Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Sports Bras: Ratings of Sources

Total of 29 Sources
1. GearInstitute.com
March 2013
Running Bras
by Editors of GearInstitute.com
Our AssessmentTwo testers evaluate 20 sports bras during high-impact workouts including running, stairs, riding, skiing and yoga. They assign ratings for comfort, fit, mobility, functionality, support, breathability and value. Reviews are very thorough and comparative, noting pros and cons for every bra.
2. Prevention.com
Not Dated
25 Sports Bras That Will Change Your Life: All Sizes
by Kelly Gonsalves
Our AssessmentThis roundup of 25 sports bras picks the best in several categories, including best for running, most versatile and best yoga bra. It's based on the findings of a dozen testers, who put more than 70 bras through a variety of workouts. The reviews are short but thorough, and each includes pros and cons.
3. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Best of the Test: Sports Bras
by Good Housekeeping Research Institute
Our AssessmentEditors pick eight sports bras after testing 39 for comfort, durability and support. A winner and runner-up is chosen in the following categories: A-B cup, C-D cup, DD-E cup and F-H cup. Though the Good Housekeeping Research Institute has a reputation for balanced, thorough testing, the accompanying blurbs focus only on positives.
4. Self
Not Dated
The Best Sports Bras for Every Size
by Editors of Self
Our AssessmentEditors take the recommendations of their bra guru -- a professor of sports science and sports bra expert for Champion -- as the basis for this roundup of 10 bras in a range of sizes. The bras were also put through real-life testing. However, the short reviews are uniformly positive.
5. Amazon.com
As of March 2014
Sports Bras
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAs one of the largest online retailers in the U.S. with a long-standing tradition of collecting user reviews, Amazon.com offers a wealth of user feedback on popular sports bras, including nearly all of those covered in this report. Reviews are useful both for anecdotal information about bras and for gathering consensus about a bra's overall support, comfort and style.
6. About.com
June 14, 2013
Best Sports Bras for Large-Chested Runners
by Christine Luff
Our AssessmentChristine Luff, About.com's running expert, picks five sports bras for this roundup. Two have more thorough reviews, but three have relatively short reviews that don't include any cons. It's unclear how the bras were chosen for the roundup, though Luff does reference bra testers.
7. Athleta
As of March 2014
Bras
by Contributors to Athleta.com
Our AssessmentAthleta.com, a sports apparel retailer owned by Gap Inc., publishes owner reviews of its own sports bras as well as those of some other popular models it sells. Bras are rated on a 5-star scale, with specific ratings for size, support, coverage and activity level. The information provides a helpful snapshot, but reviews generally aren't as detailed as those found on Amazon.com.
8. HuffingtonPost.com
April 23, 2013
Sports Bra Reviews: How to Pick the Right Model for Your Body
by Editors of HuffingtonPost.com
Our AssessmentStaffers representing a range of sizes test 17 popular sports bras, noting bells and whistles and specific activities for each bra, with a What It's For recommendation. Testers provide short but thorough reviews with pros and cons.
9. TheStir.com
Sept. 19, 2013
12 Bras Face Our Intense Test
by Emily Abbate
Our AssessmentEditors test a dozen sports bras, detailing features and comfort level, with additional notes ranging from sex appeal to ease of getting a bra on or off. Testers also note whether they would buy each bra again. The reviews provide a fairly unbiased snapshot, though they could be more thorough.
10. Self
Oct. 24, 2013
The Newest, Must-Have Sports Bra for Big-Busted Girls
by Rachel Jacoby
Our AssessmentSelf magazine includes a number of thorough product reviews for fitness gear, such as this one for the Victoria's Secret Incredible sports bra. This thorough review is based on real-world testing and notes both pros and cons.
11. Runner's World
Aug. 19, 2013
Best Sports Bras for Runners
by Dimity McDowell
Our AssessmentThis roundup of 21 sports bras is based on road- and trail-running tests of 41 models with 55 women. It makes picks in the following categories: best for A/B, best for C/D and best for DD+. The best-rated bras in each category get a brief review, while six honorable mentions have short pro-and-con listings. Most information is uniformly positive, however.
12. Health.com
Not Dated
How to Choose the Best Sports Bra for You
by Rozalynn S. Frazier
Our AssessmentThis roundup of five sports bras is based on testing of "dozens of the newest" styles, making picks in the following categories: most flattering, most supportive, most sweat resistant, most comfortable and most natural. The short reviews often note both pros and cons, but aren't very thorough.
13. Lululemon.com
As of March 2014
Sports Bras
by Contributors to Lululemon.com
Our AssessmentLululemon, a high-end athletics-apparel retailer, sells a variety of sports bras. Their website includes owner reviews that rate each style on a 5-star scale. Owners also comment on fit and support and note other likes and dislikes. Reviews are unbiased, but often short.
14. Adidas.com
As of March 2014
Bras
by Contributors to Adidas.com
Our AssessmentSports gear retailer Adidas sells a wide range of sports bras. Reviewers rate each bra on a 5-star scale; they also rate fit, length and quality on a sliding scale. While reviews are honest, they tend to be quite brief, especially compared to those found on Amazon.com.
