Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Running Shoes: Ratings of Sources

Total of 21 Sources
1. Runner's World
Nov. 12, 2012
Winter 2012 Shoe Guide
by Jeff Dengate, Martyn Shorten, Ph.D.
Our AssessmentRunner's World is the hands-down best source for professional reviews of running shoes. In this latest version of their review roundup, they offer video evaluations and brief reviewer comments for 12 top models. Of those models, several are singled out as Editor's Choice, Best Buy and Best Debut running shoes.
2. Runner's World
May 8, 2012
Summer 2012 Running Shoe Guide
by Martyn Shorten, Ph.D., Jeff Dengate
Our AssessmentIn another installment of their shoe-guide series, wear-testers with Runner's World comment on how new models perform. Each review contains an expert analysis to accompany the brief tester comments, plus basic stats and a bottom line. Several models are singled out for awards, including Best Update, Best Buy and Editor's Choice.
3. Runner's World
Feb. 11, 2012
Spring 2012 Shoe Guide
by Warren Greene, Brian D. Sabin, Martyn Shorten, Ph.D.
Our AssessmentThis edition of the Runner's World shoe guide covers 23 new models and introduces a PDF flowchart to help you select the best shoe for your particular needs. Although the shoes aren't directly compared to each other, each review includes expert analysis, tester commentary, specifications, and a bottom-line recommendation for whom each shoe would best suit. Several awards are given, including an Editor's Choice for the Saucony ProGrid Guide 5.
4. Runner's World
April 25, 2011
Summer 2011 Running Shoe Guide
by Warren Greene, Sean Downey, Martyn Shorten, Ph.D.
Our AssessmentIn the June 2011 issue of Runner's World editors review 20 new running shoes, three of which are singled out as top performers. The Brooks Ravenna 2 earns the Editor's Choice award, while the K-Swiss Kwicky Blade-Light and Saucony ProGrid Kinvara 2 are selected for the Best Debut award and the Best Buy award, respectively.
5. ConsumerReports.org
As of October 2013
Athletic Shoes Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentTesters for ConsumerReports.org logged more than 2,000 miles while evaluating two dozen pairs of running shoes. The shoes tested are for runners with a neutral footstrike; in other words, those who don't need a shoe that corrects for inefficient biomechanics. As with all ConsumerReports.org ratings, each model is separately evaluated for a number of criteria and then assigned an overall score that makes comparing the various models easy.
6. Runner's World U.K.
Sept. 10, 2012
Autumn/Winter Shoe Guide 2012
by Editors of Runner's World U.K.
Our AssessmentLike its U.S. cousin, the U.K. version of Runner's World publishes multiple roundups of the best shoe reviews every year. This latest edition covers 18 running shoes, plus a few minimalist and barefoot models. Unlike the U.S. version, Runner's World U.K. assigns each shoe a star rating out of 5. In this case, we listed models that receive a 4-star rating (none earn a perfect 5-star score). The reviews include ratings in several categories and an analysis of pros and cons.
7. Runner's World U.K.
March 26, 2012
Spring/Summer Shoe Guide 2012
by Kerry McCarthy
Our AssessmentRunner's World U.K. publishes two shoe guides every year. In the first of the 2012 guides, they review and rank dozens of running shoes, plus a few minimalist models. The comparative ratings -- both in individual categories and as overall star ratings out of 5 possible stars -- are a big help for identifying standout models. We list the models that receive 4-, 4.5- and 5-star ratings.
8. TriRadar.com
March 22, 2012
Best Everyday Running Shoes Review
by Editors of TriRadar.com
Our AssessmentAn undisclosed group of testers evaluates 12 pairs of "supportive running" shoes for TriRadar.com. Each pair receives ratings for performance and value, along with an overall score. A bottom-line verdict tells you whom each pair is best for. Commentary is brief but somewhat balanced, with a nod to any negative aspects that crop up. We picked shoes that receive an overall rating of at least 4 out of a possible 5.
9. Canadian Running
Aug. 31, 2012
Running Shoe Review - 2012 Fall Shoe Guide
by Gus Alexandropolous and Mihira Lakshman
Our AssessmentThe authors select the best shoes for fall of 2012, classifying them loosely as neutral, stability or cushioning shoes. Some trail and barefoot running shoes are included. Brief tester comments are included with each overview, although we don't see mentions of any cons, nor do we see any specifics about how testing was conducted.
10. Shape
August 2, 2013
SHAPE Shoe Awards 2013
by Jisa Jhung
Our AssessmentFourteen shoes are reviewed in Shape magazine's most recent annual guide to women's athletic shoes. Models are selected in a variety of categories and named best or honorable mentions for walking, running, etc. The reviewers are brief and tend to focus on the positive; comments from testing staff members make it clear testing was done, although it's not clear how.
