Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

See Also

Shower Heads: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Showerheads
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentFor this report, male and female staffers at ConsumerReports.org shower with 18 different shower heads over an eight-week period. The panelists evaluate each shower head based on the feel of the water flow and the ease of adjustment. Staffers also measure each shower head's flow rate and water temperature. In general, panelists prefer shower heads that deliver a strong stream, but one low-priced shower head with a 2-gpm flow rate earns a thumbs-up.
2. The New York Times
Aug. 26, 2009
Saving Water, Staying Clean
by Stephen Treffinger
Our AssessmentReviewer Stephen Treffinger installs and tests 17 water-saving shower heads in his own shower at home. Then he evaluates each one for comfort, flow rate and usefulness of spray settings. Treffinger notes that manufacturers' claims about flow rate tend to be spot on. He also provides detailed comments about features and the feel of the various spray settings, but only for his seven favorite models. The 10 that don't make the cut aren't named.
3. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Showerhead Test/Water-Saving Tips Video
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentThis video explains how the Good Housekeeping Research Institute tests shower heads, evaluating each for performance, comfort and ability to rinse shampoo from a mannequin's hair. Waterpik, Kohler, and Bricor models receive the highest ratings, while the Alsons Fluidics shower head (now the Delta 52655) receives criticism for its "needle-like" spray. However, the video is not dated, and there is no information about the other shower heads included in the tests.
4. Esquire magazine
Oct. 7, 2012
A Man and His Showerhead
by Editors of Esquire magazine
Our AssessmentThe editors of Esquire recommend five fixed shower heads for men with various preferences: a gentle stream, a water-saving shower, and so on. These are all high-end shower heads, ranging from $73 to over $500. The article serves up a paragraph of descriptive prose on the feel and features of each shower head, but there's no information about how they were actually selected or which competitors fell short by comparison.
5. Amazon.com
As of December 2013
Showerheads & Handheld Showers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere are literally thousands of shower heads for sale at Amazon.com, including fixed shower heads, handhelds and shower systems. In each category, we found at least one or two models with high ratings from 200 users or more. Many of the shower heads that are most popular here are lower-priced models that aren't included in professional tests. However, we also saw strong reviews for well-rated shower heads from Moen, Oxygenics and American Standard.
6. HomeDepot.com
As of December 2013
Shower Heads
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentAlthough Home Depot sells more than 900 shower heads through its website, most of them have few or no reviews from owners. We found only a handful of models with positive reviews from 25 owners or more. We did not find recommendations for any very cheap or very high-end shower heads; all the top picks are in the $40-to-$60 range.
7. Lowes.com
As of December 2013
Showerheads & Hand Showers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowe's sells more than 2,000 fixed and handheld shower heads, but only a handful of them receive more than 25 reviews. The clear standout here is the American Standard FloWise 1660.717, a fixed, low-flow shower head that earns an overall rating of 4.6 stars out of 5 from nearly 50 owners. We also found positive reviews for shower heads from Kohler, Moen and Delta.
8. Buzzillions.com
As of December 2013
Shower Head Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentMost of the reviews at Buzzillions.com come from small online plumbing supply stores, so there aren't as many reviews here as there are at the major retail sites. Finding the top picks is a bit tricky, as you can't see the number of reviews or the overall rating from the main page. On the plus side, the site provides a handy list of the top pros and cons for each model.
9. The Huffington Post
Updated Oct. 11, 2012
Buying Guide: Showerhead Reviews (PHOTOS)
by Dickson Wong
Our AssessmentThis Huffington Post article starts out with general advice about factors to consider when choosing a new shower head. At the bottom is a slideshow displaying some of the editors' favorite shower heads, with a one-sentence summary of their benefits. There's no indication that these shower heads were tested in any way, but the site does allow readers to rate and rank them, so there's at least some information to back up the picks.
10. Fine Homebuilding
April 3, 2009
Five Quick Showerhead Replacements
by Nena Donovan Levine
Our AssessmentInterior designer Nena Donovan Levine recommends five easy-to-install shower heads in this article from Fine Homebuilding magazine. Unfortunately, there's no indication that the shower heads have been tested and discussion is limited to their feature sets. Moreover, most of the recommendations are for a whole line rather than a specific model. Two of the five picks are now discontinued.
11. Real Simple
Not dated
The Best Showerheads
by Elisa Huang
Our AssessmentThis brief slideshow displays Real Simple's favorite shower heads in four categories: variable spray, rain can, massaging and luxury. There's a short paragraph about each shower head's features, but there's no discussion of methodology, and models that didn't make the cut aren't mentioned. The article isn't dated, either, and two of the four picks are discontinued.
12. Tibesti.com
Not dated
Best Shower Head for Water Conservation & Best Low Flow Showerhead
by Anca Novacovici
Our AssessmentEco-friendly product expert Anca Novacovici recommends several low-flow shower heads at Tibesti.com. While the individual write-ups describe each model's benefits well, there's no indication of testing -- a common problem with shower head reviews. Several of the recommended shower heads are discontinued, and a couple of others are now sold under different names.

Shower Heads Runners Up:

American Standard FloWise 1660.717 Est. $35

4 picks including: Amazon.com, HomeDepot.com…

Oxygenics SkinCare Est. $30

3 picks including: Amazon.com, Fine Homebuilding…

Kohler Forté K-10282-CP Est. $40

3 picks including: Amazon.com, HomeDepot.com…

Ana Bath SS5450 Shower System Est. $75

1 pick including: Amazon.com…

image
American Standard 1660.717.002 Flowise 3 Function Water-Saving Showerhead, Chrome
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $67.00 $29.12   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Oxygenics 60120 SkinCare Showerhead, Chrome
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $39.95   
Average Customer Review:  
image
KOHLER K-10282-CP Forte Single-Function Showerhead, Polished Chrome
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $67.80 $35.17   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Ana Bath SS5450CBN 5 Inch 5 Function Handheld Shower and Showerhead Combo Shower System, PVD Brushed Nickel Finish
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $84.99 $64.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top