Sponsored Links
Page: 7 of 7

Refrigerators: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Refrigerators
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org tests far more refrigerators than any other source. The site currently lists ratings for nearly 300 refrigerators, including top-freezer, bottom-freezer, side-by-side, built-in and compact models. Editors test the fridges' temperature performance under controlled conditions; measure their noise level; and assess energy efficiency, usable capacity and ease of use. Results appear in a chart that allows for easy comparison. The report also compares the overall reliability of specific brands.
2. Reviewed.com
As of February 2015
Refrigerators
by Editors of Reviewed.com
Our AssessmentReviewed.com does not test as many refrigerators as ConsumerReports.org, but still manages to cover tons of options of all types, and at all price points. In addition, discussion is a bit more in depth than what we see at ConsumerReports.org. Testing is hands on and explained. Top refrigerators draw Editors' Choice awards, and the site bestows annual Best of the Year designations on those that are the most impressive of that lot. At the other end of the spectrum, the editors are not bashful about identifying refrigerators that disappoint. The ads that appear between each page on the site makes navigation a pain, but one that's worth putting up with because of the quality of the content.
3. BestBuy.com
As of February 2015
Refrigerators
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com is a great place to read user reviews of refrigerators. Lots of models are listed, and some have dozens and even hundreds of reviews. The rating and number of reviews each refrigerator gets are listed right on the main navigation page, and a handy sort feature allows you to view all the best-rated models on a single page. You can also sort listings by type, brand, price, size and color. While links are provided to also read reviews at manufacturer sites, the ratings here are drawn strictly from BestBuy.com users.
4. Sears.com
As of February 2015
Refrigerators
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentMore than 500 refrigerators are sold at Sears.com, and some have user reviews numbering in the hundreds. All reviews appear to be unique to Sears.com. This is also the best source of user reviews for Kenmore refrigerators, since only Sears sells this brand.
5. Lowes.com
As of February 2015
Refrigerators
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentSearching user reviews at Lowes.com is a bit of a hassle. You can see the more than 250 refrigerators sold here on a single page and sort the listings in various ways, but the same model in different colors may show up several times in the list. Thus, you must search for a specific model number to make sure you have really seen all its reviews. Lots of refrigerators get plenty of feedback, but a good percentage of the reviews for many models is drawn from the maker's website -- and these same reviews can be seen on many other retailer sites as well.
6. HHGregg.com
As of February 2015
Refrigerators
by Contributors to HHGregg.com
Our AssessmentH.H. Gregg is an appliance and electronics chain found in the Eastern U.S. It does not sell as many refrigerators as other retail sites, but we still found quite a few fridges here with 100 user reviews or more. Like Lowes.com, this site provides a handy summary of pros and cons for each refrigerator owners have reviewed, and the most helpful positive and negative reviews appear at the top of the comments. Some of the reviews here appear on or originate from other sites.
7. HomeDepot.com
As of February 2015
Refrigerators
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com has listings for more than 600 refrigerators, split up into separate pages by type (top-freezer, bottom-freezer, and so on). User reviews are plentiful; we found many fridges here with more than 200 comments each. Navigating the reviews poses some challenges, however, as refrigerators of different colors may be split up between pages. Also, while there are many ways to sort the reviews, you can only see four of them at a time. Some reviews are unique to HomeDepot.com's site, while others can be found at a variety of other retailer sites on the Internet.
8. AJMadison.com
As of February 2015
Refrigerators
by Contributors to AJMadison.com
Our AssessmentThis retail site makes searching reviews easy. It's possible to view all the refrigerators sold here on a single page (or sort them by type if you prefer) and rearrange the entire list based on average rating or number of reviews. Brand names, model numbers, and even color choices are all easy to see at a glance. Some reviews are identified as originally being written at manufacturer sites.
9. DigitalTrends.com
As of February 2015
Refrigerator Reviews
by Editors of DigitalTrends.com
Our AssessmentDigitalTrends.com is better known as a reviewer of technology products but the site has recently reviewed a trio of Samsung refrigerators. The reports are nicely detailed, and while heavily based on things like features and design, include credible hands-on testing. One refrigerator emerges to earn Editors' Choice status.
10. Good Housekeeping
Last updated May 2013
Refrigerator Reviews
by Editors of the Good Housekeeping Research Institute
Our AssessmentThe Good Housekeeping editors currently list reviews for 34 French-door and side-by-side refrigerators tested between November 2009 and May 2013. The tested models include several counter-depth fridges. Each refrigerator receives a letter grade from A through D based on its ease of use, storage space, temperature consistency and ability to keep food fresh. Write-ups for individual refrigerators are detailed and precise, but all of the top-rated refrigerators are now discontinued.
11. Amazon.com
As of February 2015
Refrigerators
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is a great place to find owner reviews of many products, but, unfortunately, refrigerators is not one of those. Though nearly 6,000 models are listed on the site, few get much in the way of feedback. Most are not sold by Amazon, but by Amazon Marketplace sellers. Whether because of that, the small sample size, or other factors, many refrigerators score worse at Amazon.com than they do at other retail sites.
Sponsored Links

Back to top