11. Shape
July 25, 2013
Shape's Shoe Guide 2011: The Best Athletic Shoes
by Sarah Bowen Shea
Our AssessmentThirteen shoes are reviewed in Shape magazine's most 2011 annual guide to women's athletic shoes. Models are selected in a variety of categories, such as Best Walking Shoes and Best Shoes for Fitness Classes. Here, five running shoes are chosen as the favorite in the following categories: Best Running Shoes for Cushioning, Best Running Shoes for Stability, Best Running Shoes for Speed, Best Running Shoes for Distance and simply Best Running Shoes. The reviewers are brief and tend to focus on the positive; tester comments make it clear testing was done, although it's not clear how.
12. Fitness Magazine
As of December 2012
The Fitness 2012 Sneaker Guide
by Lindsey Emery
Our AssessmentMore than 130 testers evaluate an unknown number of fitness shoes, choosing the 20 best models for walking, hiking, cross-training, tennis, cycling and running. Best and runner-up shoes are chosen for neutral support, mild stability and extra stability. The brief reviews include testers' comments about each shoe's pros but don't address any negatives, nor do they discuss models that failed to make the grade.
13. DicksSportingGoods.com
As of October 2013
All Men's Running Shoes
by Contributors to DicksSportingGoods.com
Our AssessmentDicksSportingGoods.com contains a wealth of running-shoe customer reviews, with many models receiving 20 or 30 ratings from visitors to the website. We selected models with a 4.5-star or better average score after at least 50 user reviews.
14. Sports Authority
As of October 2013
Running Shoes
by Contributors to SportsAuthority.com
Our AssessmentShoppers at SportsAuthority.com can rate and comment on their favorite running shoes. Most models have at least one or two reviews, but a few stand out with 15 or more reviews and a 4.5-star or better average rating.
15. Women's Running Magazine
Updated Aug. 19, 2012
Spring 2011 Shoe Review
by Jessica Sebor
Our AssessmentSixteen wear-tested winners are picked in this Spring 2011 shoe review from Women's Running magazine with the help of several runners. The article features a brief description of the benefits of each shoe and tester comments. Models are selected as Editor's and Reader's Choices, as well as to fit a variety of needs ranging from stability and speed to value.
16. Health
Not Dated
Health Gear Awards 2011: The Best Fitness Products of the Year
by Rozalynn S. Frazier, Tiffany Melanis
Our AssessmentIn this annual roundup of the best fitness gear, editors of Health magazine select the K-Swiss Kwicky Blade-Light as the top running shoe. It's unclear how many other shoes are considered in the selection process. Although a brief note on the index page says the gear and shoes were tested, there's no further information about exactly how.
17. Outside
June 1, 2012
The 7 Best Road Running Shoes of Summer 2012
by Peter Vigneron
Our AssessmentIn Outside magazine's 2012 Summer Buyer's Guide, editors select seven models as top picks for road-running shoes. Some are actually minimalist models, but a few qualify as general road shoes. Reviews are somewhat brief but informative, including objective ratings in several categories and some information about how testing was done.
18. Amazon.com
As of October 2013
Running Shoes
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells an enormous range of running shoes. Standout models receive a 4.5-star or better rating after about 100 or more user reviews. Quite a few others receive high ratings after 10 or 20 reviews, making Amazon.com one of the best sources for an overall snapshot of user opinion -- but we're only interested in the best rated with the longest track record. Sometimes multiple versions of the same shoe achieve high ratings, in which case we include only the newest version that meets our rating criteria.
19. Running Times
Oct. 2, 2012
Fall 2012 Shoe Guide
by Adam W. Chase
Our AssessmentRunning Times editors review dozens of new running shoes. While their reviews are detailed, their methodology isn't explained. They don't compare, rank or rate models, or select any shoes as the best. In an earlier article, Brian Metzler explains why Running Times doesn't give awards for the best running shoe of the year: "Everyone has vastly different needs and preferences based on their gait, body type and style of running, so picking one shoe out of a bunch of potentially good shoes is misleading."
20. RoadRunnerSports.com
As of October 2013
Men's Running Shoes
by Contributors to RoadRunnerSports.com
Our AssessmentRoadRunnerSports.com is an online retailer of running shoes and apparel. Although the listings are difficult to sort through, they represent a wealth of reviews. Some models receive just 1 or 2 comments, but we found several that stand out with a 4.5-star or better rating after 60 or more reviews.
21. Zappo's
As of October 2013
Running Shoes
by Contributors to Zappos.com
Our AssessmentMany running shoes have a substantial number of reviews at Zappos.com, but it's all but impossible to sort through the shoes' ratings; models are listed multiple times and the reviews contain limited detail. However, this is a good source to check if you already have a specific shoe in mind.
Sponsored Links

Back to top