Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Sports Watches: Ratings of Sources

Total of 31 Sources
GPS Watches for Measuring Physical Expenditure During Physical Activity
by Jamie Wise, Barron Orr, Kristin Wisneski, Nobuko Hongu
Our AssessmentResearchers at the University of Arizona test four GPS running watches at various speeds on an outdoor track, comparing the data with a pedometer and an accelerometer. Of the four GPS watches tested, the researchers select the Garmin Forerunner 305 as the "best pick" for a GPS watch. They say they think it is user friendly, and they like the easy data transfer and audible alerts. However, the bulky size is listed as a drawback.
2. Men's Journal
Feb. 15, 2011
Personal Trainers
by Editors of Men's Journal
Our AssessmentMen's Journal tests a variety of sport watches with the help of Michael Lovato, a professional triathlete. Pros and cons are discussed, and Lovato gives each watch an overall rating out of 10. The Garmin Forerunner 210 earns a rating of 9 out of 10, while the Timex Ironman Global Trainer is also highly rated. The Polar RS300X SD has an overall rating of 5 out of 10.
3. Women's Adventure magazine
May 31, 2010
Summer 2010 Editor's Choice Awards
by Editors of Women's Adventure magazine
Our AssessmentWomen's Adventure magazine tests a variety of outdoor gear for its annual Editor's Choice awards. Five sport watches and heart-rate monitors are evaluated, and each listing links to a longer, single-product review. Among sport watches, the Garmin Forerunner 110 gets the highest rating, although the Polar RS300X comes in a close second.
4. RunningTimes.com
March 2010
Keeping Up With the Time
by Brian Metzler
Our AssessmentLongtime gear reviewer Brian Metzler reviews six sport watches and heart-rate monitors that would appeal to runners. Individual reviews are very brief, but the Timex Ironman Sleek 150-Lap is called an "innovative gem," while the Suunto Vector HR is a "mountain runner's dream" thanks to its many features.
5. Trail Runner
June 2010
2010 Gear Guide
by Michael Benge and Elinor Fish
Our AssessmentIn its 2010 gear guide, Trail Runner highlights five sport watches and heart-rate monitors that would appeal to trail runners. Each sport watch gets a brief review, and it appears that at least some of the watches were tested by staff. Among full-featured sport watches, Trail Runner prefers the Tech4O Traileader Jet, although the Timex Ironman Sleek 150-Lap is a good alternative for those who want a simple sport watch.
6. Runner's World U.K.
Feb. 8, 2010
Six Running Watches (under £100)
by Editors of Runner's World
Our AssessmentThe U.K. edition of Runner's World magazine tests six running watches and heart-rate monitors under £100 (roughly $160). Although the article doesn't include any full-featured GPS watches, Runner's World U.K. gives high marks to the Timex Ironman Sleek 150-Lap, calling it "simple to use" and "easy to view." Some of the recommended sport watches aren't available in the U.S.
7. Runner's World
Jan. 2010
Time Machines
by Matthew Honan
Our AssessmentMatthew Honan subjects six sport watches to "tough testing" to determine which are the most comfortable, innovative and user friendly. The reviews themselves are balanced, and it is clear that Honan personally tested each watch. The popular Timex Ironman Sleek 150-Lap earns a recommendation here. In a separate single-product review, editor Sean Downey recommends the Garmin Forerunner 110, saying it "nails the basics."
8. The Associated Press
March 19, 2011
Review: GPS Running Watches Offer Improvements
by Anick Jesdanun
Our AssessmentAnick Jesdanun reviews three sport watches for The Associated Press in this article reprinted by USA Today. The watches are compared to each other, and the Garmin Forerunner 110 is said to be the best at locating a GPS satellite connection. Pros and cons are also clearly noted. The Timex Ironman Global Trainer is a good value, but Jesdanun has more problems testing it than the other watches.
9. DCRainmaker.com
As of May 2011
Untitled
by Editor of DCRainmaker.com
Our AssessmentWe normally don't give much weight to anonymous reviews on blog sites, but DCRainmaker.com has some of the most detailed analyses available for Garmin and Timex sport watches. The author is a triathlete and runner who reviews running watches and gear in his spare time. He admits that he makes money from affiliate links on the site, but his reviews are critical and balanced.
10. Backpacker Magazine
As of May 2011
Watches
by Editors of Backpacker magazine
Our AssessmentBackpacker magazine is a good source for reviews of adventure watches, which are sport watches with additional features like barometers and altimeters. A number of reviews are included in the magazine's annual Gear Guide, although the site's confusing navigation can make it tough to find individual reviews. The watches have been subjected to hands-on evaluations, and tester comments are included in the analysis.
