Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Tea Kettles: Ratings of Sources

Total of 22 Sources
1. Good Housekeeping
January 2010
Best Electric Teakettles
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping evaluates 24 electric tea kettle brands with very specific testing methods. Editors don't choose favorites, but list pros and cons for each kettle and share useful product information for specific models. The Chef'sChoice Cordless Electric Glass Kettle receives an A+ rating. An accompanying article offers tips on shopping for tea kettles and how to use them.
2. ThisCaringHome.org
Not dated
Expert Review - Tea Kettle with Loud Whistle - for Electric Stoves
by Editors of ThisCaringHome.org
Our AssessmentDesigned for people who look after dementia patients, this website contains a wealth of information on the safety, ease of use and reliability of various household products. Editors test the products in a home environment over a period of days to months, then list potential safety precautions. The Revere Whistling Tea Kettle receives generally high marks, but its handle can get hot when the kettle is heated over a gas flame.
3. Apartment Therapy.com
Sept. 8, 2010
Best Tea Kettles 2010
by Maxwell Ryan
Our AssessmentThis short report focuses more on the aesthetic virtues of tea kettles than their functionality. Ryan's brief reviews of 15 stovetop models address features and shortcomings, but it's not clear whether he tests each kettle.
4. TheKitchn.com
As of September 2013
Electric Kettles
by Faith Durand
Our AssessmentThis kitchen-centered offshoot of ApartmentTherapy.com offers a number of electric tea kettle reviews by cookbook author Durand. She discusses the merits of the UtiliTea electric kettle and the Breville Variable Temperature Kettle (IQ Kettle), but doesn't perform any formal testing.
5. Amazon.com
As of September 2013
Best Sellers in Teakettles
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com accumulates hundreds of owner reviews on stovetop and electric tea kettles, making it a great place to research product durability and long-term reliability. While the Revere Whistling Tea Kettle is the fourth best-selling stovetop kettle here with more than 500 user posts, other products evaluated in this report also attract hundreds of comments.
6. About.com
Not dated
Espresso Machines, Tea Infusers, Thermoses & More
by Lindsey Goodwin
Our AssessmentGoodwin writes in-depth reviews of several popular high-end kettles and tea infusers, including the Breville One-Touch Tea Maker, the Breville Variable Temperature Kettle and the Adagio UtiliTea. Although she appears to personally test the products, she mentions no formal criteria or methodology.
7. CliveCoffee.com
April 28, 2012
Bonavita Variable Electric Kettle: A First Look
by Kevin Haugen
Our AssessmentThis Seattle coffee retailer's website and blog share advice on brewing coffee at home. Haugen reviews a pre-production sample of the Bonavita Variable Electric Kettle, calling it well constructed and intuitive to use. However, he doesn't compare it to other products or give it a decisive grade.
8. CNET
April 29, 2010
Automated Tea Brewer Like a Glimpse into the Future
by Brian Krepshaw
Our AssessmentCNET provides information on cutting-edge trends and products in the world of technology. Reviews are based on "objective, precise and repeatable testing methods" in a laboratory setting, but Krepshaw doesn't explain how he judges the kettle in this brief write-up.
9. Apartment Therapy.com
Aug. 9, 2010
Best Technological Kettles for Tea Lovers
by Range Govindan
Our AssessmentThis listing of four high-tech tea brewers seems to value aesthetic appeal over functionality, and it's unclear whether Govindan evaluates each product. The Breville Tea Maker BTM800XL and IQ Kettle BKE820XL, the Bodum Bistro Kettle and Twettle the Tweeting Kettle get only a couple of sentences each, although there's a link to a full test of the Breville BTM800XL.
10. Bestcovery.com
Aug. 5, 2011
Best Tea Kettle
by Stephanie Hamilton
Our AssessmentHamilton lists her top five stovetop kettles based on what she calls necessary features: a handle to withstand heat, a whistle to indicate the water has boiled, a large capacity and an attractive appearance. She names the Cuisinart PerfecTemp Porcelain Enameled Teakettle PTK-330W, Le Creuset Enameled Steel Zen Tea Kettle, the Overstocked Kitchen 18/10 Stainless Steel Turkish Samovar Style Double Tea Kettle & Pot, the KitchenAid Gourmet Essentials 2-Quart Tea Kettle Brushed Stainless Steel and the Revere 2-1/3-Quart Whistling Tea Kettle but doesn't appear to test them.
11. Chow.com
Sept. 19, 2007
A Watched Pot Never Boils
by Louisa Chu
Our AssessmentAt this culinary website, Chu, a chef and food writer, comments on three electric tea kettles but doesn't indicate whether they're the best on the market or explain how she selects them. Still, this older article provides reliable information on those products that are still available.
