Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Skillets: Ratings of Sources

Total of 16 Sources
1. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
March 2014
Traditional Skillets
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentTesters at Cook's Illustrated put six 12-inch stainless-steel skillets through their paces, searing steaks, making pan sauces, roasting and sautéing. The skillets are rated on durability, performance, sauté speed and user-friendliness. One pan is Highly Recommended, three are Recommended, and two are Not Recommended.
2. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
March 2014
Inexpensive 12-Inch Skillets
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentIn this update of an article originally published in December of 2012, editors test seven 12-inch stainless-steel skillets priced at $100 or less. They run the pans through weeks of testing: searing steaks, pan-roasting, chicken, sautéing onions and making pan sauces. The skillets are also tested for durability. Two pans are Recommended, four are Recommended with Reservations, and one is Not Recommended.
3. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
July 2013
Nonstick Skillets
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentWhile they express a lot of love for stainless steel pans, the editors of Cook's Illustrated recognize that most kitchens need a good nonstick skillet as well. Here they test eight popular nonstick skillets; cooking eggs without oil, stir-frying beef with vegetables and preparing crepes. They also test for durability -- an area where nonstick cookware lags behind other materials. One modestly priced pan aces most of the tests, beating out its pricier rivals. Only one other pan is Recommended.
4. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Best Skillets
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentIn this slideshow, Good Housekeeping presents a roundup of eight "standout" pans in its tests of stainless-steel and nonstick skillets. However, it doesn't describe testing methodology or identify skillets that didn't make the grade; a few are discontinued. Each pan in the slideshow gets a brief paragraph discussing its performance. There are also links to the full reviews for each skillet, with letter grades and a list of pros and cons.
5. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
Sept. 1, 2007
Cast-Iron Skillets
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentEditors test eight cast-iron skillets to see whether they offer a viable alternative to nonstick cookware. They sear steaks, scramble eggs, pan-fry chicken and bake cornbread, and they also evaluate the pans' weight and features. They find that pre-seasoned skillets, which have had a coating of oil baked into the surface, perform better than those they seasoned themselves. However, all the pans perform acceptably. This is an older review, but all of the included pans are still widely available.
6. The Wall Street Journal
March 30, 2012
Nonstick Frying Pans
by Katherine Cancila
Our AssessmentWriter Katherine Cancila tests more than a dozen nonstick pans for The Wall Street Journal and names her top five picks "based on performance, design and durability." There's a brief list of pros and cons for each winner, but she provides no information about testing methods. Also, the skillets that didn't make the cut aren't named. Full text of the article is only available to subscribers.
7. Amazon.com
As of February 2015
Skillets
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentHundreds of different skillets are sold at Amazon.com, and some of them have hundreds or thousands of user reviews. This is a great resources for reading about users real world experiences with their fry pans. With specialty pans, like cast iron and stainless steel, this site is very useful for troubleshooting issues you may be having with your cookware, as commenters often weigh in on poor reviews, offering helpful solutions for solving the problem.
8. Walmart.com
As of February 2015
Pans: Frying Pans & Skillets
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentAs with Amazon.com, hundreds of skillets are sold at Walmart.com, but they tend to receive fewer user reviews. Lodge brand skillets are by far the most popular, with a significant number of positive reviews. Cheaper skillet lines are also well-represented as top sellers.
9. BedBathAndBeyond.com
As of February 2015
Skillets and Fry Pans
by Contributors to BedBathandBeyond.com
Our AssessmentBedBathandBeyond.com sells a wide variety of skillets, many of them in sets of two, but only a few get a significant number of reviews. Emerilware, Calphalon and a few less-well-known brands get the best ratings. 
10. Macys.com
As of February 2015
Fry/Omelette Pan
by Contributors to Macys.com
Our AssessmentMacy's sells a good variety of skillets and cookware sets that include skillets and fry pans on its website, and some have hundreds of reviews. All-Clad is a top seller here, along with T-fal and Anolon Advanced. Reviews can be sorted by demographics, including cooking skill level, and reviewers have the opportunity to say if they would recommend the product.
11. Cooking.com
As of February 2015
Top Rated Skillets & Fry Pans
by Contributors to Cooking.com
Our AssessmentCooking.com sells hundreds of skillets, and the site helpfully gathers all its top rated pans onto a single page. These pans all have at least 20 reviews with a minimum overall rating of 4 stars out of 5; however, a couple have hundreds of reviews. Many of the top-rated skillets come in sets of two.
12. Williams-Sonoma.com
As of February 2015
Fry Pans and Skillets
by Contributors to Williams-Sonoma.com
Our AssessmentWilliams-Sonoma sells quite a few fry pans and skillets, leaning heavily toward the high end of the price spectrum. Some are also Williams-Sonoma exclusives that aren't covered by any other sources. Cookware tends to be pricier here than at other sites, which may explain the lower total number of reviews.
13. Chow.com
As of February 2015
Skillet Reviews
by Editors of Chow.com
Our AssessmentThere are only a few skillet reviews at Chow.com, but they are thorough and include testing. Each skillet is rated from 1 star to 5 stars based upon design and construction and performance in a variety of cooking tasks.
14. SeriousEats.com
Nov. 7, 2014
The Truth About Cast Iron Pans: 7 Myths That Need To Go Away
by J. Kenji López-Alt
Our AssessmentIn this informative article, J. Kenji López-Alt discusses the use and care of cast iron pans in depth. It's a helpful guide to anyone who is interested in maintaining a cast iron pan.
15. Cancer.org
Nov. 6, 2013
Teflon and Perfluorooctanoic Acid (PFOA)
by Editors of Cancer.org
Our AssessmentThis thorough report on the chemicals PFOA and PTFE offers a scientific overview of how they are used in everyday life. They note that Teflon is not suspected of causing cancer, and is considered safe to use in cookware. PFOA is considered more of a risk, but report notes that "Non-stick cookware is not a significant source of exposure."
16. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
Sept. 1, 2009
Green Skillets
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentThis is an older review, and several of the pans have been discontinued or are not widely available. We include it only because several popular manufacturers of so-called "green" pans are included. They don't get much love here, but since this test was done several of these manufactures have improved their products.
Sponsored Links

Back to top