Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6

Personal Finance Sites: Ratings of Sources

Total of 21 Sources
1. PCMag.com
Feb. 23, 2012
Best Personal Finance Mobile Apps
by Sara Yin
Our AssessmentPCMag.com's Sara Yin looks at three personal finance apps for mobile phones. Mint.com and Pageonce each earn 4.5 out of 5 stars, but Mint.com gets the Editors' Choice award. This article summarizes Yin's more extensive individual reviews, which are available through links on the page.
2. PC World
Jan 9, 2011
Battle of the Budgeting Tools: Manage Money Online and on the Go
by Yardena Arar
Our AssessmentYardena Arar lists five budgeting website services, and Mint.com comes out on top. Several of the sites listed are focused on budgeting rather than on personal finance management, but Buxfer.com also gets a good review.
3. Kiplinger.com
Nov. 2010
Which Budgeting Site Is Best for You?
by Thomas M. Anderson
Our AssessmentThis review looks at the new crop of personal finance start-ups and gives the strengths, weaknesses and overall value of each. Mint.com is the top pick for range of features, while Yodlee MoneyCenter is an excellent way to get a snapshot of all your accounts.
4. TopTenReviews.com
Not Dated
2012 Finance iPhone Apps
by Editors of TopTenReviews.com
Our AssessmentIn this table of finance iPhone apps, the editors of TopTenReviews.com place three personal finance apps in the top 10. MoneyStrands, Mint.com and Spend Lite are all grouped closely. Reviews are general and brief.
5. Lifehacker.com
July 11, 2010
Five Best Personal Money Management Sites
by Jason Fitzpatrick
Our AssessmentJason Fitzpatrick places Buxfer.com first in his report on five of the most popular personal finance websites. He focuses on the most useful or unique features of each website. The reviews are brief but informative.
6. PCMag.com
July 13, 2011
The Best Free Web Apps of 2011
by Eric Griffith
Our AssessmentBuxfer.com beats out Mint.com as the top-ranking personal finance website in PCMag.com's list of the five best billing and finance websites. However, there is no mention of what criteria were used to develop this list, and only Mint.com has a more detailed review.
7. About.com
Not Dated
18 iPhone Personal Finance Apps
by Shelley Elmblad
Our AssessmentIn a broad review of personal finance apps for the iPhone, Shelley Elmblad reviews the 18 most reliable apps. Her first choice is Mint.com, followed by MoneyStrands. Only some of the iPhone apps reviewed have more detailed evaluations, and some of those are for the full website service. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
8. CBSNews.com
Dec. 3, 2009
Money Management: The Best Online Personal Finance Sites
by Kathy Kristof
Our AssessmentKathy Kristof tries out five personal finance sites and offers a detailed review of each, rating each one on a scale of 1 to 5. Mint.com is her top choice, with 4.5 points; she writes that it is "far and away the most sophisticated and comprehensive site. It was also exceptionally easy to use."
9. CNET
Jan. 22, 2009
Manage Your Money Online with These Services
by Don Reisinger
Our AssessmentThis excellent but older review evaluates and compares five financial management sites. Out of the five sites, only two are still functioning. Buxfer.com's strong suit is its simplicity, while Mint.com gets slightly higher marks but "doesn't provide the kind of depth that you would expect from a full-featured money management tool."
10. CBSNews.com
April 10, 2009
Sites for Smarter Money Management
by Rafe Needleman
Our AssessmentCNET's Rafe Needleman reviews five personal finance sites, with an emphasis on the features of each that help users save money or set goals. He notes that Mint.com lets you compare your spending in different categories with that of others in your area -- city or state -- but that there's no way to filter out variables like household size. Needleman also discusses Buxfer.com, and three now shuttered sites: Wesabe.com., Thrive and Quicken Online.
11. SramanaMitra.com
Feb. 2009
Redesign That: Online Personal Finance, Parts 2 and 3
by Charles W. Bush and Kathy Hwang
Our AssessmentThis website, run by Forbes columnist and business strategy consultant Sramana Mitra, features a seven-part series with consultants Charles Bush and Kathy Hwang reviewing six online finance software products. Bush and Hwang rate the sites based on whether they provide four features: future forecasting, education, support groups and a scorecard feature that lets users know how well they are doing in meeting financial goals. Mint.com stands out for its aesthetics and ease of use. Some of the sites covered are now closed, however.
12. The New York Times
Aug. 9, 2011
LearnVest: A Money-Management Site for Women
by Tara Siegel Bernard
