Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4

Portable Air Conditioners: Ratings of Sources

Total of 16 Sources
1. Air-n-Water.com
As of May 2013
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Air-n-Water.com
Our AssessmentThis retailer website offers about 30 portable air conditioners, and about half of these have been reviewed by users. Reviews include ratings for cooling power, ease of installation and use, energy efficiency, construction and performance. The NewAir AC-12000E, NewAir AC-10000E and Soleus LX-140 all get high overall ratings from more than 100 reviewers. Other models from NewAir and Soleus also receive high ratings, but based on fewer reviews.
2. Amazon.com
As of May 2013
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells hundreds of portable air conditioners, but only a few receive a significant number of positive reviews. We found most user feedback for the NewAir AC-12000E, which has about 100 reviews from owners. While there are a few negative comments, positive reviews dominate, giving this unit an overall rating of 4 stars out of 5. Other popular portable air conditioners include the MobilComfort KY-80, Whynter ARC-14SH and Frigidaire FRA053PU1.
3. HomeDepot.com
As of May 2013
portable air conditioners
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com sells over 50 portable air conditioners, and most have accumulated at least a couple of owner-written reviews, and a few have 100 or more. However, we found only three models that received at least 4 stars out of 5 overall from 20 reviewers or more. All the recommended units are made by Whynter and range in power from 12,000 to 14,000 Btu.
4. Air-Conditioner-Home.com
As of May 2013
Portable Air Conditioners for the Home and Office
by Contributors to Air-Conditioner-Home.com
Our AssessmentAir-Conditioner-Home.com offers about 20 portable air conditioners, with about half showing reviews written by the site's own customers. The product-listing page makes it easy to compare models by enabling you to sort products both by overall rating and by number of reviews. Three units -- the NewAir AC-12000E and AC-12000E and the Soleus LX-140 -- receive 20 or more reviews with strong overall ratings.
5. Meijer.com
As of May 2013`
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Meijer.com
Our AssessmentMeijer.com sells about 75 portable air conditioners, but only 15 or so have any user reviews. Of these, we found only two with high overall ratings from at least a dozen users. The Whynter ARC-12S is the top-rated model, averaging 4.3 out of 5 stars with 14 reviews posted. The slightly larger Whynter ARC-14S comes in a close second, with 4 stars out of 5 overall from 13 users.
6. LivingDirect.com
As of May 2013
Residential Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to LivingDirect.com
Our AssessmentAlthough only about 20 portable air conditioners are sold on this retail site, it has more user reviews for individual models than any other site. We found five models with over 100 comments, including one with more than 250, and all receive high overall ratings. The individual reviews are fairly short, but they include five-point ratings on a variety of criteria, from installation and assembly to air distribution. However, finding the top-rated models is a bit tricky, as the site does not show the number of user reviews for each model on the main search page.
7. ConsumerReports.org
May 2012
Air Conditioners That Keep You and Your Wallet Cool
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org has not tested portable air conditioners for years, but the editors do discuss them briefly in their latest report on air conditioning. They note that portable air conditioners cost more and use more energy than window air conditioners, and they tend to be loud. In previous tests, they found that the best performers were dual-hose models, which bring in outside air through one hose and vent hot, humid air through another. However, even those generally couldn't cool a room to the desired temperature.
8. Time magazine
May 31, 2011
Summer in the City: The Five Best Portable Air Conditioners
by Doug Aamoth
Our AssessmentTechnology editor Doug Aamoth names five portable air conditioners as his top picks in different categories, such as "best bang for the buck" and "best jack-of-all-trades." There's a photo of each selected model, a list of specs and a few sentences explaining why it makes the list. However, there's no mention of any sort of testing; the air conditioners appear to have been selected based on features and prices. Most of the recommended models are still available.
9. Walmart.com
As of May 2013
Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com sells about 100 portable air conditioners, and roughly one-third of them receive owner-written reviews. Most models have only a handful of comments, but we found solid positive feedback for three LG models, one from Sunpentown and one from Frigidaire. All of these receive overall ratings of at least 4 stars out of 5 from 25 reviewers or more.
10. Sears.com
As of May 2013
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentCustomers can rate and comment on portable air conditioners at Sears.com, but not many do. Only a small number of the portable AC units listed here include any owner reviews at all, and most of those have garnered only a few. Only one portable air conditioner -- the Whynter ARC-14SH -- has a positive overall rating from more than a dozen users.
11. Sylvane.com
As of May 2013
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Sylvane.com
Our AssessmentAlthough about 60 portable air conditioners are available at this retail site, less than half of them receive any reviews from users, and almost none have more than a handful. The only product we found with strong overall ratings from more than 15 users is the Whynter ARC-14S, which also gets good ratings on other sites. One nice advantage of this site is that on each product page, it provides a handy summary of the most commonly cited pros and cons from user reviews.
12. Buyzillion.com
As of May 2013
Portable Air Conditioner Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentThis website gleans its ratings from retail websites, including those listed above. The site provides a top-10 list of the best-rated portable air conditioners, but it's not clear how the products were ranked, since some with large numbers of positive reviews are placed below those with fewer reviews and lower overall ratings. Since the ratings here overlap with our other sources, we have relied on Buzzillions.com only as a source of additional reviews for our Best Reviewed products.
13. Target.com
As of May 2013
Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentThis website sells about 30 portable air conditioners, but most get only a handful of reviews, if any. The only product we found with more than 20 reviews is an 8,000-Btu model from Haier, and it gets fairly mixed reviews. However, if you have a specific model in mind, this site might be worth checking for additional feedback.
14. Epinions.com
As of May 2013
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentEpinions.com, a user-review site, has listings for more than 275 portable air conditioners, which is more than most websites. However, most of the listed models are discontinued, and few have more than a handful of reviews. On a positive note, when you do find a review, it's often longer and more detailed than those at retailer sites.
15. AllergyBuyersClub.com
As of May 2012
Portable Air Conditioners
by Editors of AllergyBuyersClub.com
Our AssessmentStaffers at AllergyBuyersClub.com, a retail site, provide ratings and recommendations for the portable air conditioners they sell. Neither the qualifications of the reviewer nor the criteria used to evaluate the product are provided, however. While the site does allow users to post their own reviews, none have done so for any of the portable air conditioners listed here. Thus, we're inclined to be a bit suspicious of the fact that the most expensive portable AC units here -- priced between $500 and $650 -- receive the highest ratings.
16. NexTag.com
As of May 2013
Air Conditioners - Stand Alone / Portable
by Contributors to Nextag.com
Our AssessmentNextag.com is another website that compiles product reviews from numerous online retailers, including some of those listed above. There are about 550 listings here for portable air conditioners, a few of which have dozens of ratings posted on various retail sites. However, Nextag generally lists only a small selection of customer comments for each unit, even the ones with large numbers of numeric ratings. The sheer number of ratings makes this site useful, but without accompanying comments it's hard to tell much about the advantages or disadvantages of specific models.
Sponsored Links

Back to top