11. Backpacker Magazine
Nov. 2009
Gear Field Test: Outdoor Watches
by Editors of Backpacker magazine
Our AssessmentBackpacker magazine enlists the help of seven reader testers to evaluate several outdoor adventure watches. Tester comments are included throughout the article, and pros and cons are clearly noted. This article was originally published in November 2009, and some of the watches have been discontinued.
12. RunTheLine.com
As of May 2011
GPS Watch Reviews
by Ross Middleton
Our AssessmentRunTheLine.com has very detailed reviews of GPS sport watches. The watches aren't rated or compared, but a review summary breaks down the reviewer's conclusions. The Nike+ SportWatch GPS gets a positive review, and the Garmin Forerunner 410 is said to be "the best GPS sports watch that I have used to date." The Garmin Forerunner 210 is a good budget alternative.
13. ActiveGearReview.com
As of May 2011
Category: Running Watches
by Editors of ActiveGearReview.com
Our AssessmentActiveGearReview.com has a number of contributors who evaluate the latest running and cycling gear, including sport watches. A number of new fitness watches have been reviewed recently, including the Timex Ironman Global Trainer, Garmin Forerunner 110 and Tech4O Traileader Jet. The watches aren't rated, and all earn positive reviews, leaving no way to determine the best picks.
14. Amazon.com
As of May 2011
Fitness Watches
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com lists a good number of sport watches, and some popular models receive hundreds of individual reviews. Some newer watches receive only a few reviews, but Amazon.com is the best source for owner-written reviews of sport watches.
15. Outside Magazine
May 2010
The Essentials: Tick List
by Justin Nyberg
Our AssessmentJustin Nyberg reviews four sport and adventure watches for Outside magazine. The Editors' Choice award goes to the Suunto Core Extreme Edition, although watches from Timex, Tech4O and Casio also get high marks.
16. St. Petersburg Times
March 12, 2011
Heart Rate Monitor Provides Scientific Feedback for Any Fitness Goal
by Terry Tomalin
Our AssessmentThe St. Petersburg Times writes a detailed article on the benefits of using a heart-rate monitor while exercising. Terry Tomalin also includes a brief buyer's guide that recommends four heart-rate monitors and sport watches. The Garmin Forerunner 310XT is said to have "all the bells and whistles."
17. ThatsFit.com
Dec. 10, 2010
Sports Watch Lineup
by Kirsten Seymour
Our AssessmentThatsFit.com has solid and balanced reviews of sport watches and heart-rate monitors, including the popular Timex Ironman Sleek 150-Lap. Kristen Seymour discusses the pros and cons of each watch, and it's obvious that the heart-rate monitors have been personally tested.
18. BikeRadar.com
As of May 2011
Heart Rate Monitors
by Editors of BikeRadar.com
Our AssessmentBikeRadar.com focuses on gear and gadgets from a cycling perspective, and reviews center around cycling computers. However, it is possible to find a sport watch review here and there. Each watch is rated on a 5-point scale, and the reviews themselves are detailed and balanced.
19. The New York Times
Aug. 18, 2009
Marathon Tech Review: Watches
by Danielle Belopotosky
Our AssessmentDanielle Belopotosky at The New York Times enlists the help of some fellow marathon runners to test a number of sport watches and heart-rate monitors. Pros and cons are noted, although the sport watches are not rated or compared. The Garmin 405CX is recommended for runners who want a watch with lots of features.
20. Outside Magazine
Jan. 2011
2011 Winter Buyer's Guide
by Will Palmer
Our AssessmentOutside magazine's 2011 Buyer's Guide includes a host of outdoor gear, but there are few sport-focused watches covered. One exception is the Suunto Core Extreme Edition Everest, an adventure watch with an altimeter, barometer and other features.
21. Outside Magazine
May 2011
Play By the Numbers
by Aaron Gulley
Our AssessmentIn this brief article from Outside magazine, Aaron Gulley reviews two training watches that are suitable for cyclists and runners. The GPS-enabled Garmin Forerunner 110 is recommended for runners, especially those who want to determine how hard they are working.
22. CNNMoney.com
Jan. 15, 2010
7 Digital Fitness Coaches
by Jenny Everett
Our AssessmentCNNMoney.com has brief reviews of seven "digital fitness coaches," including two sport watches. Jenny Everett briefly discusses the features of each watch, but it does not appear that the sport watches were personally tested. Basic sport watches form Timex and Speedo are recommended.
23. About.com
May 10, 2011
Top 10 Sports Watches
