Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6

Replacement Windows Reviews and Research

Total of 22 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
As of August 2014
Home Windows
by Editors of ConsumerReports.com
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org rates and ranks replacement windows made of clad-wood, vinyl and fiberglass, looking at both double hung and casement styles. You'll also find a helpful buyer's guide that includes information on things to look for when shopping for a window, choosing and dealing with an installer, and special precautions to take when children might be around.
2. Remodeling & Makeovers magazine
As of August 2014
2014 Cost vs Value Report
by Editors of Remodeling magazine
Our AssessmentEach year, Remodeling magazine surveys popular home improvement and remodeling projects, comparing their costs nationally, regionally, and in major cities, and then reporting on how much of that cost homeowners are likely to recoup when their house is sold. Those projects include window replacement, using both clad-wood and vinyl products.
3. This Old House
Not Dated
All About Wood Windows
by Mark Feirer
Our AssessmentThis slide show walks you through the benefits of wood windows, including wood replacement windows. Topics include how to tell if your old windows need replacing, costs of windows, installation and more.
4. Kiplinger.com
October 2013
Everything You Need to Know About Replacement Windows
by Pat Mertz Esswein
Our AssessmentThis article is a good primer on replacement windows. It discusses how to decide if your project is right for replacement windows, or whether a more complex remodeling job using new-construction windows is the way to go. Advice on types of windows and how to find a dealer and or installer can also be found.
5. Minneapolis Star-Tribune
Jan. 21, 2014
Window Replacement Part 2: Materials and Methods
by Ryan Carey
Our AssessmentMinneapolis area contractor Ryan Carey shares his take on different types of replacement windows in this guest blog post. Topics discussed are popular types of replacement windows and when a new construction window is called for instead of a replacement window. Other parts of this three-part series offer hints on dealing with replacement-window salespeople, and Carey's takes on some major window manufacturers.
Replacement Windows
by Editors of National Fenestration Rating Council
Our AssessmentThe National Fenestration Rating Council (NFRC) is an independent organization that tests doors, windows and skylights, and rates them on several measures of energy efficiency (Energy Star qualification is based on two of the NFRC ratings). The NFRC fact sheets and a directory of NFRC-certified products are especially useful.
Replacement Windows for Existing Homes
by Editors for Efficient Windows Collaborative
Our AssessmentThe Efficient Windows Collaborative website is a joint project of the Center for Sustainable Building Research at the University of Minnesota, the Alliance to Save Energy and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. The site is full of useful information about how to choose the best replacement windows for your climate and how to make sure they are installed properly.
8. DoItYourself.com
Not Dated
A Guide to Choosing Replacement Windows
by Kim Ray
Our AssessmentThis article provides a brief primer on the different types of replacement windows. The pros and cons of wood, vinyl, aluminum, clad-wood, fiberglass and other windows are provided.
9. Inman News
June 3, 2011
Best windows: vinyl, aluminum or wood?
by Arrol Gellner
Our AssessmentThis article on Inman News, a site for real estate brokers and agents, discusses the different types of replacement windows, and whether or not replacing your windows makes sense in the first place. He suggests that if you do plan to replace windows, you opt for wood if you already have wood windows, aluminum if you have aluminum, and to avoid vinyl altogether for aesthetic reasons.
10. About.com
Not Dated
Vinyl vs. Fiberglass Windows
by Lee Wallender
Our AssessmentHome renovations expert Lee Wallender compares vinyl windows to fiberglass ones. He notes that fiberglass is superior in most respects, but that lower cost makes vinyl still worth considering.
11. Angie's List
July 17, 2014
Pros and cons of vinyl vs aluminum windows
by Angie Hicks
Our AssessmentAngie's List owner Angie Hicks gives her take on whether to opt for vinyl or aluminum replacement windows. Vinyl gets the nod in most instances, though those living in mild climates that are also hurricane prone might find aluminum a worthwhile alternative. General advice on shopping for windows and hiring an installer are also provided.
