Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Steam Cleaners: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. Amazon.com
As of November 2013
Steam Cleaner
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com lists steam cleaners in several categories, including appliances and household/kitchen. Most models receive just a few reviews; those that attract the most customer attention typically get an average rating of 4 stars out of 5. Standout models rank at or above 4 stars after at least 45 user reviews.
2. Walmart.com
As of November 2013
Vacuums and Floor Care
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentOwners can rate handheld and canister steam cleaners sold at Walmart.com on criteria such as value, durability and features. The McCulloch MC1275 and Steamfast SF275 are evenly matched at 4.2 stars out of 5 from 165 and 367 owners, respectively. Reviewers say these nearly identical machines are effective at cleaning and easy to maneuver.
3. AllergyBuyersClub.com
As of November 2013
Vapor Steam Cleaners
by Editors of AllergyBuyersClub.com
Our AssessmentProducts listed at this online retailer receive ratings from both consumers and experts. While users leave brief comments, the unidentified experts assign separate ratings for factors including steam quality and heat-up time, in addition to the overall ranking. We include models that have a 5-star expert score, plus steam cleaners with a score of 4.5 stars out of 5 from both experts and consumers.
Steam Cleaner Ratings, Review -- WhiteWing
by Editors of AllergyConsumerReview.com
Our AssessmentThis site appears to be affiliated with AllergyBuyersClub.com, an online retailer of allergy-related products. It offers reviews and articles on steam cleaners, and the rankings are identical to those assigned by experts at AllergyBuyersClub.com. Because of this, we don't duplicate the picks from the other site.
5. HomeDepot.com
As of November 2013
Portable Steam Cleaners Reviews
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentMost steam cleaners sold at this home improvement retailer accumulate just a handful of owner reviews. The canister models are most popular, with standout steam cleaners receiving an average rating of 4 stars out of 5 or better after at least 20 user posts.
6. Target.com
As of November 2013
Steam Mops and Cleaners
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com lists a few steam cleaners in with the steam mops. Two receive 4 stars out of 5 or better from at least 15 owners, enough for us to get a good idea of how well they perform. Each user review is about a paragraph long, with separate ratings issued for effectiveness, quality and value.
7. About.com
As of November 2013
Steam Cleaner Reviews
by Mariette Mifflin
Our AssessmentMariette Mifflin, About.com's expert on housewares and appliances, has reviewed two steam cleaners based on her home testing: the Shark Portable Steam Pocket SC630 and the Reliable EnviroMate Brio EB250. She assigns the Shark steamer a higher rating of 4.5 stars out of 5 due to reservations about persistent dripping from the Reliable EnviroMate.
8. Sylvane.com
As of November 2013
Vapor Steam Cleaners
by Contributors to Sylvane.com
Our AssessmentThis online retailer specializes in products that improve air quality and lists only canister steam cleaners. Most steam cleaner models receive just one or two reviews, with standouts getting at least 4.5 stars out of 5 after five or more user posts. We also include the Vapamore MR-100, which editors select as a good value even though it gets only 4 stars out of 5 from about 15 users.
9. Wayfair.com
As of November 2013
Steam Cleaner
by Contributors to Wayfair.com
Our AssessmentWayfair.com lists a few portable steam cleaners with its vacuum cleaners and floor steamers. Reviews vary widely in length and quality, and a few users post only star ratings with no comments. Still, there's enough feedback for us to pick standout models that receive 4 stars out of 5 or better after at least four or five owner reviews.
10. BestBuy.com
As of November 2013
Steam & Deep Cleaners Reviews
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentShoppers at BestBuy.com review the few steam cleaners listed here. Two models stand out from the pack with overall scores of at least 4 stars out of 5 and at least five to 10 user reviews.
11. The Independent
April 16, 2013
The 10 Best Steam Cleaners
by Kate Hilpern
Our AssessmentIt's not clear whether hands-on testing was conducted, but a few stray comments about performance make it sound like Hilpern made some sort of evaluation. Just two of the steam cleaners she lists are actually portable, multi-use steam cleaners; the others are meant for use on floors.
12. Viewpoints.com
As of November 2013
Steam Cleaner Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentThis user-powered review site isn't affiliated with specific retailers, although posters do sometimes receive samples of the products they review. Steam cleaners are rated out of 100 points possible. Although none receive a rating of 90 or better, the McCulloch MC1275 gets an overall score of 83 points out of 100 after feedback from eight owners, making it the highest-ranked steam cleaner here.
13. Epinions.com
As of November 2013
Vacuums: Steam Wet Dry
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentMixed into this category are carpet shampooers, stain removers, steam vacuums, deep cleaners and vacuum cleaners with a steam-cleaning feature. Of the dedicated steam cleaners, none receive higher than 3.5 stars out of 5, and some reviews are outdated. However, some of the feedback may be useful if you've narrowed your search to just a couple of models.

Steam Cleaners Runners Up:

Shark Portable Steam Pocket SC630 Est. $70

5 picks including: About.com, Amazon.com…

Steamfast SF275 Est. $130

3 picks including: Amazon.com, HomeDepot.com…

Bissell Steam Shot 39N71 Est. $40

2 picks including: Amazon.com, Target.com…

image
Shark Steam Pocket Multi-Purpose Portable Steamer, SC630
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $99.99 $69.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Steamfast SF-275 Canister Steam Cleaner
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $149.99 $117.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top