Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

See Also

Streaming Music Services: Ratings of Sources

Total of 20 Sources
1. PCMag.com
April 10, 2012
The Best Streaming Music Services
by Jeffrey L. Wilson
Our AssessmentPCMag.com tests more streaming music sites than any other reviewer, using detailed, well-documented criteria. The discussion accompanying each review does a good job of summing up any highlights or lowlights that creep up during testing, and the best services overall are summarized in a frequently updated page listing the best streaming music services.
2. Gizmodo.com
Feb. 4, 2011
The Best Streaming Music Service
by Adrian Covert
Our AssessmentGizmodo.com's discussion-based review method isn't the best way to review complex hardware or services, but it holds up well for reviewing streaming music services, which are more basic in nature. Five major on-demand streaming music services are compared in this roundup, and the major positives and negatives of each are discussed. Spotify is named the best service in all the land.
3. CNET
Nov. 18, 2011
Which Music Service Should You Use?
by Karyne Levy
Our AssessmentThis comprehensive roundup covers both streaming music and music download sites. Several streaming music services are covered; each receives an overview, as well as sections outlining who would like and who wouldn't like the service. Once again, Spotify is named the best streaming music service overall.
4. InnerFidelity.com
Nov. 15, 2011
Comparing the Audio Quality of Streaming Music Services at Home and Portably
by John Grandberg
Our AssessmentAs a high-end audio enthusiast website, InnerFidelity.com evaluates streaming music sites differently than more mainstream reviewers in this five-service roundup; it focuses on how good the streaming music sounds coming out of a smartphone and a home theater system, rather than aspects like catalog size and user interface. MOG is named the best of the bunch thanks to its consistent 320 kbps bitrate, the highest quality audio of any of the services.
5. About.com
Not Dated
Top 7 Streaming Music Sites
by Mark Harris
Our AssessmentAbout.com covers several top streaming music services in reviews that are lengthy and chock-full of details about objective numbers -- like catalog size and audio bitrate -- and subjective details alike. The best services end up on this list. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
6. Sound & Vision Magazine
July 19, 2011
Streaming Deathmatch: Spotify Premium vs. MOG
by Al Griffin
Our AssessmentThis head-to-head review pits MOG against the premium version of Spotify in a multi-page, multi-category showdown. Spotify fails to win a single category, although it manages to tie MOG in device support. Spotify has the largest music catalog numerically, but Griffin nevertheless gives the edge to MOG for its more robust classic rock selection.
7. MacLife.com
April 4, 2011
Which Cloud Jukebox Rises to the Top?
by Adam Berenstain
Our AssessmentThis roundup pits MOG, Rdio and Rhapsody head-to-head-to-head. Reviewer Adam Berenstain spends time with each -- including time with their iOS apps -- and issues his opinion of each. A list of pros and cons and numerical ratings for each service sums things up nicely. Although the roundup was penned before Spotify hit U.S. shores, the magazine covers Spotify in a stand-alone follow-up review. The new service fails to rate as highly as MOG.
8. VentureBeat.com
Sept. 17, 2011
Top 5 On-Demand Streaming Music Services Feat. Spotify, MOG and Rdio
by Sean Ludwig
Our AssessmentThis roundup isn't as in-depth as some of the higher-ranked sources on this list, but it contains valuable information about the hard details -- such as catalog, sound quality and device support -- for each of the five services covered. Each streaming music site also receives two to three paragraphs of discussion outlining the best and worst aspects of the service.
9. ComputerAudiophile.com
Aug. 16, 2011
MOG v. Spotify Part I
by Chris Connaker
Our AssessmentSmall enthusiast websites usually don't rate highly with ConsumerSearch, but this two-part review comparing MOG and Spotify is far and away the most detailed streaming music sites critique around. Every aspect of each service is dissected in depth. In the end, MOG gets the nod for a number of reasons, not the least of which is its superior sound quality.
10. Laptop Magazine
Feb. 7, 2011
Top 5 Music Services for Your Phone: Rdio, MOG, More
by Editors of Laptop Magazine
Our AssessmentLaptop Magazine reviews five top streaming music services and condenses basic information and ratings into this article. Discussion is brief, but each service's description contains a link to a longer, more in-depth critique, although comparisons between services are rare. Rhapsody alone wins an Editors' Choice award.
11. Macworld
Oct. 12, 2010
Four Music Subscription Services Compared
