Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Stick Vacuums: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Small Vacuum Ratings and Reliability
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors at ConsumerReports.org conduct extensive testing of vacuum cleaners. In its latest roundup, just under a dozen stick vacuums, both corded and cordless, are rated for their performance on carpets, hard floors, edges, noise and pet hair. The stick vacuums are ranked and rated against each other, and each entry in the ratings table includes a link to a more extensive review.
2. CNET
March 12, 2015
Best vacuum cleaners 2014
by Megan Wollerton
Our AssessmentCNET editors continually update their vacuum cleaner reviews, and all of the reviews are thorough and include hands on testing. In addition to bagged and bagless upright vacuums, stick vacuums, canister vacuums and robotic vacuums are included in this section. The Hoover Linx is the highest rated stick vac by editors.
3. TheSweetHome.com
Jan. 11, 2016
The Best Cordless Stick Vacuum
by Liam McCabe
Our AssessmentLiam McCabe conducted hours of research to narrow 36 stick vacuums down to four stick vacuums that he actually tested. The Hoover Linx is chosen as the best for both performance and value. This review was updated in January 2016 to briefly discuss some interesting new cordless vacuums, however recommendations made earlier remain unchanged.
4. Good Housekeeping
As of April 2016
Best of the Test: Top Performing Stick Vacuums
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentThe Good Housekeeping Research Institute (GHRI) tested 11 stick vacuums, using both GHRI professional testers and consumers. Each vacuum was tested for cleaning a variety of messes on both carpet and bare floors, as well as ease of use, and run and recharge times. Consumers tested them for maneuverability. The five winners are presented here.
5. Reviewed.com
Oct. 30, 2015
The Best Cordless Vacuums of 2015
by Jonathan Chan
Our AssessmentJonathan Chan tests, then ranks, the five most popular and well-reviewed stick vacuums for this "best of 2015" roundup. Testing is thorough, and he rates each vacuum against each the others to come to his conclusions. Only cordless stick vacs are included, however. The overall winner is the Hoover Cordless 2.-in-1.
6. RealSimple.com
Not Dated
The Best Stick Vacuum for Your Needs
by Stephanie Sisco
Our AssessmentEditors of RealSimple.com tested two dozen stick vacuums on a variety of messes, narrowing it down to five winners in various categories, such as "Longest Charge." Testing is not well-detailed, but the categorization is helpful in choosing a vacuum based upon lifestyle factors. Several of the vacuums we recommend in this report land in the top five, including the Hoover Linx, which is named Best All-Around.
7. Amazon.com
As of April 2016
Stick/Quick Vacs
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere are many stick vacuums that have earned hundreds of owner-written reviews at Amazon.com, and a few have thousands of reviews. Many of these stick vac have better than 4-star ratings. Write-ups tend to be detailed and extremely helpful for determining how the vacuum works in real-world use. Many users come back after a year or more to offer updates on battery life, runtime and general durability.
8. Walmart.com
As of April 2016
Stick Vacuums
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentLike Amazon.com, Walmart.com has an extensive selection of stick vacuums and many have hundreds or thousands of reviews. Owners can say whether or not they'd recommend the stick vac to a friend. Bissell, Hoover, Dirt Devil and Eureka are the top-sellers here, with Shark also a top rated choice.
9. BestBuy.com
As of April 2016
Stick Vacuums
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com lists fewer stick vacuums than either Amazon.com or Walmart.com, and they garner fewer reviews, although, there are plenty here even so. Familiar brands are prominent here, like Bissell, Electrolux and Dyson. Reviewers can indicate if they would recommend the portable vacuum to a friend.
10. HomeDepot.com
As of April 2016
Stick Vacuums
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentMany stick vacs sold at HomeDepot.com have just a few owner-written reviews, others have dozens and even hundreds -- though in some cases that includes reviews written at the manufacturer's web site. Popular brands include Eureka, Electrolux, Hoover and Dirt Devil. Owners can assign star ratings in three categories -- quality, value and features -- and can indicate if they would recommend the product to a friend.
11. Lowes.com
As of April 2016
Stick Vacuums
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes carries just over a dozen stick vacuums and most get just a few reviews. The notable exception is the Dyson brand, but many of those reviews have been imported from the Dyson website and are not exclusive to Lowes.com.
12. Kohls.com
As of April 2016
Stick Vacuum
by Contributors to Kohls.com
Our AssessmentKohls.com carries fewer stick vacuums than other retail sites, just over a dozen, but the ones they have accumulate a good number of owner-written reviews. Reviewers can also indicate if they would recommend the product. Again, some reviews originate elsewhere, such as the manufacturer's web site.
13. Target.com
As of April 2016
Stick Vacuums
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentJust under 25 stick vacuums are sold at Target.com, and many seem to garner an impressive number of reviews; however, a closer look reveals that many reviews are imported from the manufacturers' websites. Dyson is the main beneficiary of this policy, earning very high scores in thousands of reviews. When discounting manufacturer-site generated reviews, Hoover is a higher-rated brand.

Best corded stick vacuum

Shark Rocket Ultralight
Shark Rocket Ultralight

Back to top