TractorSupply
As of December 2013
Wood Heaters
by Contributors to TractorSupply.com
Our AssessmentTractorSupply.com is one of the more popular online vendors of wood and pellet stoves. However, the rankings are dominated by just one brand: US Stove. Standout models are rated 4.3 stars out of 5 or better after at least 25 user reviews.
14. Hearth.com
As of December 2013
All Ratings
by Contributors to Hearth.com
Our AssessmentContributors to Hearth.com review a variety of stoves in some detail, including how long they've had the stove and how large a space they heat with it. However, navigating this site is very difficult, and posts are listed separately if more than one user reviews a specific stove. Still, it's a useful resource if you want opinions from long-term owners of a specific stove.
15. ConsumerDemocracy.com
As of December 2013
Reviews & Ratings in Woodstoves
by Contributors to ConsumerDemocracy.com
Our AssessmentReviewers share very brief comments about their wood stoves here. However, if multiple users review the same stove, those posts are not collected or collated in any way, nor are any of the stoves assigned comparative ratings.
16. TreeHugger.com
Oct. 8, 2008
Thinking of Buying a Pellet Stove? We Can Help!
by Michael Graham Richard
Our AssessmentA writer for this eco-friendly website recommends five pellet stoves, based on a buying guide from sister site PlanetGreen.com. However, no further details are given and the PlanetGreen.com buying guide is no longer available online, so we don't know how or whether these stoves were tested.
Sponsored Links

Back to top