Page: 2 of 2
In this report

See Also

Popcorn Poppers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. YourBestDigs.com
June 14, 2016
The Best Popcorn Makers of 2016
by Editors of YourBestDigs.com
Our AssessmentEditors of YourBestDigs.com spend more than 30 hours conducting hands-on testing of six popcorn makers. Popping more than 48 bowls of popcorn to rate each popcorn popper on factors such as build quality, ease of use and cleanup, popcorn taste and quality, and kernels left unpopped or burned during cooking.
2. Amazon.com
As of July 2016
Popcorn Poppers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com has thousands of consumer reviews for microwave, hot air and stovetop popcorn poppers. Its reviews are helpful because owners rate the poppers on a five-star scale and provide a real-life perspective and troubleshooting tips on the units. Many users also own more than one type of popper and provide comparisons.
3. Cook's Illustrated
Updated May 2013
Microwave Popcorn Poppers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentThe editors tested four all-plastic popcorn poppers, evaluating for taste and user friendliness. Items are rated "recommended," "recommended with reservations" and "not recommended." One recommended model has since been discontinued.
4. Heavy.com
March 28, 2015
Top 5 Best Popcorn Makers
by Kate Halse
Our AssessmentKate Halse recommends the five best popcorn poppers in this review, noting both pros and cons for each model. While testing methodology isn't described, each recommended model is accompanied by an informative video of the popcorn maker in action. Features such as cook time, capacity, ease of use, and ease of cleanup are discussed.
5. Slate.com
March 27, 2008
Pop Off: What's the Best Popcorn Popper?
by Torie Bosch
Our AssessmentThough it's an older review, this test of six popcorn poppers still offers valuable feedback as many of the models are still available. The author tested three models that used hot air and three that cooked the popcorn in oil. She evaluated each using three criteria: popability, usability and taste.
Popcorn Poppers
by Vivian Jao
Our AssessmentVivian Jao tested five different poppers for Rachael Ray's magazine and briefly outlines the pros and cons of each. However, she does not disclose her methodology. Jao offers informative feedback, however, such as whether consecutive batches can be made without cooling time, ease of cleanup, durability, and other helpful buying information. Again, though older, this review covers some still available poppers.
7. Walmart.com
As of July 2016
Popcorn Poppers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com users have posted hundreds of reviews on its website. Owners grade each product on a five-star scale and rate each on value, meets expectations, features, durability and appearance. They also state how long they've owned the popper and how often they use it.
8. Target.com
As of July 2016
Popcorn Poppers
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com sells a decent assortment of popcorn makers, but only a few of those models garner more than a handful of reviews. A few popcorn poppers have accumulated high ratings in a few dozen reviews, however.
9. SurLaTable.com
As of July 2016
Popcorn Poppers
by Contributors to SurLaTable.com
Our AssessmentSurLaTable.com is a retail website selling products related to cooking, baking, and dining. This site offers about nine different popcorn poppers, most of which have only received one or two owner-written reviews. Two popcorn makers earn a dozen reviews or more, and feedback from consumers is detailed, touching on ease of use, quality of the final product, and cleanup.
10. Cookistry.com
April 10, 2015
Lékué Popcorn Maker
by Donna Currie
Our AssessmentThis individual product review focuses on the Lékué Popcorn Maker, written by cookbook author, food writer, and blogger Donna Currie who received a Lékué Popcorn Maker in exchange for writing an honest review. The review is well-balanced, noting both pros and cons, and a few readers weigh in with comments as well.

Back to top