Page: 2 of 2
In this report

Razors: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. TheSweetHome.com
Updated Aug. 4, 2015
The Best Manual Razor for Most Faces
by Dan Koeppel
Our AssessmentTheSweethome.com conducts the granddaddy of all men's razor tests. Dan Koeppel tries 100 razors, asks 30 barbers for their recommendations and has 10 men test three finalists. Koeppel explains the testing process and results at length. He names one best razor (a popular refillable drugstore model), a disposable pick and an old-fashioned safety razor pick.
2. Sharpologist.com
July 31, 2013
What Is the Best DE Razor?
by Mark Herro
Our AssessmentMark Herro, a retired Texas A&M University telecommunications manager, became a widely known shaving guru after posting YouTube instructional videos on how to shave the old-fashioned way, with a straight or safety razor. Here, he gives a great primer on double-edge (DE) safety razors and names his favorites (and honorable mentions) in several categories -- value, travel, etc.
3. Sharpologist.com
Nov. 20, 2013
What Is the Best Gillette Fusion ProGlide Alternative?
by Mark Herro
Our AssessmentWhile Herro prefers straight or safety razors, he notes in this article that "modern cartridge razors have their place." He evaluates seven less expensive alternatives to the popular Gillette Fusion ProGlide. He talks about "our testers'" experiences with the razors, but he doesn't say he tested them himself. Herro says all seven work well.
4. About.com
Updated February 26, 2016
My Picks for Top 5 Best Razors
by David Alexander
Our AssessmentDavid Alexander, About.com's men's hair expert, regularly tests all kinds of razors -- major-brand razors, cheap razors, upscale razors, subscription-club razors. Many get a one-page review, where Alexander describes his shaving experience and rates the razor on a 5-star scale. Alexander's five favorites are named on this page.
5. Lifehacker.com
July 14, 2013
Five Best Razors
by Alan Henry and Contributors to Lifehacker.com
Our AssessmentLifehacker.com polls its readers to find out which razor they like best. With more than 10,000 votes cast, five razors rise to the top: two Gillette refillables and three old-fashioned safety razors. Alan Henry describes each razor and explains why readers say they like it. He says he also kept an eye out for corporate vote-rigging, but he didn't find any.
6. Amazon.com
As of March 2016
Shaving and Hair Removal
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is an excellent source for owner reviews of men's shaving razors. Standout razors earn at least a 4.5-out-of-5-star rating after 100 or more user reviews. Safety razors earn the highest reviews, but there are a few top-rated refillable and disposable razors, too.
7. Target.com
As of March 2016
Men's Grooming
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com carries a wide variety of men's shaving razors, including some that attract thousands of user reviews. Standout models have at least 100 user reviews and an average rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars or better.
8. Walmart.com
As of March 2016
Razors
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentThis is another site where you can see lots of user reviews of razors and blades. Most razors earn modest numbers of reviews, others can see feedback numbering into the thousands. Users can leave brief remarks and say whether or not they would recommend a razor to a friend.
9. Men's Fitness
Sept. 29, 2015
The Best Shaving Subscription Boxes
by Mark Ellwood
Our AssessmentTo find the best subscription shaving products, Mark Ellwood says he "actually tried them all." He gets advice from Sharpologist blogger Mark Herro and celebrity groomer Joanna Pensinger, too. He names a winner and runner-up in four categories, ranging from no-nonsense to super-pampering. He bases his picks not only on the quality of the razor, but also the shaving creams, etc. included in the box.
10. KingAnt.net
Dec. 10, 2013
Men's Razor Comparison
by Mark Doliner
Our AssessmentOn his personal blog, clean-shaven computer software engineer Mark Doliner tests six razors from Gillette and Schick (including the vaunted Gillette Fusion ProGlide Power) for a few months. He prefers one of the Gillette razors. He concludes that more blades aren't always better, and most blades last equally long.
11. New York Magazine
April 18, 2014
Gillette's New Razor Is Everything That's Wrong With American Innovation
by Kevin Roose
Our AssessmentThe Gillette Fusion ProGlide FlexBall "is a bad idea," Kevin Roose argues. It's just a "dumb novelty" that isn't really any sort of shaving innovation, not worthy of Procter & Gamble's multi-billion-dollar R&D budget. Roose says the "cheapo razors" he buys online (he links to Dorco's website) are just as good as Gillette's pricier razors.

Best razor for men

Merkur 34C
Merkur 34C

Back to top