Sponsored Links
Page: 2 of 2
In this report

Snow Blowers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
December 2012
Snow Blowers Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors perform methodical trials on about 50 models of snow blowers using both real-world and simulated snow piles. Gas, electric, single- and two-stage machines are included in this comparison. As editors test each machine, they grade how easy it is to steer, how quickly it cuts through the snow and how clean it leaves the pavement. They apply results to similar machines, creating a report with ratings for about 90 snow blowers.
2. MovingSnow.com
As of October 2013
The Best Snow Blowers for 2013-2014
by Paul Sikkema
Our AssessmentPaul Sikkema tests a variety of snow blower brands for his blog and includes about 30 of the best models in this article. Sikkema details the pros, cons, key features and observations about each model in separate articles. Top performers include the Craftsman 88691, 88173 and Sno-Tek 920402.
3. HomeDepot.com
As of October 2013
Snow Blowers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentOut of about 200 snow blowers at HomeDepot.com, there is a significant number of owner reviews on two dozen models. Most are gas-powered snow blowers, where Ariens and Toro lead the group with a selection of highly rated snow blowers. Only two electric models have more than 100 reviews; both are from Toro.
4. Snow Blowers Direct
As of October 2013
Snow Blowers
by Editors of and contributors to SnowBlowersDirect.com
Our AssessmentBob Crewe, the in-house snow blower expert at Snow Blowers Direct provides detailed reviews on many of the models, recommending the three best electric and single-stage gas machines. He separates two-stage gas snow blowers into three categories -- consumer, prosumer and professional -- with top recommendations for each. Many snow blowers also include owner reviews, ratings on a five-star scale and the occasional video demonstration.
5. Amazon.com
As of October 2013
Snow Throwers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentOnly about 10 of the more than 200 snow blowers at Amazon.com have a significant number of owner reviews. The best-rated models are two electric machines from Snow Joe. A Poulan Pro snow blower is the only gas-powered machine with high ratings.
6. Lowes.com
As of October 2013
Snow Blowers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentHusqvarna, Power Smart and Troy-Bilt make up the bulk of the 60 snow blowers at Lowes.com, but only a handful of machines from Troy-Bilt achieve a combination of four or more stars with more than a handful of reviews. Topping the list are two sizes of the Troy-Bilt Storm.
7. Sears.com
As of October 2013
Snow Removal Equipment
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentAbout six models of Craftsman snow blowers have 20 or more reviews and more than 4 stars at Sears.com. Machines by Snow Joe, Toro, Power Smart and Greenworks are also available but don't have high customer ratings. The top Craftsman snow blowers include both single- and two-stage gas models.
8. Walmart.com
As of October 2013
Snow Blowers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentOf the handful of snow blowers with customer feedback at Walmart.com, the electric Snow Joe SJ620 has the highest score with more than 100 owner reviews. A small electric Snow Joe and a two-stage gas Yard Machine also receive more than 4 stars but only about two dozen reviews each.
9. Viewpoints.com
As of October 2013
The Best Snowblowers: Snowblower Reviews & Ratings
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentThis site provides a forum for owners to rate and review a variety of products, including snow blowers. In addition to leaving detailed notes, owners can rate each machine's performance, handling, durability, ease of use and engine power. The Craftsman 88957 and 88970, Toro 38381 and 38272, and Greenworks 26032 make up the top five, with ratings higher than 80 (out of 100).
10. Ace Hardware.com
As of October 2013
Snow Throwers
by Contributors to AceHardware.com
Our AssessmentThree models of Toro's electric snow blowers receive good ratings here: 18-inch Power Curve 38381, 1800 Power Curve 38025 and the Lightweight Power Shovel 38361. AceHardware.com also carries machines from Husqvarna and Yard Machines.

Snow Blowers Runners Up:

Greenworks 20-inch 12A 26032 Est. $200

5 picks including: Amazon.com, PopularMechanics.com…

Sno-Tek 24 920402 Est. $630

3 picks including: HomeDepot.com, ConsumerReports.org…

Toro Power Clear 418 ZE 38282 Est. $440

3 picks including: HomeDepot.com, ConsumerReports.org…

image
GreenWorks 26032 12 Amp 20" Corded Snow Thrower
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $249.99 $170.34   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Toro Snowblower Power Clear 418 ZE 87cc (18") ES #38282
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top