12. ElectricCordlessWaterKettle.com
As of September 2013
Reviews Archive
by Editors of ElectricCordlessWaterKettle.com
Our AssessmentThis site has an extensive archive of in-depth write-ups of electric kettles. Authors typically list the technical functions and capabilities of each product, and discuss their own reactions as a consumer. Of note, reviews focus on safety and manufacturers are asked whether products contain BPA. However, it's sometimes unclear whether the author personally tests the product; methodology is described as drawing on "first- and second-hand experience."
13. TeapotAndKettle.com
Not dated
The Best Electric Tea Kettles
by Editors of TeapotAndKettle.com
Our AssessmentThis simple list of the most functional and attractive electric tea kettles names eight high-end products, including the Chef'sChoice Cordless Electric Glass Kettle Model 679 and the Breville IQ Kettle BKE820XL. Although editors discuss the key features of each product, the article appears to be based on research of secondary sources rather than personal testing.
14. ChefsCatalog.com
As of September 2013
Chef'sChoice Glass Electric Kettle
by Contributors to ChefsCatalog.com
Our AssessmentThis kitchen product retailer offers a space for consumers to rate and review tea kettles and other small appliances. More than 75 owners give the Chef'sChoice Cordless Electric Glass Kettle Model 679 a score of 4.6 stars out of 5, with most expressing satisfaction with the product.
15. INeedCoffee.com
June 2009
The Hamilton Beach Cool Touch Tea Kettle Review
by Michael Allen Smith
Our AssessmentThis coffee blogger details his experiences with the Hamilton Beach 8-Cup Cordless Kettle 40898. Smith is mostly satisfied, but had difficulty assembling the lid and received no help from the manufacturer's support line.
16. SeriousEats.com
April 24, 2013
We Try 4 New Electric Hot Water Kettles for Coffee and Tea
by Liz Clayton
Our AssessmentThis foodie website reviews four new-to-the-market electric kettles. Clayton is generally pleased with the Bonavita IL Gooseneck Variable Temperature Electric Kettle but criticizes its slow boiling time. "Offering the option of pre-set temperatures ideal for brewing different kinds of tea, or, your own to-the-degree custom temperature, this all-metal kettle wins on nearly every count except speed," she says.
17. SororiTeaSisters.com
July 25, 2011
Product Review: One-Touch Tea Maker from Breville
by "Liberteas"
Our AssessmentThis informal blog post appears in an online community for female tea enthusiasts. Although the author uses no testing or evaluative methods, this in-depth account shares a consumer's perspective. She likes her kettle, but wishes for a louder chime and better custom controls.
18. Examiner.com
April 9, 2012
The Cuisinart Tea Steeper and Kettle TEA-100 (Photos)
by James Cooper
Our AssessmentCooper gives the Cuisinart PerfecTemp Programmable Tea Steeper and Kettle TEA-100 3 stars out of 5, saying it's useful but can be quite difficult to clean. He doesn't discuss any other brands.
19. HerbalTeaSource.com
Not dated
Breville One-Touch Tea Maker Review
by Editors of HerbalTeaSource.com
Our AssessmentThis website shares information and advice on the brewing of herbal tea. Editors test the Breville Tea Maker BTM800XL, calling it a great investment for people who drink a lot of tea on a daily basis.
20. BestGreenTeaProducts.com
Not dated
Breville One Touch Tea Maker Review
by Editors of BestGreenTeaProducts.com
Our AssessmentDesigned to boost awareness of the health benefits of drinking green tea, this site also reviews various tea products. This write-up of the Breville Tea Maker BTM800XL is a bit thin, but it does discuss the benefits of owning such a high-end kettle. Editors say its only drawback is its high price tag.
21. HouseAndGardenTech.com
Nov. 13, 2012
Bonavita 1-Liter Variable Temperature Digital Kettle Review
by James Cromwell
Our AssessmentThis informal review of the Bonavita 1L Gooseneck Variable Temperature Electric Kettle presents its aesthetic and technological strong points. Cromwell gives it a full recommendation, but doesn't say whether he tests it personally.
22. Epinions.com
Oct. 5, 2002
Revere Copper Clad 2-1/3-Quart Whistling Tea Kettle
by "Naomi"
Our AssessmentAlthough it's more than 10 years old, this post offers an in-depth look into a consumer's experience with the Revere Whistling Tea Kettle. After carefully describing its every feature, the reviewer gives the tea kettle a 5-star rating and calls it a great buy.
Sponsored Links

Back to top