by Elizabeth Quinn
Our AssessmentElizabeth Quinn, the sports medicine guide at About.com, recommends 10 sport watches, including several dive watches. Each watch receives only a one- or two-sentence overview, and it does not appear that the watches were personally tested. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
Best of Adventure: Must-Have Gear
by Steve Casimiro
Our AssessmentNational Geographic Adventure gives the Timex Ironman Sleek 150-Lap its Best of Adventure award for 2010. The sport watch earns a brief description, but the analysis focuses mainly on features and doesn't discuss any downsides. The Timex Ironman Sleek is the only sport watch to earn this award.
25. CrunchGear.com
As of May 2011
Gadgets
by Editors of CrunchGear.com
Our AssessmentCrunchGear.com, a technology and gadget website, reviews a huge assortment of watches, but very few of the watches reviewed are devoted to sports and fitness. Even so, the site has an interesting review of the Nike+ SportWatch GPS, a new sport watch that integrates a GPS module with the traditional Nike+ SportBand.
26. TrustedReviews.com
As of May 2011
Peripheral Reviews
by Editors of TrustedReviews.com
Our AssessmentTrustedReviews.com isn't the first site we would check for sport watch reviews, but the site does have a test-based evaluation of the Garmin Forerunner 410 and Forerunner 210. The lengthy review culminates in a rating on a 10-point scale. We would rank this site higher if more sport watches were reviewed.
27. Engadget.com
As of May 2011
Wearables
by Editors of Engadget.com
Our AssessmentEndgadget.com doesn't review many sport watches, but this site is worth checking for its detailed and balanced analysis. The only recent watch reviewed, the Timex Ironman Global Trainer, earns an overall rating of 7 out of 10. Although the sport watch is more expensive than some alternatives, Donald Melanson says it is "tough."
28. T3.com
Feb. 26, 2011
Nike+ SportWatch GPS Review: Hands On
by Kieran Alger
Our AssessmentT3.com, a U.K.-based technology magazine, has a detailed hands-on review of the new Nike+ SportBand GPS. Kieran Alger runs down the pros and cons of this sport watch, and he calls it a "good solid run partner."
29. About.com
As of May 2011
GPS Watch - Review and Rating of Leading GPS Watches
by Fred Zahradnik
Our AssessmentFred Zahradnik, the GPS guide at About.com, reviews eight GPS sport watches, although not all of the watches are rated. Most of the major brands are covered, including Garmin, Timex and Polar. Overall, the Garmin Forerunner 405 earns the highest rating. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
30. TriRadar.com
As of May 2011
Gadgets
by Editors of TriRadar.com
Our AssessmentTriRadar.com has some moderately detailed sport watch reviews, and each watch is given an overall score in addition to sub-ratings for performance and value. The Garmin Forerunner 310XT gets an average rating, but editors say the Nike SportsBand 2 is a good choice for those who want an easy to use but basic sport watch.
31. RoadRunnerSports.com
As of May 2011
Top Running Monitors & Accessories
by Contributors to RoadRunnerSports.com
Our AssessmentRoadRunnerSports.com is an online retailer specializing in running shoes and gear. On the site, customers can leave feedback on the products they purchase. Most sport watches earn similar average ratings, and there aren't quite enough reviews here to draw any conclusions about the best models.

Sports Watches Runners Up:

Timex Ironman Global Trainer *Est. $250

4 picks including: About.com, Amazon.com…

Garmin Forerunner 110 *Est. $200; $250 with heart-rate monitor

4 picks including: Amazon.com, Outside Magazine…

Garmin Forerunner 310XT *Est. $350; $400 with heart-rate monitor

2 picks including: About.com, Amazon.com…

Polar RS300X *Est. $140

2 picks including: Amazon.com, RunnersWorld.com…

Timex Ironman 100-Lap *Est. $50

2 picks including: About.com, Amazon.com…

Origo Granite Peak Titanium Sleek *Est. $190

1 pick including: Backcountry.com, Men's Journal…

Suunto X10 *Est. $550

1 pick including: Men's Journal, National Geographic Adventure…

image
Timex Global Trainer Speed and Distance GPS Watch
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $300.00 $133.50   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Garmin Forerunner 310XT Waterproof Running GPS with USB ANT Stick
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $249.99 $163.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Polar RS300X Heart Rate Monitor Watch (Black)
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $169.95   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Timex Men's T5E231 "Ironman Traditional" Watch
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $69.95 $42.95   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top