Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Snow Tires: Ratings of Sources

Total of 17 Sources
Not Dated
by Editors of
Our AssessmentAs part of its coverage of tires, rates more than 35 non-studded winter tires, including regular winter tires, performance winter tires and those for light trucks (pickups and SUVs). Each tire is rated for snow traction; braking on icy, dry and wet roads; handling; hydroplaning; ride comfort; noise and rolling resistance, culminating in an overall score. Editors rank the tires from best to worst and recommend their top picks.
2. Tire Rack
Not Dated
Studless Ice & Snow Winter Tires: Finding Which is Best When Winter Weather is at its Worst
by Editors of
Our AssessmentWhile is a retail site, its staff conducts balanced, testing-based reviews of tires, including this comparative test of four studless ice and snow tires. Testing is detailed, and the methodology is thoroughly explained. Driving performance is examined both on a test track and on public roads, and when driving on ice and snow. Four tires are compared in this review; while all have strengths and weaknesses, the Bridgestone Blizzak WS80 and Michelin X-Ice Xi3 emerge as top choices with balanced performance and only limited trade-offs.
3. Tire Rack
As of October 2015
Tire Ratings -- Winter/Snow
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentThousands of consumers contribute to these ratings at, which ranks performance winter/snow tires, studless ice & snow tires and studdable winter/snow tires. Each tire is scored in 11 categories (ice traction, deep snow traction, etc.), and the results are presented in easy-to-read charts. Owners report how many miles they've driven each tire and on what type of car. Links lead to written owner reviews for each tire, many that are quite thorough and thoughtful. A separate chart provides the same data and feedback for light-truck and SUV tires.
4. Tire Rack
Nov. 15, 2013
Testing Performance Winter / Snow Tires: Which Have the Right Balance of Performance?
by Editors of
Our AssessmentPerformance winter/snow tires are the focus of attention in this round of comparative testing at Editors find that while performance winter tires deliver better handling on clear roads, traction is lower than with studless ice and snow tires. Regardless,  they are a clearly better choice than best all-season tires in winter weather. While a couple of the other tires tested come close, the Michelin Pilot Alpin PA4 comes out on top.
5. Tire Rack
October 13, 2015
Best Value Winter Tire
by Sonny Shaw
Our AssessmentIn this blog post,'s Sonny Shaw says that while the Bridgestone Blizzak WS80 and Michelin X-Ice Xi3 provide the best performance, they are relatively pricey. Where cost is a concern, he recommends the General AltiMAX Arctic as providing "easily the best bang-for-your-buck winter tire." A link to additional information based on an earlier round of testing is provided.
Oct. 16, 2012
Putting Studded, Studless Winter Tires to the Test
by Gene Petersen
Our AssessmentIn a free article, reviews five studded winter tires. The studded Nokian Hakkapeliitta 7 outclasses all winter tires on snow and ice -- including the top studless tire, the Michelin X-Ice Xi3. However, editors don't test the studded tires' dry braking and handling.
As of October 2015
Winter Tires
by Editors of
Our AssessmentThis Canadian online auto magazine (formerly doesn't rank the winter tires it tests, but includes several hands-on reviews of individual tires. An article that lists top-rated winter tires is also available, but that rundown breaks from the norm and is not testing based.
2015 - 2016 Passenger Car, Minivan and Compact SUV Winter Tire Reviews
by Editors of the Automobile Protection Association
Our AssessmentThis Canadian nonprofit association is funded by membership fees, with no subsidies from the automobile, oil or insurance industries. The APA picks the top winter tires for passenger cars, minivans and compact SUVs based on ratings from tire experts and retailers. Tires are ranked in categories that range from top-rated to avoid, with special categories that address budget tires and all weather tires. Performance winter tires are rated separately, but that review is older and has become dated.
Winter Tire Test 2015
by Rune Korsvoll, Jukka Antilla, and Lasse Allard
Our AssessmentThe Norwegian Automobile Federation tests studded and studless tires for 2015. While it finds that studs don't yield much of an advantage in snow, on ice it's no contest, with the Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 rated as the best studded tire.
As of October 2015
Tire Reviews
by Editors of
Our does not rate or rank snow tires, but does have a handful of stand-alone reviews based on tests on closed tracks as well as out in the real world. Some reports are based on a season's worth of driving or more, including one that reports impressions after a second season using the Michelin X-Ice Xi3.
Not Dated
Best winter tires for 2015
by Jason Okolisan
Our AssessmentThis Canadian car-enthusiast site talks to the owner of a Toronto-area tire dealership to get his take on the best winter tires for the coming season. Picks include top performers for passenger cars as well SUVs and light trucks. The best values among snow tires for both types of vehicles are also named.
As of October 2015
Snow/Winter Tires
by Contributors to
Our is a user-review site that collects feedback from car enthusiasts from around the world. Some tires here get only a handful of reviews, others hundreds. Users rate their tires on a number of key factors, including traction and breaking in wet and dry conditions, traction in snow, ride comfort, noise level and more, along with the number of miles that they have driven on those tires.
Not Dated
The Top 10 Dedicated Snow Tires for 2013
by Sean Phillips
Our AssessmentSean Phillips,'s tires and wheels expert and the operations manager of a New England wheel and tire repair shop offers his take on the 10 best dedicated snow tires for 2013. Most of the recommendations in that list, including the top ones, remain current, but not all get a full review. Other coverage on the site includes a list of top snow tires for SUVs, as well as individual reviews for a host of winter tires, including the Bridgestone Blizzak WS80, which has replaced the popular and well-rated Bridgestone Blizzak WS70.
14. The Globe and Mail
Feb. 6, 2015
Testing tires in White Hell – the birthplace of winter tires
by Peter Cheney
Our AssessmentPeter Cheney tests snow tires with the aid of an engineer and test driver at "the Nokian Tire facility -- known in the business as White Hell." Testing is grueling -- pushing tires past well past what most people would in winter conditions. Though only Nokian tires are tested, the Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 is called a clear winner.
15. La Presse
Feb. 2, 2015
Winter tires for compact: our choices
by Jean-François Guay
Our AssessmentSnow tires are tested by La Presse, a French language newspaper in Quebec, Canada, and the top five get short write ups here. An accompanying chart lists all the tires evaluated and how they performed on ice, snow and on dry roads.
16. The Globe and Mail
Mar. 25, 2014
Are all-weather tires a good compromise?
by Dan Proudfoot
Our AssessmentThis article looks at the performance of the Nokian WRG3 all-weather tires driving through a variety of different conditions, including snow, slush and ice. Based on his experiences, Dan Proudfoot says that these tires are good alternatives for those that don't want a set of dedicated snow tires in milder climates, such as Southern Ontario, but not for those in climates where deep snow is likely.
As of October 2015
Winter Tires
by Contributors to
Our is an online tire retailer that lets users post reviews of tires that they own. Some tires get only a handful of reviews, others get hundreds. Users can post their location, the types of roads they drive over, the typical conditions they face and whether or not they would buy these tires again, though not all provide those bits of information.

Back to top