Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Pepper Mills: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
July 2013
Pepper Mills
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentEditors test 10 pepper mills, evaluating them on factors including grind speed, grind quality and ease of use. Both manual and battery-operated models are included, and four pepper mills earn recommendations. The best models crank out the desired amount and size of pepper without guesswork in grind selection or wrist strain.
2. Amazon.com
As of November 2013
Pepper Mills
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentOnly a handful of the pepper mills at Amazon.com attract more than 100 reviews and average ratings of 4.5 stars out of 5 or higher. These include the Unicorn Magnum Plus, Unicorn Magnum 6", Cole & Mason Derwent and Oxo Good Grips Pepper Mill. The Oxo Good Grips Pepper Grinder also does well, averaging 4.3 stars out of 5 from about 260 users. For electric styles, the Ozeri Savore Soft Touch gets 4.4 stars out of 5 from about 135 owners.
3. Cooking.com
As of November 2013
"Pepper Mill" Results
by Contributors to Cooking.com
Our AssessmentCooking.com offers more than 30 pepper mills, but only a handful get more than a few reviews. The Unicorn Magnum Plus is the highest-rated model, with nearly 85 percent of more than 440 owners giving it 5 stars. The Peppermate Pepper Mill also earns a high average score from about 400 users.
4. The Wall Street Journal
Jan. 28, 2012
Pepper Grinders
by Katherine Cancila
Our AssessmentEditors at The Wall Street Journal Test Kitchen evaluate "dozens" of pepper mills for range of grind, attractiveness and ease of use. Among the five winning models are the Peugeot Chateauneuf, which is called the Cadillac of pepper mills, and the Oxo Good Grips that earns a Best Value designation. Other winners include the Vic Firth Gourmet 12" Mario Batali, Pepper Mill Imports Atlas 10" Brass and Kuhn Rikon Ratchet Mill.
5. Walmart.com
As of November 2013
Pepper Mills
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart sells several pepper mills, but most get just a handful of reviews. One exception is the iTouchless Battery-Powered Pepper Mill and Salt Grinder, which gets 4.4 stars out of 5 from more than 120 users. The Trudeau Graviti also does well, with nearly 20 reviews and 4.2 stars out of 5 in red and about 30 reviews and 3.8 stars out of 5 in silver.
6. About.com
Not dated
Graviti Battery Operated Pepper Mill by Trudeau
by Mariette Mifflin
Our AssessmentAbout.com's housewares editor calls Trudeau's Graviti mill a fun and convenient kitchen tool. Mifflin says it operates simply and easily, with gravity doing all the work, but it needs six AAA batteries -- a requirement that she calls "definitely the downside." It's unclear whether she tests any comparative products.
7. About.com
Aug. 31, 2013
Favorite Kitchen Tools and Gadgets
by Laura Dolson
Our AssessmentAbout.com's guide to low-carb diets recommends the Unicorn Magnum Plus as one of her top gadgets. She says it's "super easy" to load and use, and it works very well, but she balks at the $44 price tag.
8. KitchenDaily.com
Oct. 29, 2010
Choosing the Best Pepper Mill
by Jane Lear
Our AssessmentBased on personal experience, Lear recommends four mills priced under $35: the Chef Specialties 10" Imperial Walnut, Unicorn 6" Magnum, Unicorn 3" Magnum Minimill and William Bounds "Twist" mill. For those with a larger budget, she recommends the Vic Firth 7" Mario Batali and the Peppermate mill. Although many like the Peugeot brand, Lear says the Hostellerie model is difficult to fill and the Chateauneuf has an overwhelming number of settings.
9. Chow.com
Oct. 29, 2012
How to Choose a Pepper Mill
by Sarah Perry
Our AssessmentPerry says that easy loading, the ability to set the fineness of grind, grind consistency and ergonomics are the most important issues for consumers to consider when purchasing a pepper mill. She then reports on product favorites from a handful of users who post feedback. The preferences and comments are interesting, but experiences are largely anecdotal and there's no mention of comparative testing. Only favored brands are listed, not specific products.
10. Chow.com
Aug. 9, 2006
Pick a Peck of Peppermills
by Aida Mollenkamp
Our AssessmentMollenkamp tests 14 pepper grinders sold by Broadway Panhandler for ease of use, grind quality, design, style and features. She dislikes plastic mills, preferring mills with large refill chutes and easily removable tops. The ultra sleek Peugeot Reims pepper mill is her top pick, followed closely by the Peugeot Fidji.
11. TheKitchn.com
March 11, 2011
TheKitchn Reviews: Our Favorite Pepper Mills
by Editors of TheKitchn.com
Our AssessmentThis article lists the favorite pepper mills of nine site editors, with links to pages featuring explanations of each choice. While the backstories are engaging, there's no mention of testing methodology or indication that editors tested a variety of products.
12. Chowhound.com
As of November 2013
Pepper Mills: Your Picks and Pans
by Contributors to Chowhound.com
Our AssessmentPosters to this culinary forum name most of the usual suspects -- Peugeot, Peppermate, Perfex and Unicorn -- when asked to name the best pepper mill. Ease of use and fast grinding are among the reasons users most often give for their preferences. Feedback is subjective and anecdotal, but this discussion thread explains which brands cooking enthusiasts like and what features are widely considered important.
Sponsored Links

Back to top