Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Snow Blowers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Snow Blowers Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors evaluate more than 110 models of snow blowers. Most are tested using both real-world and simulated snow piles, though some ratings are based on tests of similar machines. Gas, electric, single- and two-stage machines are included in this comparison. As editors test each machine, they grade how easy it is to steer, how quickly it cuts through the snow and how clean it leaves the pavement. Top performers get a Recommended label, while top values earn a Best Buy designation.
2. MovingSnow.com
As of October 2014
The Best Snow Blowers for 2013-2015
by Paul Sikkema
Our AssessmentPaul Sikkema tests a variety of snow blower brands for his blog and includes about 30 of the best models in this article. Sikkema details the pros, cons, key features and observations about each model in separate articles. Some general comments about snow blowers provide additional insight.
3. HomeDepot.com
As of October 2014
Snow Blowers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentThere are nearly 200 snow blowers at HomeDepot.com, many of which have a significant number of user reviews. Most are gas-powered snow blowers, though a few electric models have enough feedback to be helpful.
4. Snow Blowers Direct
As of October 2014
Snow Blowers
by Editors of and contributors to SnowBlowersDirect.com
Our AssessmentJoe Delulio, the in-house snow blower expert at SnowBlowersDirect.com, provides brief reviews on models this site recommends, including electric and single-stage, two-stage, and three-stage gas machines. Many snow blowers also include owner reviews, ratings on a five-star scale and the occasional video demonstration.
5. Amazon.com
As of October 2014
Snow Throwers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com lists lots of snow blowers, and many have enough owner reviews to be helpful. That said, feedback is notably more plentiful for electric snow throwers than for gas models, with some gathering more than 1,000 reviews.
6. TheSweetHome.com
Jan. 7, 2014
The Best Snow Shovel
by Doug Mahoney
Our AssessmentTo find the best snow shovels, TheSweetHome.com talks to experts, looks at user reviews and tests snow shovels itself using a panel of four to clear driveways, long walkways, decks and more. One shovel emerges as a crowd favorite. A runner up has great ergonomics but isn't built to last. A top compact option -- ideal for use in the car or as an emergency shovel -- is also named.
7. Lowes.com
As of October 2014
Snow Blowers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentHusqvarna, Power Smart and Troy-Bilt make up the bulk of the 40 snow blowers at Lowes.com, but only a handful of machines from Troy-Bilt achieve a combination of four or more stars with more than a handful of reviews. Topping the list are two sizes of the Troy-Bilt Storm.
8. Sears.com
As of October 2014
Snow Removal Equipment
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com is the best place to get user feedback about Craftsman snow blowers. A handful of Craftsman models get 20 or more reviews and a rating higher than 4 stars. One two-stage snow blower is singled out as a "Buyer's" Pick."
9. Walmart.com
As of October 2014
Snow Blowers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentThough a few other companies are also represented, most of the snow blowers sold by Walmart.com carry the Yard Machines and Snow Joe brand. Most get good ratings, though not a lot of feedback. One Yard Machines two-stage snow blower stands out with high satisfaction (4.6 stars) and more than 50 reviews and ratings.
10. Viewpoints.com
As of October 2014
The Best Snowblowers: Snowblower Reviews & Ratings
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentThis site provides a forum for owners to rate and review a variety of products, including snow blowers. In addition to leaving detailed notes, owners can rate each machine's performance, handling, durability, ease of use and engine power. However, most snow blowers only attract a handful of reviews.
11. SnowBlowerForum.com
As of October 2014
Snow Blower Forums
by Contributors to SnowBlowerForum.com
Our AssessmentSnowBlowerForums.com is a user-to-user forum where members can discuss anything snow blower related. In addition to sub-forums dedicated to specific brands, you can find a sub-forum with snow blower reviews. This is also a good destination for general snow blower information, troubleshooting and more.
Sponsored Links

Back to top