15. Victoria's Secret
As of March 2014
Sport Bras
by Contributors to Victoria's Secret
Our AssessmentLingerie retailer Victoria's Secret sells a wide range of sports bras. Bras are rated on a 5-star scale, with a specific rating for whether the bra is true to size. The information provides a helpful snapshot, but reviews generally aren't as detailed as those found on Amazon.com.
16. Glamour magazine
Not Dated
15 Editor-Tested and Approved Sports Bras for Every Activity
by Nikki Ogunnaike
Our AssessmentThis roundup picks 15 sports bras in the following categories: best low-impact, best medium-impact, best high-impact, and best built-in bra tank. Picks are based on real-world testing in a variety of workouts. Short blurbs note positives and negatives.
17. Bestcovery.com
Sept. 17, 2013
Best Sports Bra
by Allison Cooper
Our AssessmentBestcovery.com makes five picks for the best sports bra category. The short reviews are informative, but are not comparative. Most do note cons for each bra, however. The product-guide expert chooses top picks, and runners-up are based on user reviews from around the web.
18. HuffingtonPost.com
Feb. 20, 2014
Best Sports Bras
by Chanel Parks
Our AssessmentChanel Parks condenses rankings from Rank & Style into her own roundup of five sports bras. Each has a short blurb noting distinctive features, but it doesn't appear that there was firsthand testing, and no cons are noted.
19. Shape
May 1, 2013
The Best Sports Bras for Every Body Type
by Danielle McNally
Our AssessmentTesters worked out with 30 sports bras and whittled their picks to 10 bras in the following categories: best for A-B cups, best for C cups and best for D+ cups. The recommendations are accompanied by very short blurbs that are uniformly positive, however.
20. Fitness Magazine
Not Dated
Fitness 2013 Gear Guide: The Best Sports Bras
by Jenna Autuori-Dedic and Lauren Cardarelli
Our AssessmentThis roundup makes picks from A to DD+ cups in the following categories: running, cross-training, yoga, cross-fit and spinning. Picks are based on tests of more than 75 sports bras, but recommendations are not accompanied by reviews -- just a short blurb focusing on distinctive features.
21. Real Simple
August 2013
The Best Sports Bras
by Allison Chesky
Our AssessmentThis roundup picks six sports bras in the following categories: best all around, best for a large bust, best for low impact, best for medium impact, best for high impact and best for bra layerers. Reviews are uniformly positive, and it's unclear whether any testing was performed.
22. Babble.com
March 3, 2013
Best Sports Bras for Petite Figures and Full Busts
by Casey Mullins
Our AssessmentBlogger Casey Mullins picks several sports bras for D+ cups, basing her recommendations on her own experiences and readers'. Her winning bras are reviewed more thoroughly than others. It's not clear whether she has tested all of them.
23. Target.com
As of March 2014
Activewear Bras
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget is the exclusive retailer of Champion's lower-priced C9 sports bra line. Reviewers rate bras on a 5-star scale. Reviews include both pros and cons, but often are not as thorough as at Amazon.com.
24. DailyBurn.com
Oct. 8, 2013
The Best Sports Bras for Every Activity
by Amy Schlinger
Our AssessmentThis roundup of 17 sports bras makes low-, medium- and high-impact picks based on real-world testing. It includes very short blurbs that focus on distinctive characteristics. No cons are given.
25. Rank & Style
Feb. 20, 2014
The Ten Best Sports Bras for High Impact Activities
by Editors of Rank & Style
Our AssessmentThis roundup of 10 sports bras bases its picks on buzz, owner reviews, editors' opinions and sales. The short blurbs note the bras' distinctive characteristics and recommend cup sizes for most of them. Editors don't note any cons, and it doesn't appear that any testing was done.
26. Backpacker.com
Not Dated
Gear Review: Moving Comfort Vero Sports Bra
by Rachel Zurer
Our AssessmentBackpacker magazine includes a number of product reviews for fitness gear, including this one for the Moving Comfort Vero sports bra. Reviews are based on real-world testing and tend to be thorough, but this one omits any cons.
27. Shape
Oct. 21, 2013
10 Best Bras for Running
by Locke Hughes
Our AssessmentThis roundup of 10 sports bras from Shape magazine includes very short blurbs that focus on distinctive characteristics for each pick, but they are uniformly positive. It's also unclear whether the author has based the picks on any real-world testing or other research.
28. DivineCaroline.com
Not Dated
Sports Bras with Style
by Lauren Turner
Our AssessmentThis roundup of six sports bras focuses on style, noting colors and patterns as well as other distinctive characteristics. Short blurbs don't include any cons. It's unclear whether any testing was performed or whether any consideration was given to function.
29. FitBottomedGirls.com
Oct. 9, 2013
Feeling Like a Champion
by Jennipher Walters
Our AssessmentFitness blog FitBottomedGirls.com features a variety of gear reviews, including this roundup of Champion bras and gear. Reviews are thorough, but tend to be overwhelmingly positive.
Sponsored Links

Back to top