Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Popcorn Poppers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. Good Housekeeping
January 2009
Best Popcorn Poppers
by Editors of Good Housekeeping magazine
Our AssessmentThe Good Housekeeping Research Institute tested five popcorn models and graded them on a scale of A to F. The Presto PowerPop garnered the highest grade, a B-plus and was commended for its usability and flavorful popcorn. It also gained points for its durable plastic bowl and see-through lid.
2. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
March 1, 2007
Microwave Popcorn Poppers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentThe editors tested four all-plastic popcorn poppers, evaluating for taste and user friendliness. Items are rated "recommended," "recommended with reservations" and "not recommended." One recommended model, the Back to Basics Popcorn Popper, has since been discontinued.
3. Slate.com
March 27, 2008
Pop Off: What's the Best Popcorn Popper?
by Torie Bosch
Our AssessmentThough it's an older review, this test of six popcorn poppers still offers valuable feedback. The author tested three models that used hot air and three that cooked the popcorn in oil. She evaluated each using three criteria: popability, usability and taste. The Presto PopLite Hot Air Corn Popper and the Whirley Pop stovetop popper received the highest scores. But in the end, the Presto PopLite edged out the Whirley Pop because it was inexpensive, efficient and produced tasty popcorn.
4. Every Day with Rachael Ray
October 2010
Popcorn Poppers
by Vivian Jao
Our AssessmentVivian Jao tested five different poppers for Rachael Ray's magazine and briefly outlines the pros and cons of each. However, she does not disclose her methodology. Jao commends the Nordic Ware Microwave Popcorn Popper for being compact and having a sturdy bowl, but says that the bowl gets very hot and its opaqueness makes monitoring difficult. The Presto PopLite Hot Air Corn Popper is speedy, easy to clean and has a large capacity, but it has no on/off switch and is not dishwasher-safe.
5. TheKitchn.com
Oct. 3, 2006
Good Product: West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper
by Chris Phillips
Our AssessmentChris Phillips reviews the West Bend 6 Qt. Stir Crazy Corn Popper, praising the "stir crazy" arm that keeps the kernels popping and prevents them from burning. Phillips advises users not to use the well at the top to melt the butter since it's very messy. No other popcorn poppers are featured in the short article.
6. Amazon.com
As of August 2013
Best Sellers in Popcorn Poppers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com has thousands of consumer reviews for microwave, hot air and stovetop popcorn poppers. Its reviews are helpful because owners rate the poppers on a five-star scale and provide a real-life perspective and troubleshooting tips on the units. Many users also own more than one type of popper and provide comparisons.
7. Viewpoints.com
As of August 2013
Popcorn Popper Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com contains hundreds of reviews on various poppers. Owners individually score each popper on performance, settings/features, ease of cleaning, ease of use and durability, and then the website assigns the popper a score out of 100. The reviews contain personal experience, advice and troubleshooting tips.
8. Walmart.com
As of August 2013
Popcorn Poppers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com consumers have posted hundreds of reviews on its website. Owners grade each product on a five-star scale and rate each on value, meets expectations, features, durability and appearance. They also state how long they've owned the popper and how often they use it.
9. BestBuy.com
As of August 2013
Popcorn Makers Reviews
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com sells several popcorn makers, but not all of them have plentiful reviews. Owners rate the product on value for price, durability and usefulness and provide a one-sentence summary explaining what is great about the popper and what is not great about it. Most users then provide a short explanation.
10. BedBathAndBeyond.com
As of August 2013
Popcorn Poppers
by Contributors to BedBathandBeyond.com
Our AssessmentBedBathandBeyond.com sells 17 popcorn makers but only two, the Presto Orville Redenbacher's Hot Air Popper and Whirley Pop Stovetop Popcorn Popper, had a substantial number of user comments. Most reviews are fairly short.
11. Macys.com
As of August 2013
Popcorn Poppers
by Contributors to Macys.com
Our AssessmentMacys.com only sells eight popcorn poppers and most of them have only a handful of reviews. The Presto Orville Redenbacher's Hot Air Popper has 20 and most of them were overwhelmingly positive.
12. Target.com
As of August 2013
Popcorn Poppers
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com sells 19 popcorn makers, but only two machines got high ratings with more than 20 reviews: Presto Orville Redenbacher's Hot Air Popper and the Presto PowerPop Microwave Multi-Popper.
Sponsored Links

Back to top