12. CalFinder.com
As of August 2014
Window Replacement
by Editors of CalFinder.com
Our AssessmentCalFinder.com is a nationwide contractor referral service. This blog includes a wealth of information on topics related to replacing or updating your windows. You can also search for additional articles and topics, which are scattered across this sprawling site.
13. GreenHomeGuide.com
As of August 2014
Windows
by Contributors to Green Home Guide
Our AssessmentBuilding pros answer questions from readers in this forum. A search under the topic "windows" brings up a series of questions and answers about how green and/or energy efficient different types of windows are and how to improve existing windows' performance.
14. Sensible Home
Not Dated
Fiberglass replacement windows are efficient, maintenance-free
by Jim Dulley
Our AssessmentHome expert Jim Dulley shares his take on fiberglass replacement windows. His opinion is that the advantages of fiberglass makes the initial extra cost worthwhile. Dulley also offers a downloadable PDF file that lists some of the options available from various window companies. Although not dated, it appears that much of the information is still current.
Why Fiberglass Windows Are Gaining Popularity
by Jim Cory
Our AssessmentThis article deals with the growing popularity of Fiberglass windows. It notes that, for now, Fiberglass remains a niche product, with just 2.6 percent of the replacement window market. However, growing awareness -- partly because more manufacturers are offering them -- could push its share higher. Because of cost, however, wood and vinyl will continue to be more popular.
16. NACHI.org
Not Dated
Vinyl Windows
by Nick Gromicko and Rob London
Our AssessmentThe International Association of Certified Home Inspectors posts this article on the positives and negatives of vinyl windows. While the content is aimed at new construction windows, much applies to replacement windows as well. Nick Gromicko and Rob London conclude that home inspectors should be on the lookout for certain defects that are unique to vinyl windows.
Vinyl Windows: An Impressive Growth History
by Joe Hums
Our AssessmentJoe Hums of Quanex Building Products discusses the AAMA's 2011/2012 market study for the door and window industry, and what it says about vinyl new construction and replacement windows. In general, he notes, vinyl has become an overwhelming favorite among window buyers. He cites energy efficiency, low maintenance, durability and affordability as reasons why.
Fiberglass: Green and Sustainability
by Editors of the American Architectural Manufacturers Association
Our AssessmentThis article on the AAMA web site addresses the environmental factors that make fiberglass a good replacement window choice. Issues addressed include fiberglass's energy efficiency, its chief ingredients, and recycling.
19. Buildllc.com
Dec. 11, 2012
Top 10 Things to Know About Aluminum Windows
by Editors of Build LLC
Our AssessmentThe architects at Build LLC lay out the reasons why they use aluminum windows in many of their projects. They cite cost, functionality and the materials clean lines. The poorer energy efficiency of aluminum is addressed, but dismissed as being outweighed by aluminum's advantages: "We believe that the potential energy loss through the frame is more than offset by the durability, low maintenance and clean aesthetic," they say.
20. DIY Network
Not Dated
How to Install a Replacement Window
by Editors of DIY Network
Our AssessmentThis instructional guide includes a video overview and demonstrates how to replace a double-hung window. Other instructions on the site show you how to install a window sash replacement kit, how to repair and repaint old window sashes and more.
21. Contractor Talk
As of August 2014
Windows, Siding and Doors
by Contributors to Contractor Talk
Our AssessmentContractors discuss their experiences with different types and brands of windows in this online forum. This is a great site to look for specific information and opinions from people with experience in the building industry.
22. GardenWeb.com
As of August 2014
Windows Forum
by Contributors to GardenWeb.com
Our AssessmentHomeowners discuss and ask questions here; you can post your own question or search for information about specific windows or types of windows. It can be a little hard to sort through some back-and-forth and find information you can trust, but it's worth reading.
Sponsored Links

Back to top