Page: 2 of 2

Shop Vacs: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Wet/Dry Vacuums
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org puts 23 shop vacuums through objective tests, rating each for wet and dry pickup performance, emissions and ease of use, as well as assigning an overall rating. The focus is on the three most popular consumer brands for household and shop use in four size ranges. While a few top-rated wet dry vacs have been discontinued since this report was published, the ratings are still quite useful for most, and similar models are often available.
2. Fine Homebuilding
Nov. 2013
Tool Test: Shop Vacs
by Paul Johnson
Our AssessmentPaul Johnson and editors at FineHomebuilding.com put eight wet dry vacs through three rigorous tests: eating concrete, digesting dust, and chewing nails. Editors chose vacuums based on their suitability for general job-site and shop use, also considering factors such as price, availability, capacity, features, and functionality. All eight models either come with or are compatible with HEPA filters as well as disposable filter bags. Other articles on the site -- including some that are free even for non-members -- look at other shop vacs, either in round ups or single product reviews.
3. Fine Woodworking
As of March 2016
Shop Vacs
by Editors of Fine Woodworking
Our AssessmentWhile some content is restricted to members only, you can read a number of reviews of tool-actuated shop vacuums at Fine Woodworking. Testing is comprehensive, and hands on. Ratings aren't assigned in most cases, and some of the reviews are quite old, but opinions are rendered that leave no doubt about where a particular workshop vacuum does well, and where it has a little room to improve.
4. Popular Mechanics
April 2015
We Test the 6 Best Shop Vacs
by Roy Berendsohn
Our AssessmentRoy Berendsohn and his team test six wet dry vacs. Timed test are run to evaluate how quickly each model picks up two pounds of sawdust, two pounds of screened top soil, and one gallon of water.
5. Truck Trend
March 2014
Garage Shop Vacuum Shootout
by Dan Ward
Our AssessmentDan Ward puts four wet dry vacs under $100 to the test by cleaning up various common shop messes such as grinder dust, metal shaving and water. Other considerations include cord and hose length, noise, capacity, suction power, and other features.
6. Amazon.com
As of March 2016
Wet/Dry Vacuums
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentOwner ratings and reviews can reveal durability and find usability problems that may not be apparent during professional testing. Reviews at Amazon.com can be filtered by star rating or date, and the results can be narrowed to show only reviews from verified purchasers, making it simple to filter out most unauthentic reviews.
7. HomeDepot.com
As of March 2016
Wet/Dry Vacuums
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com lists dozens of wet dry vacuums. Several models have hundreds of owner-written reviews; however, some reviews are drawn from manufacturer websites and also appear on several other sites. Wet dry vacs get an overall rating as well as ratings in sub-categories including quality, value and features, and verified purchases are noted as well.
8. Lowes.com
As of March 2016
Shop Vacuums
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLike HomeDepot.com, Lowes.com sometimes includes reviews from manufacturer websites and other review sources, although it appears as though most wet dry vac reviews were written on Lowes.com. Reviewers offer ratings for features, quality, value, design and ease of use in addition to overall ratings and comments.
9. This Old House
Not Dated
Tool Test: Compact Utility Vacs
by Sal Vaglica
Our AssessmentA contractor tests out four compact shop vacs at a job site and shares his impressions. No top model is explicitly named, but strengths and weaknesses among 4 to 5 gallon utility vacs are highlighted.
10. ProToolReviews.com
As of March 2016
Power Tools
by Editors of ProToolReviews.com
Our AssessmentProToolReview.com reviews all sorts of workshop tools, including tool-activated shop vacs (dust extractors) and cordless utility vacs. You have to search a little to find reviews, be careful to separate news and product announcements from actual reviews, and some reviews are more rigorous and complete than others, but the effort often pays of in some helpful insights.
11. Walmart.com
As of March 2016
Wet/Dry Vacuums
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com publishes owner-written reviews and ratings of the wet dry vacuum cleaners it sells. A few models have accumulated several dozen owner-written reviews or more. Verified purchases are noted, and reviewers can state whether they'd recommend the product to a friend. There are no ratings for sub-categories such as features or ease of use, and most of the written reviews are short.

Back to top