Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

See Also

Portable Generators: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
As of February 2014
Generator Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors include three categories of generators in their report: portable generators and two sizes of stationary generators. After running a variety of test appliances with the portable generators, editors rate each generator on user-friendliness, power quality, power delivery, run time and noise. Full details are available to subscribers.
2. PopularMechanics.com
October 2013
Portable Generators
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentThe Ridgid RD905712 takes first place in this five-generator comparison test. The Briggs & Stratton 30468 and Generac GP5500 tie for second place, followed by the Troy-Bilt 30431 and Champion 41135. In addition to testing ease of use and performance, editors measure noise output and power quality for running sensitive electronics.
3. Amazon.com
As of March 2014
Generators
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com users review the generators they've purchased, offering feedback and rating them on a scale of five stars. Those scores are averaged to give each machine an overall rank, making relative comparisons easy. Standout models get 4.4 stars or better out of 5 after at least 50 owner reviews. Top-rated models include the Yamaha EF2000iS, Westinghouse 7500, WEN 56352 and Champion 46539, but generators by brands such as DuroStar, DuroMax and Generac are also available here.
4. Electric Generators Direct.com
As of February 2014
Portable Generator Ratings
by Contributors to ElectricGeneratorsDirect.com
Our AssessmentA number of users weigh in on the generators purchased at this retail website, which appears to be one of the few that doesn't pull Generac reviews straight from the manufacturer's site. Some models accumulate more than 50 user reviews, and we count only models that score 4.5 stars out of 5 or better after feedback from at least 20 owners. The Briggs & Stratton 30471 is the highest rated and most popular generator on the site; models by Generac, Honda and Yamaha are also well-reviewed.
5. Field & Stream
February 2007
Portable Power
by Bruce W. Smith
Our AssessmentBased on actual usage, this review compares four portable generators ranging from 1,600 to 2,400 watts, all of which use inverter technology for quiet, consistent electricity. Smith emphasizes factors that make a portable generator useful for camping: noise level, weight, power quality and ease of use. He also covers fuel economy and "watts per dollar." This report doesn't rank the generators, but discusses the pros and cons of each.
6. Camping Life Magazine
June 2, 2011
Portable Power
by Editors of CampingLife.com
Our AssessmentEditors put the Generac iX2000, the Yamaha EF2000iS and the Honda EU2000i through their paces, connecting each generator to a couple of appliances to assess power and performance. They also measure noise levels and fuel consumption, as well as compare factors such as weight and ease of use. The article doesn't give formal rankings, but lists the pros and cons of each machine. "The Yamaha offers a little more for your money when it comes to buying portable power," editors conclude.
7. Camping Life Magazine
June 7, 2006
Compact Generator Shoot-Out
by Rich Johnson
Our AssessmentThis review covers high-end portable generators for camping and RV use, with detailed information on five models that use inverter technology for quiet, clean power. Johnson lists the power output in watts for each, which range from 1,000 to 2,400 watts, as well as its weight, noise level and how long it will run on one tank of gas. He also rates each unit's ease of use, including maintenance and carrying comfort, and offers brief commentary.
8. PopularMechanics.com
Not Dated
Which Small Generator Is the Toughest?
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentPopular Mechanics tests four 2,000-watt generators in this comparison, though they include few details on testing methods. The Honda EU2000i is named the best overall, followed by the Yamaha EF2000iS. Testers say the Generac iX2000 and Briggs & Stratton P2000 are also top-performing small generators.
9. Sears.com
As of February 2014
Portable Generators
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com publishes owner reviews, but very few generators attract more than a handful. Of these, just four get a rating of 4.5 stars out of 5 or better after at least 10 user reviews: the Briggs & Stratton 30470 and Generac's GP6500E, LP3250 and GP7500E. Sears sells a number of brands, including Briggs & Stratton, Generac, ETQ, Honeywell and DuroMax.
10. HomeDepot.com
As of February 2014
Portable Generators
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com publishes owner reviews and ratings of the portable generators it sells. As on most retail sites, users offer commentary about the model they purchased and rate it on a scale of five stars. Three models of gasoline-powered Generac generators rate at the top: the GP5500, GP6500 and GP7500. Smarter Tools, Powermate, Westinghouse and Ridgid are a few of the other brands available here.
11. TractorSupply
As of February 2014
Gas & Diesel Generators
by Contributors to TractorSupply.com
Our AssessmentThis site sells only a few brands of portable generators, primarily Generac and Champion. While most models get a smattering of reviews, the GP5500, GP17500E and GP7500E stand out with 4.8 stars. However, almost every review comes directly from the Generac website, a common issue with this product line.
12. EHam.net
As of February 2014
Emergency/Portable Power
by Contributors to eHam.net
Our AssessmentThis website for ham radio enthusiasts invites readers to post comments on a wide variety of products, including portable generators. Just one model gets enough feedback, so the average rating carries weight: After 40 reviews, the Honda EU2000i gets 4.7 stars out of 5.
Sponsored Links

Back to top