Our AssessmentAccording to this article, LearnVest.com offers lots of useful tools and a clean design. But while there is lots of free content, online courses require a premium membership. One downside is that LearnVest.com does not provide a way for you to track your goals.
13. TechCrunch.com
July 27, 2010
LearnVest Launches Financial Bootcamp Programs to Keep Women Fiscally Fit
by Leena Rao
Our AssessmentLearnVest.com gets a generally favorable review here. Leena Rao says that it fills the gap between books and financial advisers.
14. SmartMoney.com
Jan. 8, 2009
Money Makeover: 5 Sites for Your Finances
by Kate Klonick
Our AssessmentAuthor Kate Klonick reports on five sites recommended by Belinda Fuchs, a certified public accountant and president of a financial coaching and education firm. Mint.com, Klonick notes, has won multiple awards, and in addition to its other services it analyzes your accounts and generates personalized money-saving ideas. Several of the other sites covered here, however, are now defunct.
15. GenXFinance.com
Sept. 10, 2008
Wesabe, Buxfer, and Mint: Which Web-Based Financial Management Site Is Best?
by Lauren Fairbanks
Our AssessmentLauren Fairbanks tries three financial management sites, then compares them and lists their pros and cons. Fairbanks concludes that Mint.com "offers the most comprehensive package with more useful graphs and trackers." One of Buxfer.com's key features is the ability to keep track of and pay IOUs from friends and acquaintances.
16. Epinions.com
As of June 2012
Discussion Thread: Mvelopes Poor Customer Service
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentUsers posting to Epinions.com both attack and defend Mvelopes.com, though very few of the posts are from the last two years. Most complain about the company's billing and refund policies; a few defend the policies. Other complaints include what some say is a malfunction in the automatic bill-pay feature that results in two payments being made on the same account in the same month. Additionally, some say that technical support is lacking and that customer service is not always responsive. Note that Mvelopes.com now offers a free account.
17. The Wall Street Journal
Jan. 13, 2008
Web Sites to Keep You on Budget
by Amy Hoak
Our AssessmentThis is not so much a review as it is a discussion of personal finance websites. Amy Hoak remarks that Mint.com is for people who don't want to spend much time dealing with their financial affairs, and that Mvelopes.com has been around since 2004 so it "has stood the test of time." Hoak also gives advice to prospective users on how to protect their data, whether it's stored on their home computer or a website's server.
18. The New York Times
Oct. 3, 2008
Your Money: Where's It All Going? Find Out Online
by Ron Lieber
Our AssessmentThis review by columnist Ron Lieber is useful mainly for the perspective it provides on what consumers should expect when they use a personal finance website for the first time. Lieber discusses only Mint.com in detail, simply because this was the only site that was able to access and download transactions from his credit card accounts. He says that difficulty loading accounts and recategorizing transactions on any of the sites, including Mint.com, is par for the course but worth the time.
19. BeingFrugal.net
Jan. 21, 2009
Pear Budget -- A Simple Budgeting System
by Lynnae McCoy
Our AssessmentBlogger Lynnae McCoy admits she is not an expert, just someone who wanted to get out of debt. She describes how PearBudget.com works, and praises both its simplicity and its customer support. She concludes that PearBudget is a good choice for "those who are new to budgeting, or those who just want a really simple application that tracks their spending against their budget, without unnecessary bells and whistles."
20. CNNMoney.com
Dec. 2, 2008
All Your Money at a Glance
by Joe Light
Our AssessmentThis comparative review rates four free personal finance websites, of which only two are still available. Mint.com is the top pick, with its "inviting layout" and ability to track and provide detailed analyses of investment accounts. Yodlee MoneyCenter is named the most comprehensive site, but the review takes off points for its user interface.
21. Slate.com
Oct. 7, 2008
Show Me My Money: What's the Best Software for Keeping Track of Your Personal Finances?
by Mason Currey
Our AssessmentThis comparative review, though old, is still credible and useful since it is based on hands-on testing and includes both desktop and web-based personal finance applications. Mason Currey tries out various websites, including Mint.com, Wesabe.com and Quicken Online (the latter two now closed, however), as well as older desktop financial software packages Money Plus and Quicken Deluxe 2009. He narrows the field to five finalists, and evaluates each based on four criteria: security, ease of use, features and value. Currey gives Mint.com high scores for ease of use and value.
Sponsored Links

Back to top