Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6

Snoring Remedies: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. SleepEducation.com
Not dated
Snoring -- Treatments
by Editors of SleepEducation.com
Our AssessmentThis website from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine reviews various snoring remedies. Over-the-counter cures "are not recommended," but a custom-fitted mouthpiece may help. Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) is recommended for patients who snore because of sleep apnea; other suggestions include surgery, weight loss and behavioral changes like switching sleep positions and avoiding alcohol.
2. Mayo Clinic
Nov. 7, 2012
Snoring: Treatments and Drugs
by Editors of MayoClinic.com
Our AssessmentThe Mayo Clinic provides an excellent overview of snoring -- its symptoms, causes, complications and treatments -- based on medical science. It explains the various types of remedies, from surgery to tried-and-true behavior changes. Editors mention two throat-strengthening therapies (singing and playing the didgeridoo) that show promise in studies.
3. WebMD.com
Not dated
7 Easy Fixes for Snoring
by Linda Melone
Our AssessmentThis article -- which quotes top sleep doctors and is reviewed by an M.D. -- explains seven lifestyle changes that can really work to stop snoring. It gives practical advice, like using a body pillow to sleep on your side and keeping a bottle of saltwater rinse in the shower to rinse your nasal passages regularly.
4. Good Housekeeping
Feb. 23, 2013
Snoring Remedies Tested
by Nathalie Bonney
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping tests eight over-the-counter snoring remedies, rating each on a 100-point scale. Nasal strips, throat sprays and anti-snoring pillows work best, although some testers notice no difference. An acupressure ring and chin-up strips (to stick the jaw shut) work less well. The worst performers include internal nasal dilators, over-the-counter mouthpieces and a wristwatch-type device that zaps the snorer with an electrical shock. Similar products are available in the U.S.
5. BritishSnoring.co.uk
April 2012
What Can I Do to Stop Snoring?
by Editors of BritishSnoring.co.uk
Our AssessmentThis website from the British Snoring and Sleep Apnoea Association (accredited by the British government as a trustworthy source of health information) describes simple tests you can do to see what kind of snorer you are, and links to products that might help (the association sells the products on the site). Nasal strips, internal nasal dilators, throat sprays, chin-up strips and mouthpieces are all recommended. The products (or similar ones) are available in the U.S.
6. The New York Times
Dec. 10, 2010
Snoring: What to Do When a Punch in the Shoulder Fails
by Walecia Konrad
Our AssessmentThis article consults the presidents of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine and American Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine to find out which snoring remedies really work. The experts recommend behavior changes, Breathe Right-type nasal strips (if you snore because you're congested) or -- for sleep apnea suffers -- a custom-fitted mouthpiece or CPAP machine. Surgery is a last resort. Other over-the-counter remedies have little evidence to back them up, experts say.
7. BBC News Magazine
May 26, 2009
Snoring 'Cures' Fail for Majority
by Editors of BBC News
Our AssessmentThe BBC recaps a snoring remedy test done by Which? magazine, the U.K.'s version of ConsumerReports.org. Seven couples test seven remedies, including chin-up strips, a throat spray, a nostril dilator, an over-the-counter mouthpiece and a wrist-worn electrical shock device. Which? only recommends two: Breathe Right Nasal Strips for people who snore because of a nasal problem, and a "Singing for Snorers" CD designed to tone the throat muscles, which provided some relief.
Ten Snoring Cures
by Rory Clements
Our AssessmentJournalist Rory Clements tries 10 methods in 10 days in an effort to stop snoring. He tests a throat spray, herbal nasal spray, chin-up strip, over-the-counter mouthpiece, Breathe Right strips and nostril dilator, plus behavior changes like sleeping on his side and using higher pillows. None of them work -- but abstaining from wine (and other alcohol) four hours before bed finally does the trick. A respiratory doctor says losing weight can also help.
9. CBSNews.com
Feb. 11, 2009
Anti-Snoring Devices Fail Test
by Kelly Cobiella
Our AssessmentCBS News reports on a Wilford Hall Medical Center study that tests three snoring remedies -- a nasal strip, a throat spray and a pillow -- each on more than three dozen chronic snorers -- none work. A longtime snorer profiled by CBS News consults study doctor Peter Michaelson and learns she has sleep apnea, which a custom-fitted mouthpiece resolves.
10. Slate Magazine
Sept. 20, 2007
Silent Night: Which Snoring Remedies Actually Work?
by Chip Brantley
Our AssessmentIn this amusing article, Chip Brantley describes his experience with a variety of stop-snoring products, rating them for ease of use, restfulness when waking and his wife's irritation level. He gets the best results from a tennis ball safety-pinned to the back of his t-shirt, and gives the runner-up spot (facetiously) to the $45 Anti-Snor Therapeutic Ring. He calls Breathe Right Nasal Strips an "expensive habit," and says he snored every night while wearing them.
11. Gizmodo.com
May 15, 2007
Snore Stopper Review (Verdict: I'm Still ZZZing)
by Brian Lam
Our AssessmentA wristwatch-style shock device proves to be "the equivalent [of] the electric chair" for snorers, says Brian Lam after testing. It's painful, so Lam dials it down to the lowest level -- and snores through the night.
12. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
Snore Reducing Aids
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentSome of the snoring remedies sold here have collected more than 100 user reviews -- although snoring has so many causes, what works for one person might not work for another. Breathe Right Nasal Strips and the Therapeutica Sleeping Pillow earn the best ratings, averaging 4 stars in more than 150 reviews.
13. Drugstore.com
As of July 2013
Sleep and Snoring Aids
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentBreathe Right Nasal Strips are the stop-snoring winner at this retail website, too, averaging 4.5 stars in more than 100 reviews for the various sizes. Although some reviewers use the strips while they're awake, many use them specifically to stop snoring.
Sponsored Links

Back to top