Sponsored Links
Page: 2 of 2
In this report

Portable Air Conditioners: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Air Conditioners
by
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org tests 16 portable air conditioners, including small and large models, for its current report on room air conditioners. Portable air conditioners are rated on the comfort level they produce, indoor noise levels at high and low fan speeds and how well (or if) they operate under brownout conditions (when voltages are low -- a common occurrence during summer months, especially in urban areas) and start up afterwards. An overall rating is also assigned, and that can be used to compare portable air conditioners of similar cooling capacities.
2. ConsumerReports.org
Apr. 27, 2015
Room Air Conditioners That Keep Their Cool.
by Mary H.J. Farrell
Our AssessmentIn this free article, Mary H.J. Farrell summarizes the latest ConsumerReports.org tests of room air conditioners, including portable models. In general, she suggests that portable air conditioners are only a suitable choice if installing a standard window air conditioner is not possible. She notes that, in testing, larger capacity models were better than smaller ones, and those with a dual hose exhaust were better than those with a single house. The Friedrich ZoneAir P12B is specifically mentioned as a model to try in situations where a portable air conditioner is the only choice.
3. TheSweetHome.com
May 21, 2015
The Best Air Conditioner
by Liam McCabe
Our AssessmentTheSweetHome.com researches and tests portable air conditioners as part of its coverage of the best air conditioners. Like other experts, Liam McCabe says that a portable AC is best for those who situation or room won't allow for a window unit. Though the site plans to test other units in the near future, for now the Honeywell MN10CES is called a "safe bet," with acceptable performance, noise levels and convenience.
4. HomeDepot.com
As of June 2015
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentThere are more than 100 portable air conditioners available at HomeDepot.com. Most get only a handful of user reviews, others get dozens and some get hundreds. Most get so-so feedback, but a few garner ratings of 4 stars or greater following a meaningful number of reviews. However, some feedback posted here originates elsewhere, mainly manufacturer web sites, and is duplicated elsewhere on the web.
5. Amazon.com
As of June 2015
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon carries hundreds of different models of portable air conditioners. Many get at least some feedback, while others get hundreds of user reviews, all left by Amazon.com shoppers. While those with ample feedback struggle to get better than so-so reviews, a few get scores of 4 stars or higher and more than 100 reviews.
6. Air-n-Water.com
As of June 2015
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Air-n-Water.com
Our AssessmentThis retail website carries a variety of air conditioners, including more than 80 models of portable units from brands like Sunpentown, Arctic King, Freidrich and DeLonghi. Only a handful of models receive a significant number of reviews, with portable air conditioners from NewAir and Soleus dominating the list.
7. Walmart.com
As of June 2015
Air Conditioners: Portable
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com sells lots of portable air conditioners as well, but we saw less feedback here than at other sites. Once again only a few models receive scores of 4-stars or more and enough reviews for that rating to be meaningful.
8. LivingDirect.com
As of June 2015
Residential Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to LivingDirect.com
Our AssessmentLivingDirect.com, a retail website that sells appliances for the home and kitchen, carries more than 20 models of portable air conditioners. Of these, LivingDirect.com's two house brands, EdgeStar and KoldFront, get the most feedback -- and relatively good feedback compared to most other brands of portable air conditioners. However, those brands have not been evaluated by expert reviewers.
9. Sylvane.com
As of June 2015
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Sylvane.com
Our AssessmentOf the nearly 80 portable air conditioners available at Sylvane.com, half a dozen have at least 10 owner reviews. Of these, the Toytomi TAD-140LW 14,000 BTU is named Best in Class, though the basis for that designation is not well explained. That said, it's also one of the better scoring portable ACs at the site, with feedback that, while not extensive, is substantial enough to be meaningful.
10. BestBuy.com
As of June 2015
Portable Air Conditioners
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com is another site where you can find reviews of portable air conditioners. It carries nearly 100 models overall, and more than 100 additional models are available through marketplace sellers. As is the norm, some portable ACs get dozens of reviews, while some get little or no feedback. Review scores and totals reflect unique reviews left by BestBuy.com users; reviews from manufacturer web sites are also available in some cases, but tallied separately.
11. About.com
Not Dated
Best Portable Air Conditioners
by Mariette Mifflin
Our AssessmentAppliance expert Mariette Mifflin uses owner feedback, price and features to select the top portable air conditioners in six categories: smaller spaces, slim design, mid-range, mid-large spaces, larger spaces and style & function. She includes models by Koldfront, Sunpentown, Honeywell and EdgeStar, listing only one unit per category. Mifflin doesn't conduct any hands-on testing for her review. One model is discontinued, but most are still available.
Sponsored Links

Back to top