Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

See Also

Salad Spinners: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. Los Angeles Times
July 30, 2008
The Latest in Salad Spinners
by Emily Dwass
Our AssessmentEmily Dwass rates six spinners for ease of assembly and use, looks and performance. The cheapest spinner, a Copco model, didn't dry greens as well as salad spinners from Zyliss and Oxo. All of them do a better job than a colander alone, but none set Dwass "spinning in delight." The "cool-looking" lime green Zyliss spinner earns Dwass' top rating. Although the spinners are listed in order of preference, the write-up for the last-place Cuisinart model is more positive than that of the fifth-place Copco spinner.
2. Chow.com
May 10, 2007
Dizzy Greens: The Best Salad Spinners
by Louisa Chu
Our AssessmentLouisa Chu, a chef and food writer, puts three salad spinners through their paces: the Spin 'n Stor, Oxo Steel Salad Spinner and Dynamic Manual Salad Spinner. The Dynamic spinner, which holds more than 2 gallons of greens, is very expensive but "well worth the bucks," Chu writes. She likes the Oxo spinner's performance and its steel bowl, which can double as a serving dish. Spin 'n Stor bags are not only reusable, they "actually work," notes Chu. She cautions against spinners with a rip-cord, because she says that they are prone to breaking.
3. Amazon.com
As of March 2010
Salad Spinners
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com allows customers to post candid reviews of the products they own. But occasionally, customers take the opportunity to criticize Amazon.com itself instead of the product. The Oxo Good Grips Salad Spinner and the Oxo Little Salad and Herb Spinner are owner favorites in more than 460 combined reviews. The Chef'n Large Salad Spinner and Zyliss Easy Spin 4-6 Serving Spinner also receive favorable feedback, but based on far fewer reviews. The KitchenAid Professional Salad Spinner, though, is among the lowest-rated salad spinners here; owners don't like that the handle locks if you push down too hard.
4. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
May 1, 2009
Salad Spinners
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentThis short test includes just three models -- two lever-style models and one with a center hand pump -- but the level of detail is good. Testers are professional cooks. We'd rank this report a bit higher if more salad spinners were tested.
5. Epicurious.com
April 21, 2008
Sassy New Salad Spinners
by Gina Provenzano
Our AssessmentProvenzano tests two salad spinners: the Chef'n Salad Spinner and the Zyliss Smart Touch. She likes both, but finds the Chef'n spinner more stylish, while the Zyliss is slightly better at draining water from greens.
6. Cooking.com
As of March 2010
Salad Spinner
by Contributors to Cooking.com
Our AssessmentAt Cooking.com, owners are invited to review the products they've purchased. Most reviews consist of just a line or two, as well as a numerical rating. The Oxo Good Grips Salad Spinner is among the highest-rated salad spinners here in 200 reviews. The Oxo Stainless Salad Spinner is another highly regarded spinner, and the Zyliss Easy Spin and Oxo Little Salad and Herb Spinner also earn above-average reviews.
7. Target.com
As of March 2010
Salad Spinners
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentConsumers can both purchase and review a variety of products on Target.com. While a number of salad spinners are available on this retailer's website, most have only one or two owner-written reviews. The Oxo Good Grips Salad Spinner is the highest-rated salad spinner, with an overall average rating of 4.5 stars out of 5, based on just under 40 reviews. The KitchenAid Salad and Fruit Spinner gets mediocre reviews, with an average rating of 2.5 stars out of a possible 5.
8. Viewpoints.com
As of March 2010
Salad Spinner
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com is a newer consumer review site that offers useful features, such as a review snapshot and a bulleted list of pros and cons for each reviewed product. Unfortunately, not many salad spinners are reviewed here, and most have just a few ratings. The Oxo Good Grips Salad Spinner has an overall average rating of 4.7 stars out of 5 based on more than a dozen reviews.
9. Cookie Magazine
March 23, 2009
Salad Spinner 2.0: Spin 'n Stor
by Adriana Velez
Our AssessmentVelez gives up her salad spinner in favor of Argee Spin 'n Stor bags, which dry salad greens and herbs in addition to serving as a storage bag. Velez notes that the bags are reusable and not as bulky as a salad spinner.
10. HousewaresDesignAwards.com
Feb. 3, 2010
Housewares Design Awards Winners Named
by Editors of HousewaresDesignAwards.com
Our AssessmentThe Progressive International Collapsible Salad Spinner gets an award in the kitchen and barware category in this annual competition among innovative housewares products. No details are provided about this salad spinner's performance, however.
Sponsored Links

Back to top