Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Prepaid Cell Phone Plans: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
1. J.D. Power & Associates
July 30, 2015
Overall Satisfaction with Wireless Customer Care Service Is Lower among Customers with Device Payment Plans
by Editors of J.D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentJ.D. Power and Associates latest survey of user satisfaction with their carrier's customer care finds that Virgin Mobile, a Sprint-owned MVNO scores highest among prepaid providers. MetroPCS (owned by T-Mobile) and Cricket (owned by AT&T) finish second and third respectively -- a step below Virgin Mobile, but still well above the industry average and considerably above some other carriers, such as TracFone, Straight Talk and Net 10.
2. J.D. Power & Associates
Feb. 19, 2015
Wireless Carrier Sales Reps Play Key Role Delivering a Satisfying Purchase Experience to Tablet and Smartphone Shoppers
by Editors of J.D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentThe 2015 J.D. Power and Associates' Wireless Purchase Experience Study lets survey participants rate their purchase experience over the phone, in-store and online. Here, Virgin Mobile shares top honors, and an identical score with Boost Mobile; both carriers are owned by Sprint and use the Sprint network. Cricket and TracFone also score above average.
3. ConsumerReports.org
September 2014
Prepaid Cell Phone Service Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org polls more than 63,000 cell phone users, asking prepaid wireless users to rate their services for voice quality, text performance, data performance, customer support, and value. Editors then rank services -- including prepaid wireless providers -- from best to worst.
4. PCMag.com
March 19, 2015
Readers' Choice Awards 2015: Smartphones and Mobile Carriers
by Ben Gottesman
Our AssessmentIn this reader survey of cell phone users, which includes both prepaid and postpaid services, Republic Wireless, a company that uses Sprint, but that defaults to Wi-Fi coverage whenever possible, is the best rated prepaid carrier, and a Reader's Choice winner. It's the highest rated of all carriers, including traditional cell phone carriers (postpaid) when it comes to fees, and has high ratings for overall satisfaction and likelihood to recommend. Other prepaid carriers that score above the industry average include Straight Talk and MetroPCS.
5. PCMag.com
May 19, 2015
The Best Cheap Prepaid Phone Plans You've Never Heard Of
by Sascha Segan
Our AssessmentPCMag.com identifies a dozen less-well-known carriers that are worth considering for cell phone service. Sascha Segan doesn't pick a favorite, but he briefly describes each plan and its pros and cons.
6. PrepaidPhoneNews.com
As of September 2015
Prepaid Plans Compared
by Dennis Bournique
Our AssessmentHere, site owner Dennis Bournique lists the best prepaid deals for users interested in voice and text only services, for mobile data users, and for visitors from other countries looking to use their phones in the U.S. Lists are continuously updated, and helpful information -- such as which carrier is providing service -- is included. Though these lists are the providers that Bournique considers to be the best deals for various types of users, no top choices are named.
7. RootMetrics
Aug. 18, 2015
First Half 2015 Mobile Network Performance in the US
by Dave Andersen
Our AssessmentIn this report, RootMetrics looks at mobile network performance in metropolitan areas, rural areas, while driving and indoors and outdoors. Testing is comprehensive in scope, and while RootMetrics only tests the four major nationwide cellphone networks, nearly all prepaid carriers provide service using the same ones.
8. TomsGuide.com
July 17, 2015
Tested: Cricket, MetroPCS Much Slower Than Parent Networks
by Philip Michaels
Our AssessmentWhile testing national networks provides insight into coverage, this test, though more limited in scope, reveals that, in general, prepaid carriers that use those networks typically deliver slower -- though still largely usable, network speeds. The gaps between MetroPCS and Cricket, and the speed delivered by their parent networks, T-Mobile and AT&T, are especially large.
9. Money
June 15, 2015
The Best Cellphone Plans of 2015
by Kara Brandeisky and Jackie Zimmermann
Our AssessmentMoney magazine looks at prepaid (as well as postpaid) cellphone plans to find what authors Kara Brandeisky and Jackie Zimmermann say are the best choices for different users and different budgets. Costs are estimated using an iPhone 6 (or a Samsung Galaxy S6 if the carrier does not offer the iPhone) and are based on two years of service. Price, features and user ratings for service and satisfaction are considered in finding the top choices.
10. TomsGuide.com
Aug. 10, 2015
Best Cellphone Plans 2015
by Stewart Wolpin
Our AssessmentTom's guide looks at prepaid and postpaid carriers to find the best choices for individuals and families. Stewart Wolpin considers plan costs and value as well as network coverage and performance. Performance ratings are based on limited testing the site conducts itself, as well as the results of national tests conducted by RootMetrics on the underlying carriers each service uses. Among prepaid providers, MetroPCS is the best choice for individual users, while Cricket draws kudos for those interested in a family plan.
11. HowardForums.com
As of September 2015
US Prepaid/MVNO Discussion
by Contributors to HowardForums.com
Our AssessmentHowardForums.com is a news and discussion site with active user forums covering prepaid cell phone plans. Several popular carriers get their own subforums, while a larger general subforum will find some threads dealing with nearly every prepaid carrier.
12. OpenSignal
As of September 2015
Compare Coverage
by Contributors to OpenSignal
Our AssessmentOpenSignal provides crowd sourced coverage maps based on feedback from Android and iOS (iPhone) apps users have downloaded and installed on their devices. Only the major nationwide cell phone networks are listed, but these are the same ones that most prepaid providers depend on for service.
13. Sensorly
As of September 2015
Unbiased Wireless Network Information. From people just like you
by Contributors to Sensorly
Our AssessmentSensorly also gets its data from apps downloaded by users. It lists several major prepaid providers in addition to the major networks, though coverage maps for those is typically sparse and better information can be found looking at the coverage maps of the national providers instead.
14. Viewpoints.com
As of September 2015
Cell Phone Providers Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentUsers rate most major wireless carriers, both prepaid and contract, at Viewpoints.com. Republic Wireless and PagePlus have the highest ratings, but those are based on relatively few reviews. MetroPCS has the best ratings among prepaid providers with more than 100 reviews -- 3.7 stars based on just under 150 reviews, which is above average among all providers listed here. Around 78 percent say that they would recommend MetroPCS to a friend.
Sponsored Links

Back to top