Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Sunless Tanners: Ratings of Sources

Total of 20 Sources
1. PaulasChoice.com
As of June 2013
Best Self-Tanners
by Paula Begoun
Our AssessmentPaulasChoice.com is an excellent resource for research on nearly every type of cosmetic product, not just sunless tanners. Editor and beauty expert Paula Begoun includes medical journals, industry reports and the Food and Drug Administration among her research sources, providing thorough information on each cosmetic's ingredients and potential problems. She points out that most sunless tanners are made with the same active ingredients and that streaking problems are usually due to application techniques rather than the formula itself.
2. Allure
Not dated
Best of Beauty: Body
by Theresa O'Rourke
Our AssessmentAllure editors test thousands of beauty products and choose 245 as the best for their 2012 Beauty awards. Both old and new products are tested to find the best on the market. However, judging criteria are not explained and non-winning products aren't mentioned. In 2012 Allure editors name the best traditional self-tanner, best gradual self-tanner and the best bronzer.
3. InStyle
May 2013
Best Beauty Buys: Body
by Editors of InStyle magazine
Our AssessmentInStyle editors list 150 top beauty picks based on the favorites of industry experts in their annual round-up. The winners from 2013 and previous years are listed and a brief description is provided for each. Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare Alpha Beta Glow Pad for Body was also a winner in 2011, while Clarins Liquid Bronze won for the second-straight year and St. Tropez Everyday Gradual Tan for Body has now won best body tanner five times in a row.
4. Allure
May 2013
2013 Readers' Choice Awards
by Meirav Devash
Our AssessmentThousands of readers weigh in for Allure's annual Readers' Choice Awards. Fifty-six beauty products make the list for 2013. Two self-tanners are listed. Jergens Natural Glow Daily Moisturizer is chosen for creating natural bronze color with no streaks and because of its moisturizing capabilities. St. Tropez Self Tan Bronzing Mousse's foaming action made it a favorite, as readers were able to determine missed spots easily and its floral fragrance.
5. Good Housekeeping
June 2011
Self-Tanner Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping.com
Our AssessmentThe Good Housekeeping Research Institute creates ratings for sunless tanners based on research performed at a consumer products evaluation laboratory, while also incorporating consumer reviews. The institute reviewed six products that received at least a B-minus rating or better with Victoria's Secret Beach Sexy Flawless Airbrush Instant Bronze Body Spray and L'Oréal Paris Sublime Bronze One Day Correct Temporary Self-Tanner were the only two to receive a B-plus.
6. Harper's Bazaar
Not dated
Bronze Metals: The Top 10 Sunless Tanners
by Kari Molvar
Our AssessmentThe editors at Harpers Bazaar, makeup artists and beauty experts recommend their favorite self-tanners. There was no ranking system for the selections, but there are descriptions of why pros love each of the 10 selections.
7. Elle
May 8, 2013
Get Glowing: 12 Of Our Favorite Self Tanners
by Taylor Barringer
Our AssessmentThe editors of Elle Magazine pick their top dozen self-tanners, all of which are higher end brands. Included in the dozen are creams, lotions, sprays and gels that all vary in intensity. They provide options for almost all self-tanning needs; some are instant and others are gradual.
8. Health Magazine
June 2012
Health's 2012 Beauty Awards: Flawless from Head to Toe
by Editors of Health magazine
Our AssessmentEditors and beauty experts test products to determine the best picks in skin, body, makeup and hair care. Jergens Natural Glow & Protect SPF 20 was the only self-tanner to be selected because it combines self-tanning with sun protection in addition to having a streak-free formula and pleasant smell.
9. Woman's Day magazine
Not dated
WD Reviews: Sunless Self-Tanners
by WomensDay.com Staff
Our AssessmentEditors of Woman's Day magazine test 10 sunless tanners and rank each on a scale of 1 to 5 for color, streaking, scent and effectiveness. A brief description of results is given, but each self-tanner is only tested on one person and results can vary greatly depending on skin tone, individual application techniques and skill.
10. Self Magazine
May 2012
Healthy Beauty Awards: Sun
by Editors of Self magazine
Our AssessmentReaders test beauty products to find the top performers in their respective categories. Products are listed under face, body, makeup and hair, and each includes a brief description, but there's no formal rating system. Jergens Natural Glow & Protect and Kerstin Florian Sunless Tanner are the only self-tanners to make the list. There's no mention of products that didn't make the grade.
11. InStyle
Not dated
