Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Ranges: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
As of July 2012
Kitchen Ranges
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org provides ratings on its website for more than 100 gas, electric and dual-fuel ranges. Ranges are rated on how quickly they heat water, as well as their performance at melting, simmering, broiling and baking. Electric ranges perform better overall than gas and dual-fuel ranges, and some mainstream models prove just as adept at basic cooking tasks as very expensive ones. The site provides separate ratings charts for gas and electric models and groups coil-top, smoothtop and induction models together. Advantages and disadvantages of each model are discussed, along with frequency-of-repair ratings for different brands.
Electric Range Reviews
by Updated March 2011
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping tests more than 26 electric ranges, including both standard and induction ranges. Each range is evaluated on its boiling, baking and broiling performance, as well as features and ease of use. Editors provide a letter grade for each model, accompanied by a short write-up summarizing its pros and cons. Some of the electric stoves listed here were tested in March 2011, but others are from an earlier round of tests in 2008, and some of the listed models are discontinued. Gas and dual-fuel ranges are evaluated in a separate report.
3. Good Housekeeping
Updated March 2011
Gas Range Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping's report on gas and dual-fuel ranges covers more models than the report on electric ranges; there are 31 ranges listed here, but fewer of them receive top grades. Only one dual-fuel range, the Viking VDSC530-4BSS, gets an A-, and of the eight ranges that earn grades of B+, four are discontinued. As in the report on electric ranges, reviewers test each model's boiling, baking and broiling performance and provide a summary of its strong and weak points.
4. Which? magazine
As of July 2012
Range cooker reviews
by Editors of Which? magazine
Our AssessmentMore than 80 electric and gas freestanding ranges (or "cookers," as they're called in Britain) are reviewed by Which?, a U.K.-based consumer magazine. Testers check oven temperatures, bake cakes to test heat distribution, grill toast on the broiler and test the burners on both high and low heat. A few of the tested brands (Electrolux, Bosch, Hotpoint) are available in the U.S., but model numbers and styles in the U.K. are different from those in the U.S., so it's difficult to draw any useful conclusions about American ranges from this report.
5. J.D. Power & Associates
Aug. 3, 2011
Home Appliance Study
by Editors of J.D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentMore than 4,300 consumers contribute to J.D. Power's 2011 survey about ranges, cooktops and ovens. Brands are rated in six categories: performance and reliability, features, ease of use, styling, price and warranty. LG and high-end manufacturer Wolf are tied for the top slot, with overall scores of 804 points out of a possible 1,000. GE Monogram, another high-end brand, is a close third. Most other brands earn scores between 758 and 800, but Hotpoint and Amana trail with scores in the low 730s. No individual ranges are rated here, so this report is helpful only for gauging overall brand satisfaction.
6. HomeDepot.com
As of July 2012
Ranges
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com sells hundreds of electric, gas and dual-fuel ranges. While most of the ranges sold here receive only a handful of user reviews, we found several popular models with more than 50 reviews each. In general, electric ranges get more feedback than gas models. The most popular brands here include GE, Hotpoint, LG and Amana.
7. Lowes.com
As of July 2012
Ranges
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentSearching user reviews at Lowes.com can be a frustrating experience. Although the site does list the number of reviews and the overall rating for each specific model on the main page, ranges of the same model that differ only in color are all listed separately -- so you must either search on the model number or page through all the listings to find them. This can take quite a while, as Lowe's sells more than 800 gas, electric and dual-fuel ranges. Once we managed to sort through the tangle of listings, however, we found quite a few ranges in each category with 25 reviews or more. Maytag models are particularly popular here. One perk of this site is that each review page summarizes the most commonly cited pros and cons, so you can get a quick overview of user opinion.
8. AJMadison.com
As of July 2012
Cooking Ranges & Stoves
by Contributors to AJMadison.com
Our AssessmentCompared to other retail sites, AJMadison.com makes it easy to sort through user reviews of ranges. Not only does the main page show the model number, overall star rating and number of reviews for each product, but the full list of products can also be sorted by brand, rating, price, fuel type, size and number of reviews. This makes it easy to find the products with the best feedback from users. However, there are fewer highly rated products on this site than on some others. We found only three ranges -- two gas and one electric -- with at least 25 reviews and high overall ratings.
9. Sears.com
As of July 2012
Ranges
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com allows owners to post reviews on the site, and it's one of the few places where Kenmore appliances (sold only by Sears) are rated. Of the more than 700 ranges sold on this site, about half receive at least a few reviews from users; however, only a few have more than 25 comments. Finding the most popular products is difficult, as the main list of products doesn't show you how many reviews each product has received (though it does show the overall rating). This makes Sears.com most useful for checking out reviews of specific models once you've narrowed down your search.
10. Viewpoints.com
As of July 2012
Kitchen Range Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com is a review site where users post their feedback on a wide range of consumer products, including kitchen ranges. Even though there are more than 140 ranges rated here, few attract enough reviews to form a conclusion. Very few ranges receive more than a dozen comments, and it's not always clear what model is being reviewed.
11. Buzzillions.com
As of July 2012
Range Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentThis site compiles consumer reviews from several retailers, including AJMadison.com, theoretically making it a good one-stop alternative to visiting a bunch of smaller sites. However, it's not always clear which model is being reviewed, and some model numbers appear twice in the main list. Also, the way the site sorts products is somewhat confusing: Some highly ranked ranges appear lower down the list than others with fewer total reviews and a lower average user rating. On the plus side, the site does offer a handy summary of the most commonly cited pros and cons for each product. Since this site duplicates reviews from other sites we have used as sources, we have relied on it only as a backup for finding additional feedback on well-rated ranges.
12. Epinions.com
As of July 2012
Ranges
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentIf you're looking for a review of a specific model, Epinions.com is worth a try, as it's easier to find an owner review for a particular range than to assess which models are rated better than others. Most models have no reviews, and most of those that do receive only one or two write-ups. We did not find any ranges with more than about a dozen comments from owners. Also, it's not always clear which model is being reviewed.
13. GardenWeb.com
As of July 2012
Appliances Forum
by Contributors to GardenWeb.com
Our AssessmentIf you have a few hours and like reading about appliances, GardenWeb's appliances forum is for you. This site is full of forums for every home-improvement interest, and contributors include kitchen enthusiasts, service technicians and appliance-store owners. The discussions here are candid and specific, covering Wolf, Dacor, Thermador and other high-end ranges. However, because ranges are mixed in with all other appliances, this site is more useful for evaluating specific models or brands than for finding recommended ranges.
Sponsored Links

Back to top