by Christopher Breen
Our AssessmentMacworld's comparison review is set up a bit differently than most other streaming music site roundups; while most roundups review sites service-by-service, Macworld compares them by feature instead, so it discusses how all four handle catalogs, then how all four handle prices, then bitrate, etc. It's a very readable approach that would normally rate higher, but the article is older than most others and some of its content is a bit outdated.
12. ReadWriteWeb.com
May 17, 2011
Slacker vs. Rdio vs. MOG: Which Streaming Music Service Is Worth Your $10/Month?
by Sarah Perez
Our AssessmentSarah Perez's review focuses on the points of differentiation between Slacker, Rdio and MOG. Catalog size and some other hard numbers are discussed, but the majority of the coverage focuses on slightly more subjective points such as user interface and the usefulness of extra features. Perez fails to pick one service over the others, saying instead that "one of these three can easily fulfill your needs."
13. TechCrunch.com
March 26, 2012
What's the Best iPad Streaming Music App? MOG's New iPad App vs Rdio vs Spotify
by Josh Constine
Our AssessmentRather than reviewing overall services, this streaming music roundup focuses its attention on the iPad apps available from MOG, Rdio and Spotify. Rdio's Heavy Rotation music discovery feature wins some praise, but Constine says that MOG has the best overall package for iPad lovers.
14. Tested.com
Dec. 9, 2011
Rdio vs. Spotify vs. MOG vs. Rhapsody: Streaming Music Subscriptions on Android
by Ryam Whitwam
Our AssessmentThis review focuses on the Android apps available from MOG, Rdio, Rhapsody and Spotify. Hard numbers are rarely discussed, aside from the time it takes for a song to start streaming, but the review is full of useful information about overall usability and feel. MOG wins by a hair, once again thanks partly to its superior sound quality.
15. TheNextWeb.com
July 14, 2011
Showdown: Spotify vs. Rdio vs. Grooveshark vs. Pandora
by Courtney Boyd Myers
Our AssessmentCourtney Boyd Myers covers each of the four streaming music services in great detail and keeps things on a level playing field by focusing in on five distinct categories: pricing, mobile options, social options, "Why it's awesome" and "Why it's lame." Every service shines in different ways, Myers reports, so she doesn't pick a top offering; instead, she recommends different services based on users' needs and wants.
16. BenjaminRose.com
Oct. 20, 2011
MOG versus Spotify: Review of Streaming Music Services
by Benjamin Rose
Our AssessmentThe sheer depth of comparison in this head-to-head review earns this personal website a spot in our list of sources. Benjamin Rose discusses and names a winner in three categories -- user interface, music selection and music quality -- and also provides auxiliary discussion en route to naming Spotify the better app thanks to its more intuitive interface.
17. Engadget.com
Darren Murph
Ask Engadget: Best Streaming Music Solution?
by Darren Murph
Our AssessmentAn Engadget.com reader asks the crowd which streaming music service is most deserving of his attention and receives nearly 350 user responses. Unfortunately, most of the comments are brief and don't provide much detail, but Pandora, Rhapsody and MOG emerge as the streaming music services recommended by the majority of users.
18. Lifehacker.com
July 24, 2011
Five Best Streaming Music Services
by Alan Henry
Our AssessmentThis article lists the five streaming music services selected as the best by Lifehacker.com readers. Each site receives more of a basic description rather than a formal review and the discussion for each is very brief, but the article is useful for summing up user opinion of the available streaming music offerings.
19. VikiTech.com
Updated March 21, 2012
The Complete Guide to Listening Unlimited Free Music Online
by Editors of VikiTech.com
Our AssessmentThis roundup covers several streaming music services, including some lesser-known sites that don't receive much attention from other reviewers. However, the editors' favorite services are all bigger names. The quality and depth of discussion fails to meet the standards found in higher-ranking sources.
20. Tested.com
July 13, 2011
Spotify vs the World: 10 Streaming Music Services Compared
by Wesley Fenlon
Our AssessmentTested.com's roundup is very, very brief compared to higher-ranked sources, but it does a good job of providing black-and-white details about the 10 services covered and engages in some discussion about more subjective aspects, such as user interface and Windows ecosystem support. All in all, reviewer Wesley Fenlon finds that most streaming music services provide a similar core function, so he identifies several top picks depending on which extra features you're looking for.
Sponsored Links

Back to top