Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Ranges: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Kitchen Ranges
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org provides ratings on its website for more than 100 gas, electric and dual-fuel ranges. Ranges are rated on how quickly they heat water, as well as their performance at melting, simmering, broiling and baking. Electric ranges perform better overall than gas and dual-fuel ranges, and some mainstream models prove just as adept at basic cooking tasks as very expensive ones. Advantages and disadvantages of each model are discussed, along with frequency-of-repair ratings for different brands.
2. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Electric Range Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping tests three dozen electric ranges, including standard and induction ranges. Each range is evaluated on its boiling, baking and broiling performance, as well as features and ease of use. Editors provide a letter grade for each model, accompanied by a short write-up summarizing its pros and cons. Some of the electric stoves listed here were tested in November 2013, but most reviews are from earlier tests in 2011 and 2008, and some of the listed models are discontinued.
3. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Gas Range Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping's report on gas and dual-fuel ranges covers more models than the report on electric ranges; there are 42 ranges listed here, but fewer of them receive top grades. Some of the ranges were tested in November 2013, others are from earlier tests in 2011 and 2008. As in the report on electric ranges, reviewers test each model's boiling, baking and broiling performance and provide a summary of its strong and weak points.
4. Reviewed.com
As of May 2014
Our Best Lab Tested Ovens
by Editors of Reviewed.com
Our AssessmentStaff at Reviewed.com "strive to follow the scientific method as closely as possible" in their testing and reviewing procedures. There are more than 50 models covered at this site -- each of which is thoroughly tested, reviewed and given an overall rating. Both new and older models are covered in this roundup -- several of which earn ratings of 8.5 or more out of a possible 10.
5. 10rate.com
Not Dated
Best Electric Ranges: Top 10 Rated Electric Ranges 2014
by Brittany Rowland
Our Assessment10Rate.com relies on a combination of hands-on reviews, consumer reviews and analysis of product features to create Top 10 lists for several consumer categories, including kitchen ranges. This particular list consists of the Top 10 electric ranges, each of which is given an overall rating out of 10. Each range is given a brief review that includes strengths and weakness for that particular model. Gas ranges are covered in a separate article.
6. 10rate.com
Not Dated
Best Gas Ranges: Top 10 Rated Gas Ranges 2014
by Brittany Rowland
Our AssessmentNine top gas ranges are tested by the editors of 10Rate.com, who combine their own testing with consumer reviews and a thorough analysis of product features. They compile that information to choose the top products in various categories. Each range is given a brief review that includes strengths and weakness for that particular model. Electric ranges are covered in a separate article.
7. HomeDepot.com
As of May 2014
Ranges
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com sells hundreds of electric, gas and dual-fuel ranges. While most of the ranges sold here receive only a handful of user reviews, we found several popular models with more than 150 reviews each. In general, electric ranges get more feedback than gas models. The most popular brands here include GE, LG and Whirlpool.
8. Lowes.com
As of May 2014
Ranges
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentSearching user reviews at Lowes.com can be a tedious task due to models being listed multiple times (for each color). Once we managed to sort through the tangle of listings, however, we found quite a few ranges in each category with 150 reviews or more. Whirlpool models are particularly popular here. One perk of this site is that each review page summarizes the most commonly cited pros and cons, so you can get a quick overview of user opinion.
9. AJMadison.com
As of May 2013
Cooking Ranges & Stoves
by Contributors to AJMadison.com
Our AssessmentCompared to other retail sites, AJMadison.com makes it easy to sort through user reviews of ranges. Not only does the main page show the model number, overall star rating and number of reviews for each product, but the full list of products can also be sorted in several ways. We found several models with more than 200 reviews and high overall ratings.
10. Sears.com
As of May 2014
Ranges
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com allows owners to post reviews on the site, and it's one of the few places where Kenmore appliances (sold only by Sears) are rated. Of the more than 500 ranges sold on this site, about half receive at least a few reviews from users; however, only a few have more than 100 comments. Whirlpool ranges are reviewed more often than any other brand.
11. Bestcovery.com
Feb. 10, 2014
Best Gas Range
by William Nam
Our AssessmentBesctovery.com hosts several reviews on various consumer products, including kitchen ranges. In this article, William Nam lists the best gas ranges in several categories, including freestanding, high-end freestanding, budget freestanding, slide-in, high-end slide-in and budget slide-in categories. Most of the ratings, however, appear to be based on features and not actual testing. Bestcovery.com also covers electric ranges and dual-fuel ranges in separate reports.
12. Bestcovery.com
Feb. 24, 2014
Best Electric Range
by Jerry Arlen
Our AssessmentThis article is very similar to other Bestcovery articles referenced in this report except that it covers electric ranges. Several models are ranked in various categories, including freestanding, high-end freestanding, budget freestanding, slide-in, high-end slide-in and budget slide-in electric ranges. The criteria for evaluating these models isn't clear, however.
13. Bestcovery.com
Feb. 10, 2014
Best Dual Fuel Range
by William Nam
Our AssessmentWilliam Nam, housewares expert at Bestcovery.com, lists the five top-performing dual-fuel ranges. Each model is reviewed in depth and ranked in comparison to the others listed. It isn't clear if the ranges were tested, however, and the rating criteria isn't clear. One of the models -- the Bosch HDI7282U -- is included in another Bestcovery article.
14. J.D. Power & Associates
July 17, 2013
2013 Laundry/Kitchen Appliance Studies
by Editors of J.D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentMore than 3,900 consumers contribute to J.D. Power's 2013 survey about ranges, cooktops and ovens. Brands are rated in six categories: performance and reliability, features, ease of use, styling, price and warranty. Kenmore Elite takes the top position with an overall score of 812 points out of a possible 1,000. Wolf and Samsung follow closely behind with 810 and 808 points respectively. No individual ranges are rated here, so this report is helpful only for gauging overall brand satisfaction.
Sponsored Links

Back to top