Spring Skincare: Get the Perfect Spring Break Tan
by Editors of InStyle magazine
Our AssessmentJimmy Jimmy Coco, Hollywood tanning guru, discusses tips for choosing and applying sunless tanner with InStyle magazine. Several tanning products are recommended but there is no mention about why they were chosen or what makes them better than other options.
12. Allure
April 12, 2012
Our Favorite Self-Tanners to Revive Your Complexion
by Sophia Panych
Our AssessmentEditors at Allure.com discuss their favorite sunless tanners. Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta Glow Pads, Jergens Natural Glow Face Daily Moisturizer, St. Tropez Everyday Gradual Tan for Face, Nature's Gate Glow Lotion and a bronzer make the list. The products are not ranked or compared, however.
13. Cosmopolitan
Not dated
8 Self-Tanners to Try Now
by Carly Cardellino
Our AssessmentCosmopolitan's editors came up with the eight best sunless tanners to use for the summer months, matching different tanners with potential consumer needs. They picked a range of products from drugstore brands to high-end designer brands to provide solutions for every budget, while giving several options that were both gradual and instant.
14. MakeupAlley.com
As of June 2013
Self Tanners
by Contributors to Makeup Alley
Our AssessmentContributors to Makeup Alley list reviews for over 500 products, with feedback on how much they liked each product on a scale from 1 to 5, while also listing what percentage of the reviewers would purchase the product a second time. Some products only have a handful of reviews, but those with the most reviews get average to above average ratings.
15. Sephora.com
As of June 2013
Bronzer & Self-Tanner
by Contributors to Sephora.com
Our AssessmentContributors review for 54 self-tanning products, ranging from gels and creams to wipes and sprays. Each product is rated on a five-point scale, but the total number of reviews for each product isn't available until clicking through to the specific product page.
16. Refinery29.com
May 10, 2013
Product Smackdown: War of the Self-Tanners
by Editors of Refinery29.com
Our AssessmentThree editors test a few of the newest sunless tanners on the market, with each testing one new product. In all three tests, the editors gave the products a favorable review, but none of the editors tried more than one product and only did one application each.
17. Women's Health magazine
Not dated
WH Tests The Best Self-Tanners
by Editors of WomensHealth.com
Our AssessmentEditors reviewed several sunless tanners and picked bests for various categories, including dry skin, face, fair skin, intensity of tan, traveling and those nervous about self-tanning. However there is no clear-cut best tanner and no defined ranking system.
18. Oprah.com
July 2012
The 6 Best New Self-Tanners
by Editors of Oprah.com
Our AssessmentO Magazine picked six of the best tanners on the market, not ranking them and not listing too many negatives, but stating what makes each a good pick including the occasions which each might be beneficial. Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare Alpha Beta Glow Pad for Body are said to "exfoliate to create smooth, soft skin so the DHA (the chemical in self-tanners that darkens skin) colors evenly."
19. TotalBeauty.com
June 29, 2010
9 Best Self-Tanners
by Molly Roemer
Our AssessmentTotal Beauty polled readers asking them to rate sunless tanning products on a scale of 1 to 10 and ranking the results, with Clarins Intense Bronze Self-Tanning Tint getting the highest average rating of 9.6.
20. SelfTanning.com
Not dated
Our Ranking And Reviews Of The 10 Best Self Tanners For 2013!
by Editors of SelfTanning.com
Our AssessmentSelfTanning.com's staff asked industry experts and looked at consumer purchasing habits, then tested and ranked 10 products on eight different factors, ranking Adonia Bronzing Glow and Clinique Self-Sun Body Tinted Lotion with a perfect score of 5 out of 5.

Sunless Tanners Runners Up:

Nature's Gate Glow Lotion Est. $14 for 16 oz.

2 picks including: Amazon.com, Drugstore.com…

Tarte Brazilliance Est. $37 for 5.5 ounces

2 picks including: Elle, Sephora.com…

image
Jergens Daily Moisturizer, Natural Glow & Protect, Medium to Tan , Spf 20, 6 Ounces (Pack of 2)
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $6.25
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Clarins by Clarins: SELF TANNING INSTANT GEL--/4.2OZ
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $29.50   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Nature's Gate Glow Lotion, medium skin tones, 16 Ounce Bottle
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $12.99 $7.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Tarte Brazilliance Skin Rejuvenating Maracuja Face and Body Self Tanner - 6 oz
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $50.00
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top